We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing seafood”
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
Ranked #13 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: North End
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

So we tried to eat here 3 times before we finally were able to get in. Line ups range from 1-2 hrs. Best time to go for minimal wait time is between 2-4. Fair prices and great helping sizes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,016
    316
    103
    33
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Lobster Roll”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Yes, everything people have been writing about the wait time is true. I suggest to place your name on the list hours before you want to dine if you are wanting to eat dinner there. We waited a little over 2 1/2 hours. You have to physically show up to the restaurant to place your name on the list, we were told that they didn't take reservations over the phone. They will call you on your cell phone when there is a table open.

The reason for the wait is that it is a small place - probably seating 30-35 people at a time. You have to share tables with other parties. We didn't mind although the place is cramped.
The food was very good. My husband had the oysters which he said was very fresh. We both had the hot lobster rolls (the other choice is the cold version with mayo). I was impressed with how much lobster we got. It was absolutely delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouzo601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Lobster Roll!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went for lunch at this restaurant on Monday. We arrived at around 12:15 and asked for a table for 4. They told us the wait would be about an hour. You give them your phone number and they call you when a table is ready. You cannot wait in the restaurant because it is so small. It only seats about 40 people. They called us in less then an hour. We had a table in the back, but it was a sharing table and there was 3 other random people sitting with us. It is fine, the restaurant is very charming and quaint. Service was fast. We ordered the cold lobster roll and mussels and spilt it between two. More then enough food. Lobster was delicious, so fresh. And the mussel broth was so tasty- they give you bread to dip and you can also use the fries from your lobster roll. All in all was very delicious and would defiantly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FreedomTraveller1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing Johnnycake!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were recommended to go to Neptune Oyster from people before we even went to Boston. We thought we had to try it so we put our name on the list with a 45 minute wait. We just walked around Little Italy and went for a drink until we got the call from the restaurant. It is amazing that they allow you to walk around and call instead of waiting in the street in front of the restaurant.

We started off with oysters which were very fresh and excellent. We ordered 4 different oysters with all different characteristics and you could definitely tell the difference. Oysters were excellent.

We moved to the most surprising of our meal in the Johnnycake with tartare. It was absolutely amazing from the flavour of the act johnnycake and the sauce it was in. The tartare had great flavour also and was just delightful. It was an incredible app which i would highly recommend!!!

For our mains, both very happy. My wife had the hot lobster roll which she thought was excellent, it was done with butter and had great flavour. It really let the lobster stand on it owns with some butter and a great roll for the flavour. That is the way a lobster roll should be! I enjoyed the Scallops with duck which were just delicious.

I would go back in a heart beat to eat the meal again. Prices are right in line with a high quality seafood joint. It was well recommended and well liked!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Devilsteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

First off it is not fair to complain about the wait. This is a super small and intimate restaurant. They make no excuses for the wait. It is what it is. We signed in with the hostess at about 6:30 on a Friday night. She quoted us 2 hours but took down our cell phone number so we were free to roam. We met up with some friends and chatted over a few drinks and were called when our table was ready. We were seated at the bar and had a fantastic server. We were a little tipsy at this point and were visiting Boston so we decided to make our first attempt at raw oysters. My husband and I both consider ourselves foodies so it was absolutely pathetic that we were oyster virgins! The bartender talked us through the different options and cheered us on. The oysters were quite delicious and we opted for a few more round. The lobster rolls were delicious. Go for the hot buttered option. It was heavenly!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggieandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing