We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay at”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great place to stay at”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent close to Back Bay train station (to where I arrived), the T station (public transport), and the surroundings of the hotel are very spectacular with Hancock Tower right next to it and with a pretty street view all around. Some other parts of the city like Copley Square are within walking distance.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was on the 6th floor with a nice view onto the street, and it was spacious. The bed was comfortable and everything clean. I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gastro76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Gasto76,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Our location is perfect, just a brief walk from Back Bay Train Station and T stop. There are many shops and restaurants just steps away. Our building is located directly across the street from the beautiful glass John Hancock Tower - a great landmark visible throughout the city! Our staff is outstanding, they take great pride in their work and it shows, I am thrilled that you agree. The front desk team is extremely friendly and very knowledgeable of the city. The housekeeping team works very hard to ensure cleanliness of our rooms.

We hope to see you the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    843
    318
    117
    70
See reviews for
367
809
211
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the first stop of our honeymoon and on first glance the hotel seems ok but my husband did not sleep a wink due to the noisy air vent outside our room. We were moved rooms with minimal fuss though. The second and third nights were ok but the hotel does not have any facilities and is just a room with a vending machine. Would have been nice to be able to order room service or wine. Personally would not recommend and it is only the service which stopped this being 2*

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HermioneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear HermioneB,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140 and Congratulations to you both! We are a limited service property that does not have Room Service. However, Viga Restaurant is located in our lobby serving breakfast, lunch and dinner which can be either eaten in the restaurant or prepared to go to be taken to your room. I am happy to hear that you we were able to move you to another room per your request because of a noisy air vent. Our staff is very accommodating and guest service is a priority.

I do hope that you are able to stay with us again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We choose the most afordable 4* hotel in the back Bay area. And it was worthed. Location is great. A walking distance from attractions, good restaurants, and afordable parking. You can expect exactly what you see on the photos of their web site. Rooms are not spacious but they are clean and quiet, bed confortable. Staff extremely kind.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frommontrealglobetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Frommontrealglobetr,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! Yes, our location is great! Situated in Back Bay, our property is just moments away from the Back Bay Train Station and T stops, shops, restaurants and many of Boston's most popular attractions. Our rates are reasonable and our staff is outstanding. The rooms have very comfortable beds and are immaculate, I am thrilled that you agree!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I was really pleased with our stay at Hotel 140. The room was really large, well furnished and clean with lots of room for 2 double beds. We arrived in Boston about 10AM and the receptionist moved us to a room that was already made up. There was really quick free wifi, and all of the standard amenities. My other half was over the moon that the coffee in the room was starbucks which is a nice added extra.

The location is really good, about 5 minutes walk from the Prudential Centre, 2 mins walk to the subway station and a really nice 15-20 minute walk through Boston common to Faneuil Hall.

The staff are really friendly and professional. As this was our last stop before flying back the hotel were more than happy to store our luggage until we were ready to leave for the airport.

I would have given this hotel 5 stars if they offered a free breakfast & room safe. There is a pizza restaurant on the floor but we didn't fancy this for breakfast and we found it closes quite early in the evening.

Overall if we came back to Boston, i would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Paul1005,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your room, coffee amenities and staff! We are located in a perfect location in the heart of Back Bay. Just steps away from Back Bay Train Station and T stops, restaurants and shops. We offer complimentary luggage storage prior to and post check out so our guests can enjoy Boston without carrying luggage around. Viga Restaurant is located in our lobby serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. They serve fresh, fast and delicious food!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2014

For the money, this hotel was excellent. The staff was exetremely friendly and helpful. Copley Square and the train station was right around the corner. Could not have asked for a better place to stay. Thanks!

Room Tip: Best value for the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny4775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Jenny4775,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Our staff is very friendly and always helpful. Customer service is a top priority! We are in a great location, just steps away from Copley Square, Back Bay Train Station, shops and restaurants.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

After booking our stay we read some reviews on the Hotel 140, yes backwards, most people would have read the reviews before booking, but after our stay with worry about some negative reviews being read we were very pleased with our experience. The rooms were very clean and the staff was outstanding. We will choose that hotel on any future stays.

Room Tip: Rooms on front have an outstanding view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Jeff C,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Our rooms are immaculate. The housekeeping team works very hard to ensure cleanliness and the front desk team is focused on guest service. They are also very knowledgeable about the city.

We hope to see you the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The people at this hotel were extremely kind and helpful. The rooms were neat and clean albeit a bit small. We were hoping for a view but did not get one. The location was perfect- nestled between Back Bay and Copley Square.There is a wonderful Mexican restaurant just down the street and around a corner with a fun kids' playground just across from it. I definitely look forward to saying there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathiJBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear KathiJBurke,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel with your family. The hotel is in a perfect location in Back Bay, close to many shops, restaurants and just steps away from Back Bay Train Station. There are many things to see and do in the immediate area, Our building is historic and our rooms are a little smaller than some of the other properties in Boston, which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates. The rooms vary in location within the building, allowing different views of Back Bay.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing