We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average service and room for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above average service and room for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed here (we're in our early 30s) from a Friday to Tuesday and found the accommodations to be above average for the price (with tax we paid about $110.00 a night). We kept our "do not disturb" sign up the entire time so we can't attest to the day to day housekeeping, however, our room was clean and tidy upon arrival and the staff left a bag with fresh towels and shampoo/conditioner/lotion/soap in front of our door daily. This extra effort meant a lot to us. The front desk also provided us with a razor and toothpaste as we neglected to bring our own. Matt checked us in and out and was friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable. Our room had a fridge. Located within two minute walk of the Back Bay T stop and walking distance to Shaw's (a small supermarket) and a mall. Wendy's, Burger King, a BBQ/steak house called Whiskey's, California Pizza Kitchen, PF Chang's, all within 10-15 minute walk. A wired connection to the Internet (long cord too!) was in the room free of charge. A microwave would have been a nice addition to the room. Also the gym was just an elliptical machine, a recumbent bike and a balance ball shared by all guests. However, we only had to wait 10 minutes to use it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abonyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    831
    311
    110
    68
See reviews for
361
799
209
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

I recently celebrated my birthday in Boston. A few friends and I stayed in the Kennedy suite at Hotel 140 and I was very impressed! The hotel staff was FRIENDLY and helpful! The facility was very CLEAN! My favorite part was the LOCATION, the area is surrounded with great places to dine, as well as trendy bars to enjoy a few drinks. The best part is everything is within walking distance! Me and the group I was traveling with had a great night! Thanks Hotel 140!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britt0113Ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

They are truly the worst people to stay with. I was completely upset with my stay. The hotel over charged me, told me that I could not have another room, even though not all my guests could not stay in the room. The room only had a twin and full size bed, and I had four people with us. We called and they did nothing. They treated me horribly and did not even care. I just want to let everyone know that it is the worst that I have every been treated. They just want your money and dont care about you or your guest, Stay elsewhere and save yourself the pain and frustration.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCofran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

We went to Boston to celebrate my birthday and had booked the Happy Birthday package online. When we got to the hotel we could not have been happier with the location. It was so close to all of the historical sites so that we could walk to everything. There was also a subway only a block away for when the weather cooled too much for these Californians so we didn't want to walk. Now the room was pretty simplistic, but for the price and the location it was worth it. We didn't plan on staying in the room a lot. We did have problems with getting room keys that would work (something to do with a new lock being installed from a different floor) and it took 5 times and a day before we actually had keys that worked, but the staff could not have been more helpful and let us into our room several times. We highly recommend the hotel and will stay there again. One note: if you book an online package make sure you have proof and follow up with the manager during the stay. I had discounted room rate that was not honored during the stay but after several e-mails the manager did refund us and personally called me.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llivrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

So I booked this trip on Priceline because I was coming to a conference and quite honestly didn't need anything that great for me to crash a couple of nights.

At first look, I did get a bit lost, signage isn't the best thing w/ the hotel, but once I got inside the gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. I needed a package to be delivered and before I was officially checked in, he made sure that I had received it.

Based on some of the reviews I was expecting a bare bones kind of room, and that is just about what you get. My room simply had a bed, desk, office chair, and wardrobe. The linoleum floors were interesting. However bare bones this room was, it was very clean. I was hoping for a bathtub, but the stand up shower was fine.

Overall, not that bad for the location and the price. Don't have high expectations. But I would still recommend this place for a cheap, clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

I stayed at this hotel from oct 28th through november 2nd. the staff that waited on me were friendly and helpfull. not once did they complain or anything. they were helpful with my questions and my late arrival. when i had problems with the door key card they were very helpful. When i accidentally checked out early due to me being confused on the time(the alarm clock i had with me is very easy to mess up the time when setting the alarm and when it read 10:40PM i thought it was really 10:40AM and i was panicking thinking i was going to miss my train back to Chicago.) they were very helpful and re-instated my reservation. When i had more problems with the door key(i went up and down in the elevator at least 5 times trying to get the card to work) they did not complain or anything. they ended up putting me in a different room(this was after i checked out by accident) for the rest of the stay. i would highly recommend this place. i did not try the cafe so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank railfanMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

Upon arrival at the hotel, the banner outside proudly boasts of this hotel's boutique status, as does the website.
Obviously the US and UK take on 'boutique' differs.
In this instance, the kitsch factor is staying in a dormitory-type room in which you could not swing a cat. The YWCA logo is still on the building, this should not be ignored when looking for a comfort-factor rating.
In my book, boutique would offer me more than lino floors, tiny bed, a jumbo jet in the wall mascerading as the a/c and a two inch gap between the bottom of the door to the floor. And just to add to the fun, a bunch of party-goers returning at 2am shouting and screaming.. nice.
If this had been the UK I would have asked for my money back.
This was supposed to be a special holiday for my girlfriends 40th, and whilst it didn't ruin the holiday it put a good dent in it.
I could live with the lack of service, and the joke of a cafeteria but the standard of the rooms were diabolical. I must say in the housekeeping's defence though, it is very clean.
I'm not a professional critic, or overly picky; we left Boston for NYC and the hotel there was fantastic, and cheaper..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkyRedLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing