We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left a lot to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived for 4 days over Christmas, and inasmuch as there are no conventions/conferences/whatever going on next door, this was a very quiet place. But there were other ramifications. The restaurants and bars had gone away for the week. Our only breakfast choice was the originally planned as elegant 'Sauciety' on the reception level, which opened at 6:30 a.m. and which offered oatmeal at $10 per serving. Our room was unremarkable, the wifi connection to the computer was broken, but fortunately we had our own in our bag. The toiletries were fine.
But there is a gimmick they advertise largely in posters throughout the lobby... save the world by opting not to use all the water/electricity/detergent/what have you and hang out the 'green world' tag on your door and thus not have your room serviced that day, for a $5 credit at 'participating food and beverages in the hotel.' Sure enough, we hung out the tag before 2 a.m. and at 4 ish were awakened by the sound of stuff sliding under our room door. It turned out to be our hang-tag and the $5 credit card. At reception that morning, I inquired if we could perhaps be given two coffee tubs as we weren't having the room serviced. NO, that is part of servicing the room. Note we'd only gotten 1 decaf coffee tub anyway, although 2 regular tubs. Okay. Finding after the fact that there were precious few options to use our card, we nevertheless opted on our 3rd night to again try to save the world. No under the door return of hangtag or card, so that morning inquired and were rather abruptly given our second card. And of course no more decaf coffee tubs. Having read in the guest services booklet provided in our room to expect our bill under the door on our final morning, we were a little surprised that nothing appeared. Checkout was a charming experience. 'How was your stay?' 'Well, this discount thing for saving the world was a little disappointing. We tried to use the cards in the Irish pub accessible from your lobby (because the City Bar was closed for the week) and they were declined.' 'The Sauciety accepts the card' 'But it won't open for another half hour.' 'You could have used them for room service' 'The card doesn't say that' 'Well, I know that', yeah, great. I explained we'd expected an under the door bill to examine. 'We don't do that anymore.' 'But your guest services book says you do.' 'Well, it's outdated.' I guess that was something else he knew. He explained we could apply those dollars to our Starwood account and I noted that we were not Starwood members. 'But you're on the Starwood Floor!' 'Is that my fault???' 'Would you like to sign up for Starwood?' 'Do I sound like I want to?' To his credit he asked 'How can we make this better for you?' Citing the life-size posters promoting the 'save the world' deal, I asked why we simply couldn't be credited $5 each day we declined all the terribly costly room servicing, but I don' t think he was really listening by then.

Room Tip: Well, if you'd like to look out onto the building with flats at 437 D Street, Room 1513 is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank narrowboatersia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review. I was very disappointed to read your comments and I hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. Please contact me directly at donna.frechette@westin.com so that I can better understand why we did not meet your expectations. I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,699 - 1,705 of 2,687 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have stayed in December at the Westin Waterfront. Very nice and helpfull staff.
The (bath) rooms are spacious and very clean. If the cleaning lady will be able to get hold on you she will ask you if you need anything extra. That was so nice. And the toiletries are very nice and good quality too!
And then the beds, the heavenly beds...I loved it! It was so nice to sleep in that bed that I am ready to buy it for my own house as well.

Thank you Westin Waterfront for the nice stay. Your staff does an excellent job!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelviS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments you had for our property. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just happened to stay here with a friend while doing Boston for a couple days. It was better than I expected from a place I had not looked up. There was a conference going on at the time so it was a little loud in places but the facilities and location made up for it. The rooms were nice and big and we could spread out. Nice staff also.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've been to two conferences here and it's a great facility for them.
First of all, it's very close to Boston's Logan Airport - about a $20 cab ride.
Rooms are spacious and the Westin has those Heavenly Beds which make for a wonderful night's sleep.
The gym has lots of cardio equipment and an excellent section for free weights and weight machines. They offer cold washcloths once you finish your workout.
Had room service on my first night and the sandwich and fries were yummy. The rest of the conference the food was provided for us and I have no complaints at all. Even the boxed lunch on the last day was delicious. I asked for some potato chips and one of the waiters ran to another kitchen in the hotel just to get me some - great service!!

There's a full service Starbucks in the lobby which is very convenient. There's also a small gift shop.

There is a huge conference center attached. We had some meetings there and some in the main building. All facilities were clean and well suited for our needs.

Our internet access was included in the package. Some complained of the speed but I had no issues at all.

Shopping and other entertainment is a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolesau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just had our annual sales kick-off meeting with +300 colleagues at the Westin Boston Waterfront. Very good facilities for such business event... Rooms are spacious, friendly staff and well located not far from Logan airport...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean_Richert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very nice view (from 15'th floor), nice location, and comfortable room and beds. However, as always seems to be the case with "upscale" hotels, some basic useful amenities are missing or expensive. There was no fridge (except the minibar), no breakfast, and you have to pay $15 for internet access. I guess they figure if you can pay for a room, why not pay a bit more... Lucky for me, my company paid the bill.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

If you are attending a convention in Boston over at the seaport great hotel., If you are visiting Boston for the sights and historic landmarks, you'll find this hotel out of the way. The hotel is clean and delivers classic Westin amenities, minus an executive lounge.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanslcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#57 of 84 in Boston
354 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#44 of 84 in Boston
182 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 84 in Boston
4,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer St, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $146 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing