We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK if you don't need to be connected to the outside world” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“OK if you don't need to be connected to the outside world”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The location of this hotel is better than it seems on first impression. The nearby silver line bus connects to downtown and the airport. Even walking to the North End was quite doable and we're in our 50's. The room was clean and well-appointed, albeit a bit small. Beds were wonderful. Double-headed shower was great. We used the lovely fitness center every day. But the downsides were considerable.

Our first day we had a drink at the lobby bar. 27$ ( before tip ) for one shot of decent whiskey and a glass of house malbec. Hard to swallow...

The biggest problem was their internet and cell phone connectivity. They charge two different rates for high speed internet in the rooms but allegedly provide a half hour of free internet access in the lobby. The "free" service was shaky at best and they tried to sell us better service after only 15 minutes or so on-line. The worst part was that the 3G service for our smart phone didn't work in the room. They seem to have it partially blocked in some way. We couldn't even use our cell phone to make calls from the room- even though the T-Mobile service was fine everywhere else in Boston. We ended up feeling that this place, while presenting itself as oh- so- green and customer friendly, was scheming to get every last nickel they could out of us.

When one shells out big bucks for a 4 star hotel it's natural to expect, at a minimum, the sort of connectivity that's available free of charge at any cheap roadside motel chain. I can't imagine returning unless/until this is rectified.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrinkguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    945
    348
    108
    63
See reviews for
367
542
144
1,171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

On my first trip ever to Boston I had the chance to stay at this hotel. I'm sorry to say that I was there in business, but from the time I got there to the time I left I loved it. The hotel was nice and in walking distance to the World Trade Center. The in room dining food was a little limited & pricey. The room was very roomy & clean. Hotel staff was very cordial and efficient. Very nice views of downtown from my room. Very happy that they had a full service business center. Very nice hotel. I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for the glowing comments you had for our property. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for a week for a conference in the adjoining Boston Conference centre. Location is GREAT for the conference centre as it is linked via a walkway so you do not have to go outside. The con is that it is a 10min taxi ride from central boston and 15/20 from the Hynes convention center (make sure you know which one your conference is at!!!!).

The room was pleasant and staff were in general friendly and competent, aside from the lobby bar which was consistently poor service. There is also a starbucks inside which does reasonable food for a far more sensible price.

Overall it is good but it is expensive so I would expect that. For the amount of money I would expect a little bit extra which is why I have given it Average.

Room Tip: There is no problem with lift waiting here so the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo82UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This a new Westin that is connected to the New Conference Center in Boston. The hotel is fair for a Westin. The room was un-remarkable for the most part, the double beds were on the smaller side. The shower however was great with dual heads and great pressure. But the sink was awful, no pressure, could not keep the bowl clean, even with the water running.

The parking was awful, the spaces were tight, on top of that, the key card would not work. Even with multiple trips to the front desk to correct. Re-program, new key cards, both did not work. Only after the third try, they told me about the white button. After that, I never bother with the key card, Just hit the white button and tell the attendant to let you out.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators and ask for a water view room (they only have partial view rooms). Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benfreelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I attended two days of meetings that were held in this hotel and stayed here 3 nighths. The hotel is nice, new and clean. Very close to airport. Public rail transport is very handy to this hotel and to airport. Hotel is close but not in any of the historic locations in Boston. You are kind of out of the way over here. Room are nice clean and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pxisright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to the city. Perhaps you'll have time to explore the rest of what Boston has to offer by way of our public transportation system. We are just a 15 minute walk to the South Station T stop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We decided to move out of our Cape Cod cottage a day early (it was not very nice) & enjoy the comforts of a nice hotel for our last night in New England.
From our arrival to our parting, the staff made our last day/night a wonderful experience. The frontdesk & concierge desks were especially helpful & gave us a wonderul room with a harbor view.
The food in the Birsh bar was really appetising, loved the sliders, should have ordered double! Breakfast in the main restuarant was lovely, food & service very good.
Hope hurricane Sandy didn't disrupt your lives too much.
Rettie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for posting such a positive review. It's nice to hear that Hurricane Sandy did not interupt the top notch quality customer service our guests have come to expect. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights after arriving in the US from London. Speedy transfer from BOS in taxi. Hotel paid attention to my request of a room in a quiet part of building, away from ice machine and elevator. Didn't hear a sound from anyone all night! Bed was amazing and I'm sure this contributed to me having the least jetlag ever on a transatlantic flight. Bar in lobby was average hotel choice/price but I really enjoyed the plentiful snakes that accompanied the drinks. Initially I thought $23 for buffet breakfast was on the pricey side but choice/quality was worth it. Took just under 20 mind to walk to main city but in delightful weather this was not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clalows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,442 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#68 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#62 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing