We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice building and location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #49 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice building and location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is in a really nice location. Everything us very walkable and the surrounding neighborhood is very pretty and nice. Lots of shops, restaurants and bars. Great breakfast place across the street. We needed to pick up a car at Hertz after our stay and this was just a few blocks on foot.
The building is pretty and has character. I really appreciated that. Our room was kind of small for an American hotel room and we had a lot of luggage. One side of the bed was against the wall. Room was clean. Housekeeping was very friendly (we saw them on several occasions and they always greeted us with enthusiasm). Front desk personnel was very friendly as well.
I wish our room had a better view. Now we overlooked a big parking garage. Everything was quiet though.
Only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars, is the price. Boston hotels are expensive. Hotel 140 was one of the best deals I could get, but still this was much more expensive then our hotel in Manhattan a week later. I would definitely pick this hotel again when in Boston though.

Room Tip: We were high and on the rear side. The view was bad because there's a parking garage, but becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Yamsterdam,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Our building is Historic and has great character, each room is unique with different views of the city. The rooms are a little bit smaller than some of the other properties in Boston, which is the reason we are able to offer more reasonable rates in Boston. Our rooms are very quiet, I am happy that you agree! We are in a great location situated in the heart of Back Bay. We are close to shops, restaurants, Back Bay Train Station and subway stops. Our associates are dedicated to great customer service. They go above and beyond to make each one of our guests feel welcomed.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    701
    261
    91
    60
See reviews for
295
665
183
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is located just next to the Copley Place (airport bus going stops there) and the Public Park and Boston Common are in the walking distance. Since I was on a congress, I appreciated the walking distance from the Hynes Convention Center. The room was big including bathroom and shower. There is also coffeemaker, refrigerator and microwave oven available in the room. The staff was very kind and helpful, but I was surprised that my room was cleaned up just the second day after my arrival and not for further 3 nights. The price was quite high but still low comparing to other possibilities in that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LudekH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The location can't be beat. Hotel room is on the small side but the queen sized room is definitely big enough for 2 people. Very clean (and I'm very picky about cleaning), comfortable bed and surprisingly quiet room. On the down side, the air conditioning is quite finicky (at least in my room) and I was either freezing or hot without changing the temp of he A/C. All in all, though, definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kukiyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear kukiyot,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are in a fantastic location in Back Bay. Our rooms a smaller than some other properties in the area which is the reason we are able to offer a more reasonable rate. We do have different types of rooms available as well. Our Housekeeping Team is immaculate and they work very hard to ensure cleanliness of our rooms! Our air conditioning units are maintained on a regular basis and our staff is always available to assist with temperature control as well.

We hope to see you again when you return to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location is what makes this hotel. The room itself was probably 3 star but was fit for purpose & clean. Bed was quite small but fine. There was wifi in the room & our room was quiet.

The air con wasn't great & the room got stuffy but this would be an issue if the outside temps weren't as high. I would stay here again because of the location but would not recommend if you are looking for a luxurious stay. We are at Flour opposite guck was amazing for breakfast & cakes & salads & sandwiches!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mezgaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mezgaski,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! We are in a perfect location and I am thrilled to hear that you agree! Our rooms are smaller than some surrounding properties which is the reason we are able to offer a more reasonable rate for Back Bay. We do offer a variety of room types from Full size to King size beds. Complimentary WIFI is offered in our rooms and lobby. We have been experiencing very warm temperatures recently which may have caused the room to be a little warmer than preferred.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed three nights with my husband while sight-seeing in Boston. Perfectly central location, friendly and attentive staff, super clean and comfortable rooms with all the standard amenities. Our room on the eighth floor was on the small side and I could occasionally hear folks in the hallway or adjacent rooms, but it did not usually disrupt my sleep. It's a little expensive for the basics, but all in all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bloodshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear bloodshot,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are situated in the heart of Back Bay, a perfect location to access all of the main Boston attractions! Our staff is very friendly and takes great care of all our guests. Our Housekeeping Team works very hard to ensure our rooms are immaculate. Our building is Historic making our guest rooms smaller than other properties in the area. This allows us to offer a more reasonable rate than surrounding hotels. The rooms are very quiet, most of our guests comment on how well they sleep here!

We hope to see you on your next trio to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here in June ( we are just back from a long trip ) and we were delighted with the location of this hotel. It was near to transport, restaurants and shops. The rooms are slightly on the small side but are functional, clean and comfortable. The staff ( especially "Michael" ) were very helpful and were always around so that we could ask questions about places to see and restaurants to visit. I could certainly recommend this hotel just for its location. There was a separate restaurant/cafe in the building which provided breakfast and meals throughout the day until 7pm .

Room Tip: As the rooms are a little on the small side perhaps "older people" who have to get up thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear CarolineK12345,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Boston! Our building is historic and our rooms are a little smaller than others in the area. We are able to offer more reasonable rates than the other properties in Back Bay. Our Housekeeping Team works very hard to clean our rooms, they take their jobs very seriously and it shows! Our Front Desk Team, including Michael, are very knowledgeable of Boston and truly enjoy making our guests feel welcome! Viga Restaurant in located in our lobby serving Fresh, Fast, Delicious Food daily! We are in a prime location as well. Close to shops, restaurants and public transportation, which makes it very convenient for our guests to enjoy the area!

We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at Hotel 140 for 6 nights in June.
I had a fantastic stay. The staff was so polite and nice and did everything to make our visit to Boston wonderful.
The room size was nice but the bed was a bit small for two people that needed to share (mother and daughter) but it did not ruin our stay.
The location is fantastic, short walks to fantastic shopping and restaurants. The Orange line is just around the corner and the green line is just a little further in another direction.
I felt very safe walking the street at night because they are full of other people.
Next to the hotel there is a little restaurant where you can walk into from the hotel. There you can get breakfast and lunch, closes a bit early or 7 pm.
At the end of our stay when checking out, I did ask if the hotel was still a part of YMCA and they said that YMCA owns the building and a part of their profits goes toward the organisation. That made me happy.
I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Boston

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esterbva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Esterbva,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! I am excited that you enjoyed your stay with your Mother for a week with us! We are in a great location with close access to many shops and restaurants. Back Bay is a safe area with so much to do! Viga Restaurant in located in our lobby and they offer fresh, fast delicious food, open 7am-7pm Monday through Friday and 7am-2pm Saturday and Sunday. Our building is historic, rich in history and was built originally for the YWCA.

We hope that you visit us again the next time you come to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#50 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#62 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#29 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,442 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing