We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice staff & convenience to convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I travel frequently for business. This time I decided to bring my 4 month old baby and mother with me (good luck to anyone else tempting this on a business trip!!). The pure fact that it was my first time traveling for work with a bunch of extra "stuff" made this a challenge and me out of my norm - the hotel was up for it! We were greeted by friendly bellhops, concierge, and a clean room. Not the largest room I've ever had at a Westin, but expected for a city location. We requested a crib and a refrigerator in advance and both were already in the room when we arrived. This alone amazed me! Walking accessibility to the convention center and a Starbucks on the ground level were really convenient. I used the parking garage all week ($35/day) and we walked several times to the waterfront for dinner. We never felt unsafe. Cold, but safe! Bring a wind jacket! All in all, the hotel was great for business and I have no complaints about our accommodations. We ate at the Irish restaurant more than once - good food, decent prices. Had a glass of wine in the main lobby bar (expensive) and the store for bottled water/snacks was over priced as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMcG726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our property. We realize you have many hotel choices in Boston and we are thankful that you chose The Westin Boston Waterfront. We hope you will stay with us on your next trip for business and bring your mom and daughter with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,728 - 1,734 of 2,707 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Westin Waterfront in Boston is one of my favorites when traveling for business. While it is not in the heart of downtown (so not great for exploring attractions), if you are working in the financial district or have an early morning flight, this is your place. It is a short cab ride from either. It is also a very nice Westin. Not sure how old it is, but it feels like a brand new hotel every time I'm there. And, if you get a room facing downtown, the views of the Boston skyline are great. The rooms are up to Westin quality and the beds are great. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Boston and look forward to my next stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read your comments and your feedback is appreciated. I hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a great time in Boston and the hotel was wonderful the rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable, (despite the fact that there was a conference going on while we were there) and we had a lovely view of the harbour. It was close enough to walk to the centre and the trolley bus tour stopped right outside.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAEJJAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate your comments and hope you consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent two nights at the Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel from 11/16 - 18. The hotel is quite large and is connected to the new convention center. Although the hotel is a good 12-minute walk from the South Station T station, it is a pleasant walk over the canals along Summer Street. There is a bus extension that takes you closer to the hotel if you prefer not to walk as far.

The lobby was very hectic with business travelers and guests taking advantage of the free lobby WiFi. The check-in area was pleasant with non-standard free-floating check-in stations. It felt more personable and welcoming. We were happy to receive a room on the 15th floor facing east to the Harbor. The room was new with standard Westin furnishings, wonderful large bed, large desk and work space, decent clean bathroom with nice amenities and the famous Westin dual massage shower heads.

Although the room was otherwise very quiet, we unfortunately had an adjoining room where there were two small children. The doors between adjoining rooms allow a lot of noise to travel between rooms and we were awoken early the next morning by the cries and screams of the children. A phone call to the service express line immediately remedies the problem as we were given the option to move to a new room across the hall that did not have a door between rooms. To top it off, this room faced northwest, above the convention center and had a spectacular view of the entire Boston skyline. We heard no noise during the rest our stay.

Every service call was answered within minutes, if not on the first ring. The promptness of service was as good as I have found anywhere in the world. Although the area is a bit far from downtown, it is in a newly gentrified section of Boston that is full of exciting residential conversions, eating options, and museums including the Institute of Contemporary Art. Don't miss the Flour bakery for a great lunch or delicious sweets.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 12th floor above facing North (city view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zachnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank for for providing such a detailed review. I was delighted to read your comments about the wonderful restaurants and attractions in the up and coming Seaport District of Boston. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Staff is nice but the rooms are small and very expensive, plus they screwed up my reservation. I expected more and was surprised they charged for everything, it was as bad as the airlines. Would not stay again if not foe the convention center which makes the location great for handicapped and in the winter.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read that we were unable to meet your expectations but do appreciate the feedback. If given the chance, we would welcome the opportunity to provide a more enjoyable experience for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently stayed and we loved the hotel. The service was very nice and the rooms were very comfortable. We were able to upgrade to a wonderful suite that gave us extra room to spread out. Breakfast was good and we had lunch at the Irish pub and we also enjoyed everything.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm here for Pri-Med Conference. I enjoy the skywalk to the convention center. All employees have been great. Very close to airport. The halls are clean and quite. You are even given $5 daily or star reward point if you opt to go green for each day you deny housekeeping.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vow98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,962 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer St, Boston, MA 02210-1719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $110 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing