We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms at decent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great rooms at decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hard to find any top hotel near downtown in summer for less than $200 p/night so I was happy to find this place through Hotwire. My wife and I had just gotten off the Norwegian Dawn from Bermuda and were given a room at 10am...long before the listed check-in of 3pm. We also found the quality of the beds/bedding to be top notch and very comfortable. Convenient parking below hotel. Did not eat at the hotel restaurants but Starbucks in lobby was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments you had for our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope your trip to Bermuda was fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    849
    319
    101
    60
See reviews for
330
489
129
1,058
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

- look at the photos, the evidence on how Starwood undercut this hopeful new hotel.. It's pretty much a holiday inn for the rooms. The gym and lobby are up to par. I think this property was intended for something else' see the steel closet door photo. Shocking they let this slide.

- low water pressure on shower and sink.

- no westin dream bed here.. 2 firm double beds.

- dark hallways no windows

- air conditioning only can be set down to 65 degrees

- barebones sums it up..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank australia3491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Although I was disappointed to read your comments, Trip Advisor is a wonderful tool for guests to voice their opinions and we appreciate the feedback. I will share your concerns about the low water pressure with our Engineering Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Westin Boston Waterfront over the Memorial Day weekend. Upon checking in we were greeted by Matt Tomkewicz at Guest Services. During our stay we had the misfortune of leaving my daughter's prescription sunglasses in one of Boston's 500 cabs! With the help of Matt Tomkewicz and head doorman, Bill Currie, the glasses were returned to us! These men worked together to find the glasses so we left Boston with a great impression of not only the city but the hotel as we were able to enjoy our vacation after we thought all hope was lost!

All hotel employees were friendly and helpful from check in to check out. Hassan,a bellman or concierge (not sure) was courteous and another friendly Westin Boston Waterfront team member.

What a great property with friendly and helpful employees.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamat_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you provided and for recognizing our hardworking staff members. I was delighted to read your daughter's glasses were located and that you enjoyed your stay not only in the city, but here at the hotel as well. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin to celebrate our anniversary. Loved it! The staff is very courteous, the place is in a perfect location...not far from all the eateries. The only thing is there's no waterfront.... The only view we had was of buildings but if your floor is high enough and you'll be able to see the water in the distance. Also, the bathroom wall could have used a good cleaning. Other than that great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panterenoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was very happy to read you had a great stay. I will share your comments regarding the guest bathroom with our Housekeeping staff. I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
329 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is what you would expect from a business hotel: spacious room, well equipped, good internet, and next to the convention center (which is the reason why I think most guests would choose this hotel). It is a bit away from the city center (20 mins walk to financial center). Friendly service by hotel staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. I was delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable. We hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront for your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
330 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I found this hotel to be comfortable, and quiet in my room. The rooms are standard hotel rooms with a couple nice upgrades. The king bed I had was outstanding, the shower although was a standard tub set up.. had a very nice rain shower head, and a very convenient hand held nozzle as well.
If there was any downside it was the furniture in the room.. The desk chair was very low and could not be raised, and the chair to relax on was very uncomfortable.

overall.. would I book again.. yes no issue

Room Tip: Not sure.. I asked for a room high up and I got one on the 5th floor overlooking the air-conditionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the kind comments you had and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Westin is close to great restaurants, Bank of America Pavillion, the Mass. Turnpike, and the harbor. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. Very comfortable beds. We ate at the hotel restaurant, which was fairly reasonable with good food. The drinks were super expensive, though. We did not have breakfast at the hotel either because we were entertaining our grandchildren and the cost of breakfast was prohibitive for all of us. This hotel is recommended if you are looking for a place that's attractive and close to the harbor and near an area that is developing some interesting nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hellie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,914 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#68 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#70 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer St, Boston, MA 02210-1719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#28 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Starwood, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing