We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They did a great job with a large group” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elephant Walk South End

The Elephant Walk South End
Reserve with OpenTable
The Elephant Walk South End is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #245 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South End
Transit: Accessible by the Saint Mary's T-stop on the Green Line "C" Branch
Description: The Elephant Walk serves Award-Winning Cambodian and French cuisine with extensive vegetarian and gluten-free selections. Cambodian cooking is beautiful and delicious, but still rare in America. Less hot and sweet than Thai, richer and more complex than Vietnamese, the complex spice pastes that are the foundation of many Cambodian dishes reflect Cambodia's Indian ancestry (but use fresh rather than dried spices). Our Cambodian and French selections encompass both traditional and original dishes created by our Chef Nadsa de Monteiro, who was raised in Phnom Penh speaking both Cambodian and French and subsequently lived in France for many years. Our Cambodian-and-French theme is an authentic reflection of our roots!
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
257 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“They did a great job with a large group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was here for a business meal with a large group of people. There was a pre-selected menu, and they definitely had something for everyone - from meat to fish to vegan. The portions were large, and the food was well-prepared and tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KLGri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    102
    43
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tres Bien”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were walking along after my son's graduation, seeking a place to eat and were intrigued by the concept of a combination French/Southeast Asian restaurant. It more than met our hopes. Service was very good. I had a cold avocado soup that was as good as I've ever tasted and a boeuf bourguignon that was quite tasty and incredibly tender. We had ordered the three-course prix fixe dinner (a little expensive, but offering a nice selection in each course) and dessert, a chocolate ganache, was very, very good. We also shared a very nice cabernet from an extensive wine list.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian & gluten free options!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We've been going to Elephant Walk for years and our latest visit did not disappoint. We had a diverse group with dietary issues and there were so many options that we were thrilled. Start with the spring roll appetizer, as well as any of the salads. All of the fish dishes are great. Even dessert was a treat!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MLS60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great spot, almost neighborhood, almost high end dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Elephant Walk is in a great neighborhood location on Beacon St., out past Fenway. It's easy to get to by T if you're in town, one block from the St. Mary stop on the Green Line. This place serves a wonderful combination Far East/Cambodian with French influences. The dishes are pretty unique because of that combination. We went during Boston Restaurant Week, which was a great value ($33 pp for 3 courses). Think adventurous when you come here, and you will be rewarded with unique dishes and flavors that do not disappoint. Service was excellent and attentive, without being rushed. In fact, for a party of 2, we were there almost 2 hours. It didn't feel slow either. Just relaxed and just right.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Membermaine07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch or Dinner...yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

One of our favorite places to eat when we. Is it Boston twice a month. The duck crepe is awesome and the potato soup just terrific. All of the desserts are fabulous and the ambiance is great. This place was once a bank...how cool is that.. Take advantage of the price fix.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank German-Slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant Walk South End also viewed

 

Been to The Elephant Walk South End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing