We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very talented artists”
Review of Improv Asylum

Improv Asylum
Ranked #4 of 39 Fun & Games in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Improv Asylum is a comedy theater that features improvisation and sketch comedy. We’ve been described as Whose Line is it Anyway? meets Saturday Night Live!. Improv Asylum is located in the heart of the North End, within short walking distance from Faneuil Hall and is easily accessible via public transportation. There is a $3.00 service charge per ticket on all phone orders. Advance ticket sales are recommended. We are a smoke-free establishment with no minimum drink requirement.
Easton,CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very talented artists”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the 7:30 Saturday night show this past weekend. The comedians are hysterical. Very talented and so quick with savvy improv. Highly reccommend this place for a great time. No bad seats as it's a small venue. You will not be disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank happytrailsEaston_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    60
    11
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
173 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great comedy”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

If you're into improv and comedy, check this place out. Make sure you get a drink and get involved with the show. Makes the experience that much more fun! Also get your tickets in advance. Our 10pm show was sold out!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fabreeze131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not funny, unfriendly environment, just lame”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had a friend in town and we went to this improv club based on the fact that we saw tons of good reviews. For $25 per person I was expecting somethings hilarious... not only was it not funny it was just mostly lame, some of it maybe even offensive and the crowd and environment was just not friendly. What comedy show can you not talk and laugh out loud?!?!? We were just in shock at how bad the whole experience was.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nepa5239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This was a lot of fun!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable, fun, fresh entertainment. Some skits are stronger than others but we found this a great addition to our evening plans. Inexpensive entertainment and very convenient location when you are visiting the North End.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irreverent, fun, and affordable. You are the show!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We did the Saturday matinee and it was great fun and very affordable. Skits were composed on the spot based on discussions with the audience. Great way to start an evening. Probably not for kids, though.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Improv Asylum also viewed

 

Been to Improv Asylum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing