We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rooms are fine....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Rooms are fine....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Rooms are fine if you are attending a convention - however, for a convention hotel to have only one restaurant (and a bad one at that) is not acceptable. There is a Starbucks in the lobby but it often runs out of food (not sure why they don't anticipate large groups when there is a line every morning). The hotel staff were okay but not very eager to help (I asked the concierge for the fax number and she sent me to the business center). Would only stay here if I had a convention next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While I was disappointed to read your comments, the feedback is appreciated and your concerns will be shared with the appropriate Department Heads to be addressed with the entire team. I hope you will give us the chance to redeem ourselves and consider staying with us in the future. We would welcome the opportunity to provide a more enjoyable experience for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    931
    342
    106
    62
See reviews for
360
535
140
1,149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed there during the great heat wave of July, 2013. Average daily heat index reached triple digits. Fortunately it was close to the waterfront and the staff was incredibly helpful in finding places and restaurants for my wife, while I was working at the hotel. The meeting catering was superb. An earlier review had mentioned a shortage of amenities, but we found that to be inaccurate. We did find a sign to hang on the door which requested no service, not "do not disturb". If the previous reviewers had put this up, it would explain the shortage of shampoo, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
231 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have my most consistently good experiences at Westin hotels and this was no exception. The the rooms are nicely appointed and the beds are very comfortable. Room service was excellent in terms of food selections (loved the "lobster roll"), food quality and timeliness of delivery --but hideously expensive, as usual (more so?).The staff is friendly and helpful. Occasionally there are long lines for the concierge which could be handled better. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. Excellent air conditioning everywhere which was really welcome during the Boston heatwave. The location is excellent, close to the airport, next to the Convention Center, near the Institute for Contemporary Art, and a short walk to South Station and the center of the city. There are refrigerators in the rooms (or just wine coolers?) -- would have liked a mini-bar! They could have more luxurious toiletries for that extra special something!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuntressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Westin as we were traveling through New England this summer. It was very conveniently located--steps away from the convention center, less than 5 minutes walking distance from the subway, easy to get to. I liked that it was not located in the center of town. It was quiet, yet still offered many amenities. We enjoyed the pool and hot-tub while we were there. While we did not take advantage of the fitness center, if we had been staying longer, we would have definitely gone down to work out. It was quite nice! Our room was comfortable, the bathroom was quite nice, and everything was clean when we arrived. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, providing us a map and directions on how to get around the city. The Starbucks was also very convenient and we had breakfast there before checking out. All in all, it was definitely satisfactory and we would book a room there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your kind comments and hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here last weekend as part of a trip to see the Yankees-Red Sox game, and found the hotel to be conveniently located close enough to everything (including the airport). Price was relatively good for Boston, the room was a nice size and well furnished, and the staff was extremely helpful whenever called upon. As I have become used to at Westin, the beds were extremely comfortable. I would definitely stay here again when in Boston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is close to the waterfront and next to the convention center. You can walk to the waterfront and the restaurants there but might prefer to take a short cab ride into the city. The staff was very professional, friendly, and accommodating. The deluxe room with a king bed was comfortable with a nice view of the water. The bathroom was very well appointed with updated shower. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann14223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a fabulous review of our hotel. We are very proud of our hardworking staff and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent two nights here for meetings and was wowed by the service and stylishness in a convention hotel. From the front desk to housekeeping, to the restaurants and catering staff, everyone at the hotel was delightful and very concerned about customer enjoyment. My king room on the Starwood Preferred Guest floor was spacious and immaculate with an amazing view. Buffet food for the meetings I attended was enticing to all of the senses, yet health-conscious, definitely the best hotel catering I've ever had. The Cruiseport is just a short walk to the north, and Logan is only a few minutes away by cab or the Silver Line bus.

South Station and the Financial District weren't that long a walk away either, and the dining and shops near the Fort Channel were a bonus to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the convention center and the city--the elevators move quickly, and the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review you posted and for recognizing our hardworking staff. We pride ourselves on providing top quality customer service at all times and your comments serve to prove what a great team we have here at The Westin Boston Waterfront. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#68 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#62 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing