We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long wait, few tables” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
Ranked #15 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North End
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Long wait, few tables”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

On a recent trip to Boston we had to make our usual stop at Neptune Oyster. The food is great there. A ton of oyster choices, and a hot lobster roll that is to die for. Go early, or expect at least an hour and a half wait. There is no place to wait there, so you will be outside, or told to leave and they will call you when they have a table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    968
    308
    98
    31
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
239 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“OYSTERS & WINE! BOOM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

WoW! We are happily spending a couple extra days in Boston as a result of the big storm! 3/4ths of a mile walk from our room we trudged for the most AMAZING oysters & lobster rolls! Not to mention the extensive wine list! What a treat! Go there when in Boston!

Helpful?
Thank Krups77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Where is the bartender?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Service was horrible. Very small place and there are not that many people to deal with; however, all of the staff was not working. They were just standing around chatting. It was unbelievable how long we had to wait for just a glass of water and then a glass of wine....FOREVER. Step up the pace people!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mcolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is possibly one of the WORST restaurants I've ever been to.
So overated, don't waste your time going here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JJ_EATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best seafood in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Heard this restaurant long time ago and finally got to taste it. Went there and was told have to wait an extra hour. They took down my name and phone and I left for Paul Revere's estate. I came in 40 minutes later and was able to get a seat (yeah here's the tip: don't wait until the full hour, always come in earlier and you'll probably able to find a seat). Ordered lobster roll with hot butter. So good. The lobster was very fresh and well cooked. The butter was melted into the bread. Totally loved it!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune Oyster also viewed

 

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing