We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overrated and ordinary. Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Overrated and ordinary. Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Expensive, attempt to be trendy falls way short. Because the hotel is isolated near the convention center, it can hold you as a captive audience unless you walk to the harborside or take a taxi to other parts of Boston. TV in room is small, especially for a room of this cost. Internet service is obscenely expensive, $19 per day. Gives the impression that the hotel knows it is busy, so it doesn't have to go that extra step to accomodate guests. Better to stay at the Seaport Hotel nearby, it is run much classier and its rooms are more spacious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorikiri_from_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Trip Advisor is a wonderful tool for people to voice their opinions and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    903
    333
    103
    60
See reviews for
352
519
136
1,109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dallas texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel was very clean, people were very friendly and eager to always help when needed. Starbucks on location, room service was great, and heart of Boston just steps away!! They have maps of the T for your convenience and to other parts of the city. Must try "the Barking Crab" and if you like Chart House chain, theirs is great in a historical building. Go to the North End for Boston By Segway...great group (i've been twice) and will show you so much of the city. Enjoy!

Room Tip: just ask for a higher level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kylorsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. I was thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and took in the sights of Boston. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went up here for a weekend to meet up with some friends. The rooms were really nice and close to were we wanted to be. The in hotel resturant was expensive but thats to be expected. The only con was the parking. As we pulled up to the hotel we were directed to the valet line. I asked if there was self parking (valet was 45 $ a day and when we booked we were told we had free parking) I asked the check in desk about it and they said that there was none but when we mentioned it to a hotel manager that we were specifically told free parking (3 days there so it would have added up) he told us about how to park so it was not charged. Other then that really friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm not quite sure who indicated there was free parking since the parking garage is a separate entity from the hotel and they determine the parking prices. There is however, metered parking on the public streets surrounding the hotel. I do apologize for the confusion this caused. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Westin during a conference and expected a high class hotel (I think that is fair to expect at 400dollars per night). The location of the Westin is ok-not in the middle of life but Boston downtown is walk-able. Rooms are also comfy-very cozy beds. The service in the hitel though was below standard-no option to book breakfast (which was NOT included at 400dollars per night!!!), the room was not cleaned every day (I had to ask fir that), and no option to check out half an hour after normal check out time.
I liked my stay at the westin-but there is clearly no correlation between how much I paid, and the experienced service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While I was disappointed to read your comments we do appreciate the feedback and and your review will allow us to improve upon our services where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, Pa.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great location. Bathroom was dirty on arrival to room, but a call to the front desk resolved that. Concierge was very helpful, and friendly! Many services offered right in hotel. Trolley tour picks up right in front of hotel for a complete tour of Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bvbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Westin Boston Waterfront which is located in the Seaport district of Boston. Just far enough away from downtown that it is a bit inconvenient unless you are attending an event at the Boston Convention Center (which I wasn't). The hotel is quite new, rooms are spacious and clean and the lobby is bustling with the business center, bar and convention goers on their laptops. My business and interests are closer to Back Bay and Copley Square so I wouldn't choose this property again for that reason but it is a nice property that is connected to the convention center.

Room Tip: Face downtown Boston on a high floor (above the height of the convention center)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our property. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future to enjoy the up and coming Seaport District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

James the Valet at the Westin Boston Waterfront hotel was the most friendly and helpful man. He has a great attitude and personality. It was a pleasure meeting him. James really took care of my wheels. Thanks, John

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for recognizing James. He has been with us for some time now and we are grateful to have him on our team. I hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#70 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#61 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer St, Boston, MA 02210-1719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Starwood, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing