We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant week”
Review of Umbria

Umbria
Ranked #976 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broad St.
Transit: Orange/Blue Line: State Street Red Line: Downtown Crossing/South Station
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“restaurant week”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went on the Friday night during restaurant week and were not disappointed. Although we both ordered off the special menu, we added a few oysters (him) and jumbo shrimp cocktail(me) to our dinner. I also had a cocktail and my husband had wine. Portions were good (although maybe a little flexibility on the vegetable would have made me happier... the rabe didn't excite me) and overall, it was just nice. A short walk from the hotel made it even better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    25
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good dining experience, but would have been better had the a/c been working.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We went during Restaraunt Week ( unintentionally) and both had the dry aged filet. Best I ever had. The polenta w/mushroom appetizer was very good as well. Service was timely...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejja55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worst meal in boston”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

my partner and i, went in 20,8.13, she had the set menue, with a fillet steak, i had the leek and potato soup,with lobster, while my starter was ok, hers was poor, then the steak i had, came with no sides, to which i was not offerd any, and a big bone on top, with bone marrow, we think it was the owner who served us, and i saw him arguing with at least 2 members of staff, this was the worst dinner i have ever had, in all my times in the us, by the way, this place was recmended to us ,from the concerige at the langham hotel, avoid this place at all costs,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkiePortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food here was exceptional. Despite being busy, all tables occupied, and some very fussy customers, the food was unquestionably perfect. There was plenty on the plates/ slates, but it was served as in the best city restaurants. It was cooked to perfection. Steak came as asked for. We experienced other people being silly but dealt with exceptionally well by the staff who remained I fazed. They also cater for smaller appetites on the main menu, accommodating elderly and children with no problem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank revquackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“frank depasquale has much better venues”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

if you want steak, go to abe and louis, grill 23, del friscos, boston chops or one of the other great steak houses in boston (read, this isn't one of them)
if you want italian, go prezza, damianos or one of the other great places in the north end
if you want a frank depaquale venture, go to bricco (on hanover in the north end, serving great italian)
if you want to be disappointed, go to umbria prime. honestly, i'm not hear to be a pita, but the steak is lousy, the fish is overcooked, salty and lousy, the carpets are repulsive, the service is just miserable - you will literally have an empty water glass in front of you for 15 minutes, and will eventually have to get up to find someone to fill it. no one will bother to stop by your table.
save yourself the aggrevation, just go elsewhere...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jwwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing