We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better with a car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Ranked #73 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights on business in November 2011. Most hotels in Boston are easily accessed by public transport, but the nearest subway stop here is Andrew, a brisk 10 min walk for someone reasonably fit, but at least a 20 min walk with a heavy suitcase (even on a sunny day, mid afternoon). There are some local buses that run past the hotel, but only about 3 an hour. Once at the hotel, the big shopping park with Target, TJMaxx etc is useful for late night shopping, but walking through the car park next to the freeway is strange.
Hotel itself is modern and comfortable, I was given an accessible room which was spacious and warm. Large, new bed, free reliable Wifi. The 'pool' is tiny, barely room to swim a few strokes, and the hot tub was out of order for 2 of the 4 nights I stayed - when it was working it did the job nicely. Didn't use the small gym, but could see that at least 1 of the 6 machines was out of order. Staff at front desk. very helpful, stored bags after I'd checked out, shuttle to airport was about $6 and it took about 10 mins to the terminal. Would stay again, but only if travelling with a car.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PopcornB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Boston-South Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 538 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have no complaints about this hotel. Location was good, easy to get into Boston center, shopping plaza across the street. Up to Courtyard standards, you get what is expected.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flantastic-Four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

we stayed at this hotel on september 9th for 3 nights. There was some confusion on arrival as they could not locate our booking, but found a room for us anyway. Room was fine, and there was a good breakfast, but spoiled by the large nuimber of people using the breakfast area as their personal office. Sadly the pool is so small that is not worth changing for, and probably only for children. Good shuttle service to and from the airport

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

When you drive up to the hotel the first thing you see is are all of the Christmas lights around the entrance. A welcome sight to the weary traveler. The front desk staff were all cheery and in the holiday mood and check and check out was fast. The rooms and the hotel in general were very clean and well maintained.
We parked our car and walked to the mall behind the hotel for dinner at Applebees and picked up some pastries for breakfast at Starbucks. The only thing missing was a restaurant on site for dinner and breakfast so we had coffee in the room with pastries for breakfast.
I would stay here again as the price and the location are good(once you find the hotel).
Tip: The manager suggested in an earlier post that you program your gps for Allstate road. I did that and drove in circles in the mall around the best buy. You have to drive past the best buy in the mall towards where you see all the traffic on I 93. Just short of I93 you have to take the access road to the hotel to the right. It is well marked when you reach that point but I had to stop and call the hotel to learn of the access road's existence.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had an early morning flight to catch the day after Thanksgiving so we booked a night here. It is a very nice, well kept, well styled, still smells kinda new hotel. Due to the fact that we arrived on Thanksgiving night we had limited options for food or drink (hotel services were closed). We went out in search of a convenience store hoping to find a beer and soda and snacks for our evening in the room and also pick up some breakfast items as we would miss the hotel food in the morning due to our early flight. This proved to be difficult as MA has blue laws and so there was no beer to be found. The convenience store did have all the other things we needed though, so no harm no foul.... just a word of caution to other potential travellers, if you want a beer I am not sure where you'll find it if the bar is closed.
The staff was friendly and even though they could not help us find a scale to weight our bags, they were very gracious with their appologies. All in all it was a good noghts stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amlunchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I have been staying at this hotel annually for the past few years for a conference I attend at the Boston Convention Center. The rate can't be beat compared to the other hotels and it offers free parking and free shuttle service the to Convention Center (a savings of at least $120). I also took the T and they sent a shuttle to pick me up so I didn't have to walk.

The location is tricky to find but if you look for the South Bay Shopping Center, it is located behind that.

The rooms were clean and modern looking and the bed very comfortable.

I did not use the pool but the gym was adequate.

The front desk staff was always friendly and accomodating. This year, the GM emailed me prior to my stay (nice touch!) and answered some questions I had.

The only thing I miss is complimentary breakfast but they offer coffee and tea around the clock.

Will definitely be staying here again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mapsNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Manager at Courtyard Boston-South Boston, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful response. Arriving on your next visit we should be much easier to find. A larger sign will be located on the access road adjacent to the plaza.

Sincerely,
Dave Cuadra
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Courtyard South Boston is everything you expect from Courtyard, but what you'll get is great service at an affordable price. I've stayed here on several occasions and received tremendous service - complimentary breakfast, convenient transportation to & from Andrews Red Line station, and good recommendations from hotel staff.
As much as I enjoy staying at the other Marriott properties in the area, this South Boston location easily offers the best value, so you can relax and spend more on your nights out.

Room Tip: Get a high room
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Manager at Courtyard Boston-South Boston, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. Please introduce yourself if you have time on your next visit. It's a treat meeting our repeat guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston-South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston-South Boston

Address: 63R Bolton St, Boston, MA 02127-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $139 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston-South Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*GPS USERS USE 7 ALLSTATE ROAD, BOSTON MA 02125. The new state-of-the-art Courtyard South Boston provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests, featuring inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel & easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our location in “Southie” is located 4 miles from Logan International Airport (BOS), 2 miles from the city center and a heartbeat away from Boston attractions including Fenway Park, TD Bank North Garden, Freedom Trail and Quincy Market. We offer shuttle service to and from Logan Airport for an additional fee of $5.00 per person each way. For other options, Andrew Square Station is within walking distance and 3 stops from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Boston-South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston-South Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing