We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Feels like a dorm room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 140 to your Saves list
Hotel 140
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Rye Brook, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Feels like a dorm room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel is rather expensive for what you get. A basic dorm room. The front desk is helpful and the location is good. If you are in a bind and need a decent room in downtown boston, hotel 140 is okay pick. Definately not the Hilton or Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    681
    248
    88
    57
See reviews for
281
638
181
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Most hotels in the Back bay area of Boston are significantly more expensive than Hotel 140. The staff were pleasant, polite and incredibly helpful. Having said that the hotel did not feel particularly "safe" to me - there were several people hanging around by the mailboxes near the back entrance and - to be honest - the entry really does not feel like you are in a hotel at all.

I stayed up a "superior" queen room which was ok. Nothing spectacular but it was clean. The main criticism is the layout of the room - there were no plug sockets near the desk or nightstand, which meant my phone had to be at the foot of the bed so I could charge it, and working at the desk was impossible when I needed to charge my laptop.

Overall it is basic accommodation which is fine if you are on a tight budget but want to be in that area of Boston. Next time, I'll probably pay a little more and stay somewhere just a little nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Best thing about this place is the location in the Back Bay. It's right next to Amtrak and the T, as well as the cute restaurants and bars in the South End.

Everything else about Hotel 140 was comically clumsy. At first we were given a room that was under construction - door ajar, electric panel open, power tools on the floor. The room also had two full beds, even though we were clearly a couple. The staff was apologetic about it, and got us a new room with a king-sized bed - but that room only had one towel in it. I'd never seen a hotel room with only one towel before in my life! It's like they were trying to get a bad review. When we told the front desk about it, on our way out, he yelled to us as we were walking out the door and handed us one towel, even though we clearly had our coats on. "Can you put it in my room for me?" I asked. You know, like a hotel?

In general, there always seemed to be some sort of commotion happening behind the front desk - confused employees arguing about hotel protocol in front of guests , etc. Perfectly nice people, but not very professional. Funny this is I guess I'd still stay here because the price was right and so was the neighborhood. Personally, I can ignore cardboard boxes left in the hallways (for example) for a good deal - but can you?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flameatomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Flame Atomic,

I am sorry to hear about your experience at Hotel 140. Clearly, we strive to execute polished, warm and professional service and it sounds as if you had quite a different experience. I would like to reach out to you personally if you don't mind to get some more details about your experience so that we may ensure 100% excellence in our service and product. Thank you for your candor. I sincerely hope you have a moment to respond to the personal message I am sending you separately.

Warm Regards,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel 140 is an interesting place because the building houses the hotel, apartments, and a YWCA (the original purpose of the building long ago, I believe). But this is a great place to stay if you are in the Back Bay area. It's convenient to the Convention Center, to the Prudential Center, the mall there, and Fenway Park and other locations are very close. The room was small but clean and comfortable (nice bedding, flat-screen tv, desk, etc). The bathrooms are small (stand-up shower), but very clean and more than adequate. It was better than I expected, having read some previous reviews. If you want luxury, then go down the street to the Sheraton or the Marriot. I often stay at those places for conferences I attend in my field. But this was a good deal for the price and as convenient as those hotels for substantially less money. A great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel 140 for the location to the restaurant that we got engaged at, and will keep coming back because of the staff as well as the location. The people who work here couldn't be nicer and more kind. The location and price put you just where you want to be in Boston for a reasonable price. There is a vibrancy that comes with the Lyric Theatre being located in the building, but it is the staff that really stands out. So nice. Thank you for a special weekend and stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsefton55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

When we got there, we were upgraded to a suite so I was pleased by the nice upgrade. On coming to the room it had your basic ammenities but I had to call in for an iron and there were no robes provided. There was a small kitchen, living room and a separate bedroom with adjoining bathroom. The bathroom was pretty small so it was hard to move around with two people. The concierge was very nice and helpful if you ask for directions or suggestions for things to do nearby!! We only stayed there for two nights but if we were there longer, I would have picked a place with better quality room. It looked like an old lady's apartment that tried to look modern. The paint on the doors looked like it was painted and chipped too many times. Also coming into the room there was a humidifier on the floor. I liked the location and people at the front desk but as as a hotel room I was not impressed.

If you are looking for one night then it is okay but that's about it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ripejoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was my second time at hotel 140. The location is fantastic, the hotel is modern and clean, and the free wifi works well. I don't need any frills beyond that--except sleep. The walls are so thin I can understand what my neighbors are talking about. Not good at half past midnight. I will gladly pay a little more at another hotel with better wall insulation on my next trip to Boston. Too bad because everything else at this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We certainly take pride in the location and cleanliness of Hotel 140. Each room is different, therefore during your next visit we will be sure to offer you a quiet, corner room. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#50 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#63 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#31 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#47 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing