We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, Clean, Modern, Attached to Convention Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
192 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Classy, Clean, Modern, Attached to Convention Center”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed here for three nights. The hotel was large, clean, and modern. Pleasant scent throughout the hotel.

Lobby was large with a nice lounge space. It was decorated with fake aspen trees, but done in a tasteful manner.

The front desk staff was very friendly, accommodating, and professional.

The room was not the largest, but it was clean and neat with simple decor. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean, and the shower had two showerheads. The water pressure in the shower and the sink was not the best, though; okay but not great.

One problem was that there was no TV remote when we first got to the room. After calling the front desk, a maintenance person came to the room within 10 minutes. He was extremely professional and friendly, and took his time to test out a new remote (which didn't work), then look at the TV to make sure it worked. He returned soon afterwards with a functioning remote and all was well. On his way out, he also fixed the alarm clock. These were small issues in an otherwise very nice stay.

The hotel is attached to the Convention Center and located within a 6-10 min walk to the waterfront and a multitude of restaurants. It's about a 17-21 minute walk to the casual and very good Yankee Lobster restaurant.

I found the area around the hotel to be safe and clean, even at night. There are daytime activities and good nightlife along the waterfront near the hotel (i.e., restaurants and bars), but it's a bit out of the way from the historic area of Boston and the Freedom Trail. You could walk to the main tourist sites, but taking a cab is a very quick and easy roughly $12 cab ride. You could also take the metro, which has a couple of stops very close to the hotel.

I think that the hotel is great if you are here for a convention/business, but I can see how it would be a bit out of the way to see other parts of Boston. But, it really is an easy trip to get to downtown Boston via cab or metro.

Parking is available for a fee in the hotel parking lot. It was not difficult finding spots. The cost was $32 per day, though, which I think is a little steep.

Con: It would have been nice to have free wifi in the room. If I remember correctly, there was a fee for this (I didn't use it because there was a fee, so I am unsure of the charge).

Room tip: ask for a quiet room with a city view. Not sure if I got lucky, but I got a top floor room with a terrific view of Boston.

I would stay here again if going to the Convention Center. I was very comfortable and happy with this hotel. If coming just for vacation, though, I would need to reevaluate this hotel in relation to others which may be more centrally located.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a city view. I got the top floor with an outstanding view of Boston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your your review. We certainly appreciate the feedback and hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    976
    362
    111
    66
See reviews for
379
552
149
1,217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I believe its main advantage was being connected to the Convention center during my AAP Conference ,the room was clean and was upgraded to the 16 floor ,which looked at the harbor view .
Breakfast was classical with not much varities,employes at the front deaks were very friendly ,and checked in in no time but the big drawback was that the airconditions were very noisy ,hope they find a solution for this..
I do recommend this hotel for anyone having a businness in the convention center.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors ,with the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nagui_chouha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This Westin is a convention hotel by all accounts with the majority of patrons donning name badges as if they are lost and need to find their tour groups. The rooms are standard in nature with the prerequisite Westin amenities. I did like the "green" option to decline housekeeping and receive a $5 gift certificate or 500 SPG points/ night declined (except the morning of checkout). A lot of wear and tear to these rooms occurs due to the high convention traffic so the furniture in my room looked a little tired. There are limited dining options within walking distance to the hotel, but there is a "dining trolley" that makes stops at most of the nearby "tourist" restaurants. The hotel restaurant, Sauciety, is mediocre with a limited menu and over-priced fare. I'd skip it and venture out for more appetizing food.
The hotel scores points for proximity to the convention center (it is attached) which makes it an attractive option for those who rank location relative to the convention center as their highest priority. Otherwise, I'd opt for a more interesting hotel in one of Boston's neighborhoods and take a meeting shuttle, taxi, or public transportation to the convention center as the Westin's surrounding area is not very exciting or appealing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors provide the best city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cottonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
464 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is attached to the new convention center in Boston which was convenient for us since we were attending a meeting. The hotel itself is lovely; very modern. Room was quite nice. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful throughout.
It is not located in the most exciting area in Boston, but there are some interesting places along the South waterfront and the jogging map provided takes you by and on the fishing piers. It is not far to Back Bay and restaurants. There is an Irish bar type restaurant in the lobby which was good.
Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

more $$ is not always better - not worth the money spent for a one nite stay. my room just seemed to be "incomplete". they did take care of the fact there was nothing for supplies in the bathroom & no robe after i called. there was trash left in the chair and hair on the bathroom floor. then the cable went out (i know this was not their fault) - just added to the late nite arrival and lack of relaxation time. also had to call to get a credit for 2 nites of parking on my bill for a one nite stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptaker2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Although I was disappointed to read your comments, we did correspond privately via email to resolve the matter to your satisfaction. I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed here and used "Old Town Trolley" which has a pick up in the front of hotel and never used anything other than them for traveling into downtown. Made staying here great and many food places within short walking down to waterfront area (7 min walk). Highly recommend Jerry Remy's sports bar. Used "Silver Line" bus from airport for $2.00 drops within 3 min walk to total. Great place to stay for business or tourist!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryH904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful comments you provided. We look forward to your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for only one night on a day trip into Boston.

The hotel is so big and the rooms are really spacious. The staff are very helpful and there's a bar in the lobby with seating area which is a great way to start the night with a few drinks before heading out.

The bathroom is one of the cleanest bathrooms I've ever seen. The shower has two heads and the soap products are not harsh for your skin at all!

The bed was really comfy, best night sleep!

Can't complain about this hotel at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for providing such great feedback. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,630 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#66 of 83 in Boston
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#61 of 83 in Boston
122 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing