We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Special requests are honored and the food and wine are fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastern Standard

Eastern Standard
Reserve with OpenTable
Eastern Standard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 3,140 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Beacon Street
Transit: Kenmore Station T stop on the Green Line and Bus Routes 119, 193, 55, 57, 60, 65, 8, and CT1 into Kenmore Square
Description: Eastern Standard is an American Brasserie located in the heart of Kenmore Square, featuring a heated patio and the longest marble bar in Boston. At Eastern Standard we strive to re-create every guest’s expectations. As you enter the restaurant you will be warmly greeted by a staff whose main goal is to make your dining experience among the best you have ever had. Guests can depend on the eclectic wine list to be approachable and unpretentious. We offer a full bar featuring 61 delicious classic cocktails from around the world and Eastern Standard originals. From the house made Charcuterie to the warm and indulgent Butterscotch Bread Pudding, your dining experience at Eastern Standard will keep you coming back again and again!
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Special requests are honored and the food and wine are fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My second visit to this easy-to-find spot near Fenway. Our party of 3 enjoyed a few starters including the marrow and two different entrees. The hangar steaks were perfectly cooked to order and the smoked pork porterhouse was beyond imagination. All sides perfectly prepared. Love the little assorted pickled vegs served with the bread. Enjoyed a lovely bottle of Gamay, and finished off with the butterscotch bread pudding. Can't wait for my next visit. Service was good but our waitress did take a long time to come to take our order (ate more bread...).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kbranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    392
    105
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were staying at the Hotel Commonwealth for 4 nights, and it was very hard to not to want to eat here every day rather than explore the other wonderful options in Boston!

Loved the atmosphere, Loved the music, Loved the food but above all Loved the service it is wonderful, I will miss coming to dine here greatly!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jc2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utica, New York, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We made reservations for Sunday brunch and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious, the service was excellent, and the atmosphere was great! I would absolutely eat here again. It is very close to Fenway Park so I do suggest making reservations especially if there is a game scheduled for that day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tanner712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Boston is really not among the best cities for food. This place is pretty respectable though, especially if you are a meat-a-tarian eater. Forget going here if you are vegan. They do not have a lot of choices if you are a vegetarian or following a gluten-free diet. But if you are a seafood-eating, meat eater you will probably like it.

They do a nice Brunch.

The stand-outs here include several seasonal dishes featuring local catch, and the the drinks list. This place features a great selection. We have tried the various Belgian beers, wines and cocktails and will probably head back there again to keep trying out their offerings.

The service here is always nice and pleasant. They keep a nice pace and we have never felt rushed.

Draw-backs: there might be a wait for a table and honestly, the place can get pretty loud... whether you are inside or outside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cote_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Staff absolutely perfect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Whilst staying at Hotel Commonwealth we decided to eat here after a long day. Had to book a table, which was understandable as it was so popular. The service was superb, the waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Not so impressed with the food but from previous reviews it must have been because we were expecting more of a Fine Dining experience and this was not the English version of that. Steak in red wine sauce was our order and the steak was indeed good but there was no discernible sauce and it came accompanied by fries and tomato sauce but no vegetables whatsoever. We were a little disappointed given the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneEmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Standard also viewed

 

Been to Eastern Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing