We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but pleasant visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Short but pleasant visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for one night while in Boston for a graduation dinner. I had never stayed in this area of Boston before. We really liked the location. In walking distance to a lot of great restaurants. The hotel is a business hotel. Very clean and comfortable. We got upgraded to a city view room. Gorgeous view of Boston Skyline. The hotel is at least a 10-15 min. walk to South Station train station or waterfront attractions like the Boston Aquarium. $45/night to park your car.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ackelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Westin Boston Waterfront. I am very happy that you had a chance to stay with us.

I also want to thank you for pointing out all the great restaurants and attractions the Seaport District has to offer, this area continues to develop rapidly and we’re delighted our guests explore and enjoy such a vibrant neighborhood.

Once again thank you for your comments, and I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    948
    349
    108
    63
See reviews for
367
544
145
1,173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed at the hotel during a large convention last month and was very pleased that despite the hotel being busier than usual, the service I received was excellent.
I would like to especially note that a particular concierge by the name of Pam was invaluable and I really appreciated her advice and knowledge of the surrounding area and what it had to offer, as well as her recommendations for food. Any time we had a question we had only to call down or swing by the desk and Pam seemed to always be there, very friendly, and she never steered us wrong.
Thanks for making a great weekend there even better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RowdyTheDog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the Westin Boston Waterfront following your recent stay here. I am delighted that you had an opportunity to stay with us. I truly appreciate your comments about our staff...we are very proud of all of them, and believe our service is what really sets us apart from the competition.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels take you back to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at the Westin last week while on vacation and although there was a conference on next door and the staff were busy the service could not be faulted.
Deb and Saheb on the concierge desk were fantastic while the checkin staff could not have been more helpful.
The room was clean and large enough for two with the Heavenly beds making for a great nights sleep.
The location is a little off the beaten track and if it is raining and cold, as it was last week, a cab is required to get to restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. I am delighted that you had the opportunity to stay with us.

Your comments about the staff and service are greatly appreciated. We are very proud of all the staff here and we believe that the service that they provide is the true differentiator between us and our competition and your comments just serve to validate that for us...thank you so much.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon as this area continues to mature; there are many exciting projects in the works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was in Boston last week for a 3-day business conference and had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Waterfront. Upon my arrival, I was checked in by Wilson Saravia who provided outstanding customer service throughout my trip. Wilson always greeted me with a smile and was very knowledgeable and personable thru my entire stay. Even when my group had a last minute request for a larger meeting space, Wilson quickly obliged and was courteous, friendly, and professional all the while! Kudos to Wilson and keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the Westin Boston Waterfront following your recent stay here. I am delighted that you had an opportunity to stay with us. I truly appreciate your comments about our staff...we are very proud of all of them, and Wilson is no exception. He is truly one of our greatest assets. It is what really sets us apart from our competiion.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels take you back to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location is the only drawback where on a chilly night I needed to cab it to the bars. The Irish bar in the hotel was lively, but the bartender was rude as he made fun of what I ordered. I left soon after. The hotel itself was great, rooms were nice, slept well it is first class hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Westin Boston Waterfront. I am verry happy that you had a chance to stay with us, although I was disappointed to learn of your experience at MJ O'Connors. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you further about the interaction you had with the staff there. If you have a moment, please contact me at michael.jorgensen@westin.com. I look forward to connection with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for the 2014 Boston Marathon and we were exceptionally impressed with the hotel. Last time we stayed in Boston we did so at the Intercontinental, which is a superb hotel, but this is just as good and far cheaper.

The staff were also fantastic and we simply cannot find fault with the customer service, or anything about our stay for that matter. The room was spacious, very quiet, and clean and we actually opted for not having housekeeping, which meant we received a $5 voucher to spend in Starbucks, which was great. If you did run out of anything in the room, all you needed to do was call reception.

Whilst the only small downside is its proximity to the centre, downtown is still within walking distance and it's about 400yrds from the silverline connection straight into town. Interestingly, if you do choose to walk into Boston from the hotel, there are some cool shops and restaurants along the way such as Flour Bakery, which is a must visit for cake and coffee lovers.

However, you could actually stay at the hotel and not go into Boston, as it has everything you need for a short stay including restaurants, bars, a shop, Starbucks, gym, pool etc. (FYI, the pool isn't really for serious swimming, more splashing about, but the gym is excellent.)

If and when we go back to Boston, the chances are we will stay at the Westin. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattCarolineUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for posting such a fabulous review and for recognizing our hardworking staff. We pride ourselves on providing the highest level of customer service to our guests and your comments serve to prove what a great team we have in place here at The Westin Boston Waterfront.


I also want to thank you for pointing out al that we offer within the hotel, but I think it bears notinf that this area continues to develop and the restuarants and attractions in the Waterfront area will soon rival the Back Bay.

Once again thank you for your comments, and I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I recently stayed here for three nights for a conference and had an overall good experience. I did find some dirt on my bedsheets when I checked in and called down to the front desk - they were very apologetic and sent someone up to my room within 20 minutes to change out the sheets for me. Then, about an hour or so later, I received a knock at my door with a full plate of desserts as way of an apology. Definitely wasn't expecting that but it was a great surprise and really set a good tone for the rest of my trip. Overall, the service was excellent.

There are a decent amount of restaurants and bars available in the hotel (including a Starbucks) which was nice so you didn't have to leave the hotel if you didn't want to. We took a cab to get into downtown but did walk one day and it was about 20-25 minutes which was fine as we weren't in a hurry.

The conference space was good and wasn't too crowded or spread far apart.The location is not centrally located but I had a good view of the water and it was a really quick ride to the airport. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambler285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for posting such a fabulous review and for recognizing our hardworking staff. We pride ourselves on providing the highest level of customer service to our guests and your comments serve to prove what a great team we have in place here at The Westin Boston Waterfront.

My sincere apologies about the condition in which you found your bedsheets...we use and outside vendor to clean all our linens, so it is incumbant upon us to make sure we are checking the quality when they are returned to us. I will be sure to mention this to our Executive Housekeeper in an effort to preclude this from happening in the future.

Once agine thank you for your comments and I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,461 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#68 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#64 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing