We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, convenient, affordable and free parking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Boston-South Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Ranked #73 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, affordable and free parking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was our first time in Boston so we weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the hotel, but we still wanted something nice and clean, which we found at Courtyard South Boston. We had read the mixed reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. Check-in was a breeze, the staff was very helpful, they even let us into our room about three hours early so we just dropped of our bags and went for a walk. The subway station is a 5-minute-walk away, another staff member directed us to it, and in less than 20 minutes we were right in the middle of downtown Boston.
Rooms are nice, clean and very spacious.
Breakfast was ok, at first we thought it was included but it was our mistake, we ended up taking it anyway, $11.95 per person.
Overall a really nice stay, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pppjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    229
    73
    33
    19
See reviews for
166
125
28
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The location isn't the greatest if you do not have a car. They offer a shuttle to and from the airport for 5 dollars. Rooms are average size. We stayed here because of the price but next time we come to Boston we will choose a Marriott with a more central location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyhead0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Marriott and Courtyards seem to have upped the personal touch. Having stayed in three this week, I want to seriously applaud the Marriott team for getting the personal touch back into hotels.

Also, the choice of pillows on the bed is a simple and elegant solution to dealing with guests' pickiness. Good stuff.

I would normally give a four or a five but the main reason to go to a hotel is to sleep. That is impossible if the airconditioner makes loud and random noises. Turning it off, of course, makes the room stuffy to sleep in. This is a major oversight, so I have to give a three.

Sorry guys. Better luck next time. I will come back, just fix the aircon.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in 530 unless they guarantee they have fixed the aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Courtyard Boston-South Boston, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
On behalf of the Courtyard by Marriott South Boston, I wanted to thank you for sharing your experience and for staying with us. I really appreciate all of your comments and thanks to these we are able to provide our guests with the best service. Regarding the air conditioner issue I talked with my Operations Manager and he told me it was all solved and that there where no longer any issued. We are almost done with renovations and want to invite you back to experience our new state of the art lobby, Bistro and much more!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed her a few years ago and had no problems with it. Everything was clean, service was good, nothing exceptional, nothing bad to say. Easy off & on highway to jump into Boston. Once you figure out the short cuts through the parking lots it's easy to find.

My husband & I stayed again Feb 2013 as I had an early appt at Boston Medical Center. It was conveniently located close to the center. When we arrived I had an awful cold. The ladies at the front desk went out of their way to cater to me. Making me tea, getting my honey & cookies. They were so lovely and touched this sick mommy's heart with their kindness!

The hotel was going through updating. Having stayed a few years ago we weren't sure why they were updating...but it was beautiful and well appointed. We enjoyed the pool & hot tub and I was pleased to see a handicap lift for the pool. Both my husband and I have worked with individuals who benefit from aquatics but are wheelchair bound, etc. It was so nice to see a hotel that was accessible!

We will definitely stay her again for any other appts at the BMC or for trips to visit Boston.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Courtyard Boston-South Boston, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
The Courtyard by Marriott- South Boston thanks you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We strongly appreciate all of your comments and evaluations. I was honored to read your impressions regarding our front desk staff and will make sure to let them know. Regarding our facilities, we are glad you enjoyed them and found them useful. Our whole purpose is to provide a good service and be prepared for our guests. I want to invite you back to our top to bottom new hotel and thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The location was a bit hard to find, and parking was a disaster. After lugging my luggage a long way in the cold, I was able to check in.

Check in was easy. Room was nice and well appointed. Staff were nice. Your usual expectation of this type of hotel. Would stay again. Only problem was the parking.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank firebirdgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel due to a blizzard. Not only did i think Marriott was going be a great hotel but a nice area, well to say the least the area was nice:). As far as service hotel is horrible!!! My daughter found a beer can open under a bed scrapped her foot and the room rekked of beer. I called down the front desk and they assured me someone would be right up, which nobody came. Next morning i went down to speak to the gm and all he cared about was the accident report!!! (REALLY)!!! can't believe the treatment from this hotel never will i stay at another Marriott

Room Tip: don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcella r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio L, Manager at Courtyard Boston-South Boston, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues you experienced during your stay.
I understand there are many hotels to choose from and appreciate that you have selected to stay with us. Thanks for the opportunity to serve you.

The wellbeing of our guests is our number one priority.
I understand that you had experienced some issues during your last stay. Please accept my sincere apology and I can assure you that we have taking the appropriate steps to ensure that those issues do not happen again.

I hope you give us the oportunity to serve you again and showe you the way we have improved from a complete hotel renovation including a new lobby and bistro to our excellent customer service.

Antonio Lama
Assistant general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are Marriott Elite members and often stay at Marriotts, so when my husband had to have a medical evaluation at Boston University Hospital, we chose this nearby Marriott. Our second floor room (no honoring of my elite status which is supposed to give me a high floor) was depressing - dim lighting, and it looked out on dumpsters and the back of a big box mall. Heating/cooling was noisy, and alternated blasts of hot air with very cold air. Although walking to the mall was supposed to be a plus, the route around the back of the mall was ugly/creepy, not a real path, felt unsafe at night. The whole location of the hotel behind the mall felt strange. Advertised free shuttle to the hospital did not run as planned and we twice had to pay for cabs to get to appointments on time. We checked out and completed our stay at the Hampton Inn Crosstown, which was across the street from the hospital and much nicer. The only plus about this hotel was friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Courtyard Boston-South Boston, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We value your feedback as it enables us to continue to improve and provide better service for our guests.
I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered and address your concerns, Although we have a very thorough preventative maintenance program, we clearly fell short in providing you a quality room that you have come to expect from our hotel. I wanted to inform you that I have alerted my Maintenance Manager to your concerns and have taken measures to ensure this is corrected immediately. I have also taken the time to address your cleanliness concerns with our team and if given the opportunity, it will not be repeated.

I do hope that despite these inconveniences, you will be willing to give us a chance to welcome you back to our hotel and make your next experience more enjoyable. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Chris Davey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 82 in Boston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston-South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston-South Boston

Property: Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Address: 63 R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston-South Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*GPS USERS USE 7 ALLSTATE ROAD, BOSTON MA 02125. The new state-of-the-art Courtyard South Boston provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests, featuring inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel & easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our location in “Southie” is located 4 miles from Logan International Airport (BOS), 2 miles from the city center and a heartbeat away from Boston attractions including Fenway Park, TD Bank North Garden, Freedom Trail and Quincy Market. We offer shuttle service to and from Logan Airport for an additional fee of $5.00 per person each way. For other options, Andrew Square Station is within walking distance and 3 stops from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Boston-South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston-South Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing