We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to Boston for the first time for a weekend trip. This hotel was nice and delivered on expectations.

Pros- Very clean. Nice, "hip" lobby with modern setup and Starbucks downstairs. Friendly staff. Rooms were spacious, clean and we were given a very nice room with view of the harbor. Nice location if you want to walk the waterfront area. 10 minute drive from airport. Always cab or transportation in front of hotel.

Con- Only con would be that hotel is a little more south than I would have liked. Cab rides to Fenway and Cambridge area were a bit expensive. However, for a major city, Boston is very easy to get around.

Overall a very nice experience and recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the tim to post your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,686 - 1,692 of 2,685 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the valet/door staff to room housekeepers, staff did everything they could to make us comfortable and happy. We stayed four nights for the Arisia convention. As volunteers in various con departments and wth me as a program panelist and publisher's representative, our party saw every aspect of the hotel's functions. The sleeping room was clean and well appointed with comfy beds and pillows. Where the system fell down was that for 3 guests there were 2 sets of towels, glasses, etc. The cot provided was dusty along its base and had no pillows or extra blankets. The fridge provided was set directly on the carpet so the door was difficult to open. Each of these issues was addressed promptly by housekeeping staff after a phone call to Service Express. We imagine the breakdown was somewhere between the front desk and whoever writes the plans for setting up the rooms for non-standard parties. Throughout the long weekend, staff were responsive, friendly and actually fun to work with. I ate in the lobby restaurant twice and once the server was gruff and indifferent and the other time Jennifer was exceptionally bright and enhanced our dining experience (late at night). The food was also variable. Because this hotel is off in a warehouse district by a convention center, there are few eateries nearby. The restaurants on-site only compete with delivery services, so maybe they are less concerned about value for the money because they have a captive audience. In January in Boston, I'm not hitting the streets so I accepted the drafty, noisy lounge restaurant. I would not go there for fun if we were in the area. Altogether, we had a good experience and look forward to returning for Arisia 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms on the odd-number side have a south-east over the harbor and out to the ocean with some mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaOranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and recognize our hardworking staff during the Arisia conference. I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This being a Westin hotel, I expected a certain level of service, and being disabled, I present certain difficulties anywhere I stay, I was in the hotel working a Sci-Fi convention, and hadn't actually booked a room in advance, being on crutches, I figured the chances of me getting a room that accessible, was a long shot, never mind getting the convention discount, I was wrong on both counts, the young lady at the reservation desk performed a minor miracle, finding me both a accessible room, and a great rate(actually better than the convention rate! LOL) The room was immaculate, and the bed was the most comfortable thing I've ever laid my body on, I splurged, and actually had the breakfast buffet both mornings I stayed, at $23, it was a little steep, but the buffet itself was extensive, with the best scrambled eggs I've had in years, accompanied by some amazing sausage links, and fresh squeezed orange juice, it more than made up for the sticker shock! All in all, my stay was wonderful.....UNTIL I went to retrieve my car from the parking garage, they refused to honor my validation from the restaurant, giving me the excuse that I was more than two hours...blah blah blah, and the girl working the window was like a horse with a kickstand, nothing worse than someone who speaks broken English, being condescending, AND useless! $82 dollars for two nights!! Never again, this ruined an otherwise flawless stay, and cost them the extra star! lol my advice is to take a cab, and use the money you save on parking, for the breakfast buffet! LOL

Room Tip: Find parking close by for less, their garage is a ripoff! Ask for a room away from the garage area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyrate_by_trade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I loved (past tense) this hotel. It is conveniently located very close to a major meeting location for the World Trade Center meeting venue for our annual scientific meeting. The staff is very courteous and professional. The only issue is that every year we come here they have a SciFi convention. The convention is very cute and the people dressing up like Chubaka are delightful. Unfortunately the guests make it take forever to get an elevator, and they are having parties all night long. I need to get my sleep, and there are constantly people giggling, running, and making loud noises in the hallways all night long. While I might still recommend this hotel, I would not stay here during this convention unless you don't want to fall asleep until 4 am.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckckckckckck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Your feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Overall, pretty decent a hotel, and they took care of my Platinum upgrades and all, but what's up with that Platinum breakfast benefit? Can it include more that a couple of muffins, granola and a smoothie? Can I please have a choice of eggs, meat and other stuff that I can mix and match, and not limit me to strange low cost selections?

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. Your comments will be shared with our Food and Beverage Department for consideration. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Overnight stay as a birthday celebration in Boston. Although we did not go to the Convention Center it is next door. We took cabs to get to Downtown, because a person in the party had a handicap. The Silver Line runs nearby. Big, spacious hotel with great service. Felt very welcome.

Room Tip: We used our Starwood Points and had no problem getting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments you had for our property in your review. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Its just like another star business hotel. Great location if walking is what u love the most. Wi Fi is available only in the lobby which is an issues sometimes. The staff is courteous and hospitable. the walk around the hotel till the city's main attraction is fun in the evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shruti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#54 of 84 in Boston
353 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 84 in Boston
4,935 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#44 of 84 in Boston
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer St, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $148 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing