We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashmont Grill

Ashmont Grill
Ranked #455 of 3,186 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
boston, ma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had been planning to visit Ashmont Grill for a long time, based on reputation, and finally got around to it. It was definitely worth the trip and I would go again. We had the charcuterie appetizer, which had an excellent selection of meats and cheeses and was a generous portion for two. I had a nightly special, venison osso buco with an oatmeal cake (much better than it sounds) and baby turnips and greens. Everything was very well prepared. The venison was the tenderest I've had, altho a bit mild in taste. People sometimes complain that venison is gamey. In this case, it could have used a bit more of an assertive taste. They don't take reservations but we waited only 10 or 15 minutes on a busy night. Prices may be a bit high for the neighborhood, but not for the food or compared to downtown Boston. It seems a little out of the way but it is almost directly across from the Ashmont red line station, so it is very easy to reach from downtown.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wbp657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food and fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Brought a family member visiting from out of town to the Ashmont Grill, and it was great.
Started with the Berry Salad; strawberries, blueberries, goat cheese, arugula and a vinaigrette - really good. Swordfish dinner special was so moist and tasty, and our guest enjoyed the grilled salmon. Finished the meal with the Plum and Peach Crisp and ice cream. Another great meal at the Grill!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Neighborhood spot with quality cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This spot is directly across from the Ashmont T stop on the redline. There is street parking fairly easy enough. The decor is very relaxing, the outdoor space is the choice-- a kind of oasis in the city. The food is all lovely--a good variety made with high grade ingredients. There are intriging specials everyday and nice wine list and pairings offered. I would recommend this place for families, couples or visitors--it has that iniversal appeal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RubiaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It was good, but not up to the hype.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went to Ashmont Grill to meet up with a few people for drinks. I have heard a lot of reviews of the Ashmont Grill as being fantastic. Overall it was good, but nothing to rave over and a bit pricey.

The dollar shrimp special app was good. I also had the skirt steak, it was a bit undercooked for my taste when I ordered it medium. The bar tenders were all a bit on the unfriendly side.

I would go again, but not specifically run back for anything I saw or had there. It was just ok to me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food and drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Went to Ashmont Grill recently for brunch. We got a couple of specialty drinks-my bloody blue was excellent. My wife and I split the croque monsier madame. It was delicous. Fried were also really good! I recommend this place.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LolaMarieTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashmont Grill also viewed

 
 

Been to Ashmont Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing