We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room--Awful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Waterfront while he attended a convention at the new convention center next to the hotel. The room was nice and the Heavenly Bed was aptly named.

The service was below average. The first employee that we met, the doorman, was delightful, but after that encounter, no one else ever offered any assistance.

The biggest negative is the location. There is a T stop about a block away, but the Silver Line only goes to the Airport and South Station. We had to transfer 2, 3 or 4 times to get anywhere.

Good hotel for conventioneers who don't want to do anything else, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to experience Boston.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sightseer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,463 - 2,469 of 2,762 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2008

Nice rooms, nice bathrooms-marble/kohler--typcial Westin style, nice view, not waterfront-but city view, spacious rooms. staff fairly courteous, but not always accurate with registration or basic cab fare information. Food was fairly tasty, but overpriced--especially the $9 almonds from the mini bar. Overall, a fine stay for business, but not for generic tourist sightseeing.

walls are thin and if you're a light sleeper you will not enjoy these rooms-need ear plugs and respectful neighbors to keep quiet during the times when people should be quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Foodwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

As a Starwood preferred guest, I've stayed at many Westins. This one was merely adequate. As others have noted, the location is really poor -- completely out of the way, although you can walk to the North End in about 25 minutes.

The room had a good view -- floor-to-ceiling windows and the heavenly bed, which was good. But otherwise, just a standard room, although clean. The lobby was cavernous and lacking any charm and there was always a long line for the desks. They don't appear to have enough staff. Valet parking was over $40! We never ate at the hotel, but did enjoy having the STarbucks in the lobby. The gym and pool were nice.

All in all, it was fine, but I wouldn't choose to stay there again,given all the great hotels in Boston more centrally located and it certainly wasn't inexpensive.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luxlovernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Really average and really pricey--perhaps because its next to Convention Center--feels like an airport--not an airport hotel, an airport---rooms are okay and for 4 bills, yikes!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

The Good

New hotel in a quiet part of town
Close to metro
The Old Town Trolley stops directly in front of the hotel
Cabs are always available
The front desk staff are very helpful when it came to checking us in and out
Our group arrived after lunch at about 2:30 by this time lunch was not being served, however the bartender asked the kitchen to prepare lunch for us...maybe the Westin should consider having him teach a Customer Service Class to other members of staff
The rooms are large, clean and the beds were comfortable

The Bad

A few reviewers mentioned this and it's true...the wall are paper thin
The concierge service is inconsistent...sometimes they answer the phone, however most times they don't
The same goes for the shuttle service...it would be nice to have all day service 7 days a week
Inconsistent service at Sauciety (the hotel restaurant)
The Starbucks in the lobby does not accept Starbucks Cards

The Ugly

Some of the staff at Sauciety (the hotel restaurant) need customer service training. Our group had brunch on Sunday, Aug. 10, 2008 and came across the most horrific waitress I have ever have the grave displeasure of meeting. Once we seated she came over after we were seated for approximately 15 minutes. She offered us orange juice but we told her we would like tea service first, then our juices later. After serving the tea she never bothered to return to our table to remove empty dishes etc. She did however returned to rudely take the tea caddy to another table. She never asked if we were finished or needed any additional assistance. Mind you she was very attentive to the table directly behind us and opposite us. Hotel management will be hearing from me about this situation in more detail.

I would stay at his hotel again because I truly believe that they are just experiencing temporary "growing pains."

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8,600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I was very disappointed in this hotel. Considering the rooms are 400 dollars a night on a weekend during the summer, I expected much more. The lobby and pool area was nice, however the rooms were very small, yet the bathrooms were large. Yet, what I hated about this hotel is the LOCATION! It took about a half hour to walk to the shopping area and restaurants! The hotel had a free shuttle service to downtown, yet it only ran a few hours a day and stopped running completely at 730pm. Plus, this hotel should NOT be named Waterfront, considering the view of the water is blocked by highways and construction. The hotel is not on the water, which was my prior assumption.
Lastly, do not eat breakfast here! It is overpriced and the waitress was not friendly, she kept insisting for me to purchase the buffet, when clearly I did not want to.
Even the concierge was rude. He hardly directed me to where I want to go, I was greatly offended.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank oreoegirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My wife had a conference next door so I tagged along!
Perfect location for conventions - a bit of a walk to the financial district but a short walk to public transportation. it was a $20 cab ride from the airport but it would have been $2 by The "T" if I had researched how to get there from the airport !
Rooms were excellent - the shower and beds were great.
A/C was awesome - especially in the lobby.
Food in the restaurant very good as well though a bit overpriced I felt. We had a very nice stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank twin123185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
5,002 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer St, Boston, MA 02210-1719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $146 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Boston’s thriving Seaport District, The Westin Boston Waterfront offers guests the opportunity to relax and recharge with many onsite amenities and explore the vibrant cultural and culinary offerings nearby. Just blocks from the front door, the Boston Children’s Museum, New England Aquarium, and the Institute of Contemporary Art offer exciting cultural experiences for all ages. With over 100 unique restaurants within a few blocks, the Seaport is home to some of Boston’s best dining experiences. A short walk or cab ride brings guests to Historic Faneuil Hall, the North End, or the scenic Back Bay. At the end of the day unwind with a locally-inspired Crafted at Westin cocktail at Birch Bar, located in our lobby, or end the night with a laugh at the on-site comedy club, Laugh Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing