We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“AN OUTSTANDING VALUE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #47 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AN OUTSTANDING VALUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just stayed at the Hotel 140. We had a wonderful, newly redecorated room and attended an extraordinary play at the Lyric Stage Theater, a real treat in itself. (Ask for the package.) There are excellent restaurants nearby and very convenient parking. We had a whole weekend at our fingertips . . . all at a very affordable price. And . . . the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating! In summary, an outstanding value!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have been recently renovated and special packages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TadC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    684
    250
    89
    58
See reviews for
283
641
182
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel looks nice, however the 'hotel rooms' only occupy the top few floors of the building, The rest of the building is let as single occupancy rooms. If you book a room at the hotel 140 and they don't have enough 'hotel rooms', you get an SOR room.

We got put in one of these SOR rooms. The hotel didn't tell us this when we checked in and frankly the SOR rooms look ok, basic, but ok - I've stayed in many places around the world so I'm not that picky.

The problem happened when I went to bed. After about 90 minutes in bed my husband noticed that there were bugs crawling all over the place. We had a bed bug infestation about 5 years ago and knew exactly what they were and that we had to leave straight away and wrap all of our belongings in plastic. If you take bedbugs with you, it becomes a nightmare.

We got moved to another hotel, the staff were great in assisting us at 1am, when we got to the hotel it was clear that some had hitched a ride and we had to wash everything and package up all soft objects. I had nearly 30 bites on me from 90 minutes in the bed, which means quite a bad infestation - usually bed bugs come out in the early hours of the morning.

We went back the next day and spoke to the manager who was sympathetic- I do know that bedbugs can be found in 5 star hotels, but it was disappointing to be told at that point we were not in one of the hotel rooms advertised online but an SOR room. The attitude was also quite dismissive when I mentioned bedbugs and showed the bites and pictures of the bugs.

We then spent the rest of our holiday in and out of a laudromat, incurring charges for washing but also other materials such as plastic bags for clothing, not to mention serious discomfort due to the amount of bites I had.

Since then, we've had no contact from the hotel about the incident, despite sending emails to the managers querying what the outcome was about the pest control investigation. I'm not necessarily looking for compensation, but to be treated this way is pretty appalling. I won't post the pictures of the bugs on the bed or the picture of the bites on my neck and arms, which clearly show groupings of bites.

It's a shame, but if the hotel had taken this a bit more seriously when it came to communicating with us rather than being dismissive, I wouldn't have written this review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Orchid032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hotel 140 maintains an aggressive and stringent protocol for treating any such situations that arise. When you spoke with the manager, the history of your room was immediately researched. This showed that your room had recently been inspected and cleared by a separate 3rd party company prior to your arrival. This room was also treated again after your departure to ensure that anything that may have traveled in was aggressively removed. We do understand that international travel can often contribute to this situation and wanted to ensure that ALL protocol was quickly followed to ensure the stringent standards that Hotel 140 is so proud of. In conversing with the property management team, I know it was repeatedly communicated to you and your husband how seriously we take such a situation. The front desk generously comped your room and paid for your next night at the Westin Hotel.

The property has emailed you twice to follow up, but clearly we are running into some complications. We also emailed you through TripAdvisor and look forward to doing whatever we can to help you feel an amenable conclusion to this matter has been reached. We are so sorry about any lag in communication, but are delighted that we have now been able to contact you and anxiously await your response.

Finally, to clarify for our guests coming to visit, Hotel 140 occupies numerous floors at 140 Clarendon. Hotel rooms occupy seven different designated floors. There are also businesses, an award winning theater, and residences on the other floors. Hotel rooms are rarely intermingled with residential rooms (although this did occur in years gone by, on occasion). If this happens as an error, immediate action is taken to correct the error, and corrective action takes place. We take great pride in our Hotel rooms and the work that goes into maintaining them and upgrading them. We strive for all of our guests to have the best experience possible while staying in our newly upgraded rooms.

We do hope that the next time you travel internationally to Boston; you consider giving us the chance to rectify your experience. We sincerely look forward to hearing back from you via the personal email provided to you separately so as to remedy any misunderstanding. While mistakes can occur at any time in any industry, we are extremely proud of our building and our compassionate follow-through with our guests.

Kindly,
Hotel 140 Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel 140 is a clean, comfortable, well apointed hotel in an excellent location.
It is right in the heart of two of Boston's most desirable neighborhoods Back Bay and Beakon Hill.
The staff is alsofriendly and accomodating.

This hotel could easily add $50 to $100 to their room prices but thankfully they keep them priced at a very affordable rate.

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Say S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This quiet hotel offers a super friendly staff and all the comforts of home. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the city. The staff was most acommodating and even the Cab driver they called for us was delightful. We'll be back! Great Boston value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel 140 is wonderful. The staff is very friendly They go above and beyond for their guests.
Excellent attention to detail, very clean no noise able to sleep after an awfully long flight.
The view is amazing and it's so close to everything most places we wanted to go and eat were literally every reustaran was withing walking distance

Room Tip: When you take a cab to the hotel tell them that you want to go to the YWCA. Apparently The cabies ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyHollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'm from Boston. I've lived and went to college here. I've stayed at virtually every hotel in the city. That being said, I checked in and out of Hotel 140 three times within one week due to my outbound plans being effed. Each time was easy and quick. Staff was great. They even checked me in the second time on faith (meaning, I didn't have a credit card or cash on me).

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CEE60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel is rather expensive for what you get. A basic dorm room. The front desk is helpful and the location is good. If you are in a bind and need a decent room in downtown boston, hotel 140 is okay pick. Definately not the Hilton or Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#53 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#62 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#30 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#46 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing