We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and right next to convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pacifica, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and right next to convention center”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Had a great welcome experience at the Westin. Loved the high ceilings and how open the whole lobby is. It's a really busy, happening hotel.

I appreciated that there was wall to ceiling window in the room, made the room look much bigger than it was. Otherwise, it's a typical Westin room, with the usual amenities, minus the bath gel. I noticed that hotels don't provide that anymore. I had to call housekeeping to get it.

I appreciated that they had a refrigerator in the room.

I agree with the other posts parking and service for all the ancillary services were up there. If I wasn't traveling for business, I would not be spending much money at the hotel.

I must commend the quality of the food and beverage offerings and quality at their various restaurants. Boston has wonderful restaurants and normally, I'm not crazy about hotel food. Their lobster roll, salads, soups and dessert were right up there with some culinary restaurants in Boston.

All in all... a nice clean, modern hotel... nothing to brag about.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for providing such positive feedback and I hope you will consider staying at The Westin Boston Waterfront on your next trip to the East Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    992
    367
    112
    71
See reviews for
392
557
151
1,243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The location is excellent, a stone's throw from the airport=- directly across from the best seafood shacks, Overall just a great place. A nice feeling of spaciousness pervades the whole complex. The lobby is especially appealing, bright airy , serene- with fresh coffee at the shop in the hotel lobby. The rooms are nice, clean and modern.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anett73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for the kind comments you had for our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Like most Westins, you have very nice decor, very zen, very clean. The price is what brought me here. The location is a bit far, so walking was a bit much. WHat we saved on the room, we ended up spending in taxis. We did enjoy the pub in the lobby and the breakfast restaurant. It was more by necessity than choice given that others were too far away.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post such valuable feedback. I hope we get the opportunity to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Not really a family hotel, although they try. There were plenty of families staying there though. Easy to get to destinations. But it is a longer walk than it looks to get to Quincy Market or Aquarium.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for providing your feedback. While it is a pleasant walk to Faneuil Hall, we also provide complimentary shuttle service to that locattion. Perhaps you can take advantage of that feature on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is wonderful place to stay for the most part. Away from the hectic big city by about a mile it was a great place to stay after a long day of work. Over all the staff was very helpful especially he front desk, bar staff, and 2/3 of the concierge. This is where the one big issue comes in. I had my fiancé fly up for the weekend while I was on business and had booked her a trolley tour on Friday. When she went down to the concierge desk that morning to find out where to go she was met with a very rude concierge named Deb. She gave her very little info on where to find the trolley nor the next approximate time of the trolley arriving. This was very upsetting to us as she was alone for the day and this did not exactly start off the day on the right foot. Unfortunately this really tarnished the my opinion of what was otherwise a great 10 day stay. The only reason I gave it four stars is due to the service and helpfulness of the other employees.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will share your comments with Debra's immediate Supervisor since we expect our guests to be treated in a friendly, professional manner by all hotel associates. If you would contact me directly, I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to receive additional feedback. We look forward to hosting you in the future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This Westin has everything I count on during a hotel stay: Clean rooms, modern, well kept furniture and nicely appointed fabrications, a workout room and pool and a great location. The beds? Deliciously comfortable. The pillows? Most excellent choices of two densities (soft or firm) for each person.

There's nothing not to like about this Westin. It's gorgeous and well thought out. Our encounters with hotel staff were positive. I really liked the bank of six elevators. No waiting!

It was a good 20 minute walk to downtown, but the walk is picturesque. However, families with young children may want to think whether they want to schlep that much. Of course, there are buses and taxis queued outside. We took a taxi from the hotel to Boston Garden and it cost $12-15. A taxi to South Station subway was $5.

There are other sites within a ten minute walk including Boston Harbor, Seaport Blvd. with it's varied restaurant offerings, Black Falcon Cruise Terminal (check out the cruise ships.) and the Bank of America Pavilion where we took in a concert on evening spur of the moment.

The views of downtown are quite impressive from the hotel.

This was a great hotel experience for us and I'd go back again.

Room Tip: I called the hotel 2 days before arrival to check bed type. Asked for a different set-up which they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mediaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
I was delighted to read the wonderful comments you had for our hotel and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was a nice business hotel but the staff is like robots. No warm and fuzzy feeling here! We had 2 free nights here with our credit card points. We would not have paid the high price if we were paying. They also charge $32 per day parking and $12 per day WiFi. If you keep your car in parking lot more than 24 hour the last day, they charge you extra. It was an easy and safe walk to Fanueil Hall and restaurants. I felt safe even at night. We had a fire alarm at 1:30 a.m. Woke up to loud beep and then announcement to stay in room with door closed. No mention of fire, bomb, gunman. We had no idea what was up. I don't like not having a choice in my destiny. I need more info. Found out the next a.m. that a drunk pulled the fire alarm. We didn't get any kind of satisfaction from the desk at check out.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay extra for everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#58 of 83 in Boston
318 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,778 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#53 of 83 in Boston
159 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing