We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Boston Waterfront for a night to enjoy the city one extra night after business meetings and I'm glad I did. Although it is not located in the heart of the city it is still nearby. The concierge staff was very friendly and helpful when I asked about ideas of where to visit. I was able to take the Silver Line to the T which gave me more of the Boston experience and was near the hotel & quick. The hotel itself is huge, but well maintained and I like the modern feel to it. The room provided everything I needed. I went out for a night in the town and arrived around 3 AM, ordered a late night meal and it came pretty quickly and was tasty. Overall my stay was great and I would go back to that location and try other Westin locations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bklynfuerza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    903
    333
    103
    60
See reviews for
351
519
136
1,109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

For me it is always about location. I need stuff near me. This hotel is really out on the edge for me in the waterfront area. I really didn't like the location at all. I asked one of the staff what was there to do near the hotel. NOTHING was the reply.
There was a convention going on in the hotel so the public areas were very crowded. Also because of this convention there was no buffet breakfast available ??? We opted to venture into Boston instead of going down the a la carte route. Nor we're we going to have room service with a $4 service charge 18% gratuity and local taxes thrown on top of that. You really are limited in this location as there are no eateries around. If you walk for about 20/25 minutes you hit Boston proper. Lots of places to eat there.
Also you will come across a huge Macy's. Remember if you are a non American go to the visitors centre and show either a passport or drivers licence to get your 10% discount card.
Anyhow all in all the staff are pleasant. The gym is small but good equipment. Nice pool also. The housekeeping staff are a bit loud and chatty as they go about their work and I kept hearing flushing toilets for some reason. The let down for me though is I really didn't like the area.$15 dollars in a cab to downtown Boston we were told by the doorman. Ok walk in the summer sun but in the cold and certainly at night I wouldn't walk around.
On the other side of the bridge is the local underground system ( the T ). If you need it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. While I was disapppointed to read your comments about our location, perhaps your next visit will allow time to visit the many attractions in the area such as the Children's Museum, The Institute of Contemporary Art and the Aquarium. There are also many restaurants within walking distance and many new ones opening in the near future. We hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

just spent the night there on the way to cape cod. nice attentive staff and we ate at the breakfast buffet and it was worth it. ate a late dinner at the in house restraunt that is a better sports bar i am guessing but the clam chowder was quite good and the steak was done right as well. the service in the restraunt was excellent and the place was packed with hockey fans so it could have been a slow night service wise but it wasnt.

Room Tip: we were on the top floor and even the city view was a nice one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Although you were only with us 1 night, I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for a recent business conference. I was a bit disappointed in the location, as the hotel isn't right downtown. However, I loved the chic lobby with an open bar, large gym, and delicious food. Actually, my colleague and I complimented the catering manager for the conference because we felt it was some of the best food we've ever been served at a conference or tradeshow. The red velvet cupcakes were especially delicious. The hotel seems pretty new. I've had really good experience at this Westin and a few others on business as they tend to have healthy food options (like the blueberry banana smoothing at breakfast) and large gyms, so I feel like I can maintain my fitness level and healthy lifestyle while on the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfran_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Why excellent price. I booked the room using Hotwire and could get at throw away price even in peak season...

Now, Hotel... Adjoining the BCEC, Its a nice place to be in , Great hude rooms, wonderful bathrooms and I was in 16th room with Sea facing room...

Only issues is, long walk from Lift to the room....

Enjoyed pool and Hot Jacuzzi...... has a starbucks inside.... OJ connerns Bar was awsome...

Great staff specially the concierge desk, Deb and Debilina....

Room Tip: ask for 16th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_mastana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and recognizing our hardworking staff members. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront for your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arrived early, and were allowed to check-in; had to change rooms to two queens from one king. No problem for the front desk staff. Demagnetized our room key twice; no problem for security to meet us at the room. WiFi service was expensive in the room; no problem head down to lobby. Need to print a boarding pass; no problem, boarding pass printing is free in the business office. Price was expensive but not compared to other Boston area hotels. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingman365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the posting your review. I enjoyed reading your comments and look forward to your next stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hard to find any top hotel near downtown in summer for less than $200 p/night so I was happy to find this place through Hotwire. My wife and I had just gotten off the Norwegian Dawn from Bermuda and were given a room at 10am...long before the listed check-in of 3pm. We also found the quality of the beds/bedding to be top notch and very comfortable. Convenient parking below hotel. Did not eat at the hotel restaurants but Starbucks in lobby was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments you had for our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope your trip to Bermuda was fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 4,089 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#69 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#61 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer St, Boston, MA 02210-1719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing