We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Samuel Adams Brewery
Go Boston Card
138 Reviews
from $57.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $72.00
More Info
Reviews (2,306)
Filter reviews
2,153 results
Traveler rating
1,582
440
93
23
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,582
440
93
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free beer tasting room different beers brewing process beer tasting free tour local charities gift shop boston lager our tour guide stony brook mash orange line party trolley great tour the beer making process souvenir glass
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,153 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

I have mixed feelings about this tour. To see the cool neighborhood, and the historic buildings and to drink beer and catch the vibe of the place - it is all worth it. And the tour is free, and includes some beer. So far, so good. But the " tour" is just a canned presentation of a few seemingly unused tanks, and a couple of token barrels of hops and grain.Its done in an apparently little used side building You will NOT see the actual brewery operations. At all. None.The tour guides are funny and personable but if you are really interested in brewing or the operation of the plant, you are going to be sorely disappointed Otherwise, its a pretty cool place with plenty of eating and drinking opportunities and we had a good time.

1  Thank hudsonvalleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We went down for the tour early. Having read other reviews indicating that parking is an issue. They were not kidding very small lot, first come first serve. Very personable tour guides and very informative. We’d go back!

Thank jacobg335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Was in Boston with some friends this past weekend and we were looking for something fun to do so we thought perhaps we could take a tour of the Sam Adams brewery. Unfortunately the brewery is undergoing some renovations and the tour is not available, but you can still go to the tasting room and have that complete experience. That in and of itself is worth the time. The information that the guides give you on how to sample the beer and to evaluate it was neat. When you’re done with the tour and you’re done in the gift shop, you may see a buy in large unmarked limousine bus with a nice man offering to take you to a restaurant called Doyle’s...get on that shuttle, you won’t be disappointed! They will bring you right back to Sam Adam’s after your meal.

Thank 742omarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We didn’t take the general tour, just paid for an upgraded tour and it was not only fun, but totally worth the money. There are a lot of great breweries in Boston, and this is an iconic one that must be visited!!!

Thank Jekela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of my dad and husband's favorite beers is Sam Adams so stopping at this brewery was one of our main priorities when visiting Boston. The tour times posted online showed them ending sooner than we were going to arrive so we came just to sample the beer. Luckily, they added another tour later that night (a little different than their regular tours) that included tastings. We were there on a Monday night (11/5/18) and our tour guide was lots of fun and very informative. We enjoyed tasting the not-yet-in-production beers and learning the history of how the process works. I think my dad and husband really enjoyed themselves and even though I'm not much of a beer drinker I enjoyed myself too!

1  Thank mrssantacruz317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an afternoon free in Boston and decided to check out the brewery. After a quick metro ride and a short walk, we were there... and we managed to get into the very next tour group without a wait. Our tour guide did a great job... the tour was interesting and funny, so we had a great time. We got to try three different kinds of beer in the tasting room, and then we kept the souvenir glasses. Even if you are not a huge beer drinker, this is a fun place to check out if you have the time.

2  Thank JetsetterNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Getting there - if your travels allow, get on the Orange line (public subway) and head to the South Bay station. Once you exit the South Bay station you are just three blocks from the brewery. The tours are free and if you use the subway, round trip from downtown to the brewery will cost you $5.50/pp. Total travel and tour time about 2.5 hours.

You may want to spend a bit more time and have a pint and a roll at Doyle's.

1  Thank blevinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Super fun and low key brewery tour, where they care about you having a great time and drinking good beer. Don't miss lunch at Doyle's Cafe after for a free pint glass!

Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really good tour. We got onto the next available so were lucky as it gets very busy. Had a taster flight in the tap room while we waited. The tour is short but fun and informative. Generous samples afterwards in the tasting room. The tour is free and a charity donation is suggested (and more than warranted after their efforts/samples). You get a free glass. Plus we took the bus to Doyle’s afterwards and had their free glass too (plus an amazing clam chowder). If I have a criticism it is the very poor signposting to get there. No signs outside or from the T. (One misleading one along the way!!!). So make sure you know in advance exactly where it is. But otherwise, a great experience.

Thank Sueinspain_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hubby is a beer fan so a visit to Sam Adams was a must while in Boston. The brewery is fairly easy to get to using the T - green line to Haymarket, transfer to orange line, get off at Stony Brook station, then a half mile or so walk to the brewery. We experienced no lines while visiting Boston UNTIL we got to Sam Adams. It was packed! We had to wait for 3 or more tours before our group was called. We learned that Boston is an R&D brewery, not a full production site, so there is a limited amount of brewing you get to see. We were offered a small SA glass and 3 samples in the tasting room. No charge for the tour, but they request a donation for charity. We took the shuttle to Doyle’s afterwards. Save your label (ticket) and Doyle’s will give you a full size SA glass with purchase of a beer.

Thank Aint_Life_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews