We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed for one night. Waterfront?! No where near town centre, so as others said if not a conference there beware of trip back into the city. Check-in fine, room pretty standard Westin. Overall no complaints, good standard business hotel. But would not be rushing back

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WharfTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,352 - 2,358 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2009

This was our venue for wedding in the family. Guest came from all over the World. The checkin was very smooth. Lobby was very spacious. Rooms were well furnished and spacious. The pool temperature was on the cold side. The coffee making facility in the rooms was good. If you intend to take breakfast in the hotel the there is good choice. Internet in the common areas, including the lobby, is free but strangely not in the room. The lobby also includes facility for easy airline check-in. Very good choice of TV but BBC World Service was not available. There are a number of good restaurents within easy walkikng distance. Silver Line connection to the airport is nearby. Ideal location for access to down town Boston.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safarisurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This hotel is beautiful. The lobby is stunning and the room was fantastic.

Staff was attentive and polite, however, we arrived at the right time. Check-in was a breeze, but 30 minutes later there was long line to check-in.

As other reviewers have mentioned, there's nothing in the immediate area, so you'll need a car or need to take taxis to get dinner or entertainment.

The major negative was $32 per day for parking. There is nothing around here, no reason parking needs to be so expensive...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zinc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We had one night in Boston on Labor Day Weekend, and were without a car. We had no idea that this Westin had no restaurant! If we had known we'd have stayed in another Westin and I recommend you think about this. The hotel is in an out ot the way location, too far for tired travelers to wander around looking for a restaurant. We ended up with room service, which was exorbitant. I like Westins, but not this one.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2009

I would like to thank you for the feedback provided. In addition to Sauciety, our in house restaurant serving breakfast and lunch, we also have MJ O'Conors Irish Pub and Grille in the lobby of the hotel. Perhaps you missed it. We also have several restaurants within walking distance in the Seaport District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Spent two nights at the Westin hotel attending a business conference being held there. The hotel appears to be very new and the lobby is modern with lots of seats and open space. Check in was very easy and the staff very friendly. They have alot of doorman and staff about the hotel. Many elevators which were quick to be there when needed. The room was very clean and large. New furniture. Large flat screen tv and one of the best king beds I ever slept in. The linen count was high with many many pillows. Bathroom was large with alot of light and a good sized tub and shower. They had expensive shower heads with alot of settings. Bath products were excellent and more than enough plush towels. Room was very quiet and had a nice view of the harbor in the distance. Location is about a 20 minute walk to quincy market. Nothing is next door so you either eat there or walk or cab it to downtown boston. They do have a shuttle service. Ate at the irish restaurant at the hotel and the food and service was great. More food than I could finish. Room service breakfast was exactly on time. Full breakfast. The amount of food was amazing. Everything was so good, coffee eggs, hash browns, etc.. Cab ride to Fenway to see the sox cost twenty. Cab to the airport was ten. If you want a great, comfortable, clean upscale hotel near downtown and the airport this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoomerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2009

Thank you for the fabulous review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

The hotel is the standard Westin format but if you are not attending an event at the convention center this is the wrong place to stay. It's isolated and there is no waterfront. But that's not the worst of it. I've never had such a bad experience and I travel a great deal. We are owners in the timeshare program that includes the Westin therefore we get discounts on our stays. However, after checking in we learned that the front desk had charged our cards $1900 each for what was suppose to be a three day stay at less than $100 per night with our timeshare membership. When we brought it to the managers attention he said it was in error and would correct the problem. After waiting six hours for a call back we learned he had not taken care of the problem and lied about having made an effort to reverse the charges. The family was charged almost $8,000 and even the general manager seemed to be dismissive. The service went down hill from there. It tooks us almost 24 hours before we could get a straight answer. I will never stay there again and suggest you hold on to your credit card.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank needcomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2009

Thank you for the feedback you provided. Although this was an isolated incident, we do apologize for the inconvenience and our Accounting Department corrected the error as quickly as possible. We hope this does not deter you from considering The Westin Boston Waterfront in the future. We would welcome the opportunity to provide a flawless experience for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel. The name is a little misleading. We caught slivers of the water from our bedroom window, but the general area is at the waterfront - hence the name. I did expect panoramic waterfront views but I wasn't disappointed because the hotel supeceded my expectations. We paid 4000 SPG points + $60 per night for the room and I hadn't expected to pay much more but walked away with a whopping $400 bill mainly on extras! The extras in this hotel are scandalous. $42 per day for parking, $12+ per day for internet (many hotels offer this for free), $5 for a plain bagel in the breakfast restaurant and the worst of all was the 15% restocking fee for the mini bar. Which is shocking, since when do vendors charge their customers to re-stock their shelves, its absurd. The only great thing is that my kids were under 5 and got to eat breakfast for free. The concierge were great, although we asked the reception lady to suggest a beach on Cape Ann, but would only recommend one down the road - it was like she had a mental block. Singing beach in Manchester-by-the-sea was lovely and only 40 min drive away. If you liked the natural stone flooring in the lobby, it is called Fossil Mint Sandstone. The only reason I know is because my company imports and sells this stone in England. The hairdryer didn't work in the bathroom, but everything else was clean and looked brand new. The concierge and vallet parking were very quick, friendly and efficient. Hate pets in hotels but didn't actually see any at all. Swimming pool was out of action but we were offered free swimming in another hote which we couldn't be bothered to take up. It's a bit out of the way for sightseeing on foot. You have to take a cab to most places or walk to the underground station. We took a cab to the Aquarium, telling the concierge where we were going. But no one bothered to mention that the hotel offers a free shuttle to nearby quincy market that we could have taken.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YallaSamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer St, Boston, MA 02210-1719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $112 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing