We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Experience Whale Watching”

New England Aquarium Whale Watch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Boston's best whale watch! Experience whales as only the New England Aquarium can present them! Our experienced marine biologists tell you all about these majestic creatures and the other inhabitants of Stellwagen Bank onboard the only fast catamaran in Boston designed specifically for whale watching! Whale sightings are guaranteed on this family fun adventure!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Nice Experience Whale Watching”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Go from the aquarium, reconsider any trip to Glouchester (sp?) simply to whale watch - my experience was, as has been mentioned, the boats all end up in the same general area of water. We saw multiple whales in September, and while none breached completely, we did get nice views, some of which were even next to the boat. Additionally, the hour trip out and back offer nice views of the city and surrounding islands. Bring a jacket/cap/hat, it gets windy and cool/cold.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nasdaqnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    212
    71
    39
    42
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was my third time doing the whale watch. I brought a young child with me- 3 yrs old. It is a very cool experience, but it seems to be more about how many people they could get on the boat. It gets too crowded and the kids can't even see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank True01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boston Whale watch”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Brilliant trip. Once got to the whale area were lucky enough to see them straight away and then spent our time keeping up with 3 whales, one humpback and two finback whales. One tip, make sure you get to the front of the boat, either on lower level or top deck and then you will be able to see the whales the whole time. Otherwise you will spend a little time not viewing waiting for the boat to turn or whales to change sides. However this didn't spoil our time. If ever had the chance would do again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KtJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing morning”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

One of the best trips I have done, lovely hot day, very calm sea, informative and very helpful staff and amazing views of whales. Definitely a must when visiting Boston.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Boston Aquarium”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I visited the Boston aquarium with American friends,it is awesome!!!Far better than what I have seen in the UK.I loved it.many people there, kids loving it.it is also wheel chair/disabled friendly.It is pricey, but believe me it is well worth it!!id love to go there, again.You need plenty of time to see everything properly as it is so huge!!Don't miss it!!Allow yourselves at least 3 hrs to see it all!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wallasey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New England Aquarium Whale Watch also viewed

 

Been to New England Aquarium Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing