We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Port Hope, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel 140 is close to the airport; within walking distance to most attractions in Boston; clean; comfortable; and has efficient and helpful staff. I wish it had a restaurant for breakfast or even a bar to have a drink at the end of the day. The cost per night was a high, but I guess that is normal for Boston. I would have liked a dresser in the room and perhaps a shelf in the bathroom to put our toiletries. I loved that I could open the window and get fresh air into my room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfischl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    851
    326
    122
    71
See reviews for
371
822
213
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Hotel 140 in the heart of Boston's Back Bay for the final night of a 10 day trip through New England. We did have a rental car, and was at first concerned about the parking charge but found a public garage right next door with an evening rate of only $10 which was great. Also the Back Bay T Station was right next door to the hotel making it very easy to get around for a last night "on the town". As for the quality of the hotel- great, especially when taking the cost into consideration. Contemporary decor in a vintage former YWCA building. Front desk staff was friendly and polite and upgraded our room from a queen bed to a king at no additional charge. It was an accessible room- which some people may look down on- but not us- my husband appreciated the extra space!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ive been to Hotel 140 a few times and each time the service is exceptional. The staff is always very polite. I was even given a free upgrade!. The location is ideal. In the heart of Boston with plenty of transportation nearby. The rooms are lovely. And its the most comfortable bed ive slept on. I would def come back to this hotel. The prices are a little steep but I usually can find good deals on other sites. Great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Fritzie,

We are so happy you "love this place"! Your comments on the exceptional service and accommodating staff have been shared with our dedicated team. Many of our guests enjoy the location, room décor, and comfortable bed that you mentioned. Don't forget you can always get the lowest rate directly on our website or by calling the hotel.

We happily anticipate your next visit with us.

Warmly,
Emily Antonelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed two nights, and for the price I paid was quite disappointed:
- The room was small. Okay for one person but would be pretty cramped for two!
- No tub, tiny shower and bathroom.
- I could hear what my neighbour was saying...clearly. The halls are no better. The sound proofing was terrible. I realize it's an old building, but come on. The doors let a lot of light in, and aren't sealed at all. As with the walls, I could hear every word of people walking by.
- Pros = it is in good walking distance to some great parts of town, and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Hotel Representative at Hotel 140, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Victoria,

We are sorry to hear that you felt your room was too small. Our rooms here at Hotel 140, like many historic city properties, vary in size. While the rooms average more square footage than many Boston hotels, we recognize that we also want to make the best use of the space we have. This is one of the reasons we are continually renovating the guest rooms with more streamlined furniture and amenities, such as new desks, dressers, armoires, and flat screens. Each room is different and has its own personality and we seek the most space efficient furnishings for each specialty room. Our bathrooms are found by many guests to be clean and crisp and the stand-up shower actually provides more space for the room.

Thank you for your feedback. We want all of our guests to be delighted and we utilize your comments in this endeavor.
Sincerely,
Hotel 140 Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Right, here's the truth. If you want somewhere trendy, funky, luxurious, boutique, etc. then feel free to pay the $350 (and the rest) dollars for somewhere super cool in Boston. NORMALLY, this is what I want and I'll pay the cash. BUT, I knew that the room I wanted for this trip was JUST a room, a bed just a bed, a shower just a shower, and I was there because I wanted to be a stone's throw from Newbury Street for 2 nights. And I was.

The staff at the hotel are lovely. There's free wifi. There's no bar, cafe, restaurant or frills. But do you know what, it was cheap in comparison to the other options and was perfectly clean, perfectly fine and a brilliant, brilliant location. I measure city centre hotels by how close they are to an Eileen Fisher and this one was 4 minutes. Yup. Beat that you W's, Morgan's, Mr & Mrs Smiths.

Don't be put off by the bad reviews. But don't go with expectations that won't be met. But as you saunter to Newbury St for half the price of the other 'boutiques' in the area, remember where you can spend the dollars you've saved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloerfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We requested a room with 2 double beds, and although the room was small, the beds were double and very comfortable. The pillows were abundant and in excellent condition, as was the bedding. The room was clean and had a fridge and coffee maker. We liked the fact that we could open the windows about 4 inches to get fresh air. There were screens on the windows.
The shower was good, lots of hot water, and lots of newer, fluffy, white towels. The room cost us exactly what we were quoted and was available for us when we arrived about 1030 am on a Wed. We have travelled a fair amount and have never been given our room this early. The location was excellent. We either walked everywhere or took the hop on, hop off trolley. Lots of good restaurants within a 5 minute walk. I would recommend Rebeccas Cafe for a quick, but good brreakfast, anything from a bagel to a full breakfast. Flemings was our favourite for dinner, excellent beef tenderloin, with options for a smaller appetite. Their blue cheese stuffed olives and blue cheese mashed potatoes were superb. The staff was amazing. The staff at Hotel 140 recommended both of these places to us and also suggested great shopping areas, helped us get a taxi to the airport and were most accomodating. I would definitely book here again if I return to Boston. The only reason we did not rate it excellent is because there was no dresser to put clothing in and where one would hang clothing, was used for the refrigerator and night table.
We just lived out of our suitcases and didnt worry about it. The bathroom also lacked room for toilettries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were all shocked at the size of the room for 4 women, but we made the best of it. The room was clean and we had everything we needed. The staff was pleasant and always willing to help us find our way in the city. Great location, close to good restaurants and bars. I would definitely stay here again. The only reason I'm rating the room poor is because of its size, but if you don't plan to spend much time in the room...who cares? Get out and see the city!

Room Tip: If you need a lot of room to spread out, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonakJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
955 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#32 of 83 in Boston
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,756 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing