We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A building built ahead of its time”

The First Church of Christ, Scientist
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.00*
and up
1692 Witch Trials Walking Tour in Salem
Ranked #90 of 392 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Plaza is located in the heart of Boston and includes beautiful buildings and gardens, a fountain, reflecting pool, and more.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A building built ahead of its time”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This church was built way back in early 1900 and with the dome , the acoustics are just wonderful with clear sounds from the readers and soloist on the stage. The hymns display are digitally projected onto the columns so no markings are left on the wall which would be quite a feat at that time.There are about 900 pipes that consist the organ which produces lovely tunes. I cannot describe it more- just need to attend church even if only to listen to the organ playing. There is a reflecting pool near it which is a bonus, too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AElbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    49
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazingly Beautiful Church Building”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I was curious from the outside of this Church what it looked like inside. I was pleased to find that the Church offers free tours and access to their worship area. I thought they would try to indoctrinate me to their religion and it wasnt the case. What I found was a very large sitting area with an an enormous Skinner Church Organ. The Church sitting area has a ornate Rotunda like ceiling. Throughout the room was well known verses from the Bible and their foundress Mary Baker Eddy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NorthernVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I went to college in Boston in the 70s and lived right around the corner from the church, but had never visited, as I'm not religious. I was very impressed by the quiet beauty of the architecture and stained glass of both the old and new churches. The docent was very good. I am now quite impressed by Mary Baker Eddy, who I knew nothing about. She was an incredible woman, ahead of her time. The tour is not meant to convert, however. You will not be subjected to evangelism. The church tours are free, there is a charge for the incredible Maparium, which is a must-see!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank aliceb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“See the Maparium!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Picture a three story world globe made out of stained glass. You are inside it, walking across the space on a bridge. It's a $7 fee and well worth the cost and a short wait for the tour.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quiet place”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

A Boston Landmark for the last century. We attended a Sunday service in a space which is capable of holding several thousand people - the couple of hundred who were there were lost in the vastness of the space. The plaza is a great place to stroll and the reflecting pool is a wonderful addition to the city.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The First Church of Christ, Scientist also viewed

 

Been to The First Church of Christ, Scientist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing