We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Oyster Bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
Ranked #16 of 3,140 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North End
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Oyster Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The restaurant is nice, but very small. Come early or you'll have to wait outside. The Oyster/Seafood bar is amazing. We tried a variety of oysters plus some crab claws. Seafood was fresh and top notch.

My lobster roll was chewier than expected, but still OK. My boyfriend ordered the burger, and it was simply amazing. Don't count out the burgers!!

I would certainly return, but for the oysters and a glass of wine instead.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    298
    97
    30
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Busy little restaurant with the best lobster roll I had in Boston!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lobster roll was simple and DELICIOUS! Good clam chowder although not amazing. Pretty crowded, but I would say worth the wait--walk around this fun North End neighborhood while you wait, and they'll call you when your table is ready!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WHSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Go to Neptune's hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is the best seafood restaurant I have ever been to, anywhere. The lobster roll is something you don't want to miss (on 3/1 it was $25.00) and the scallops were the best scallops I've ever had anywhere. ($33.00 on 3/1). I know that is pricey, but you get 3 huge sea scallops on a bed of some concoction that was delicious. My daughter had an oyster because this is what they are known for. They had about 20 different kinds. We had muscles in a delicious spicy (like a thai) sauce for an appetizer. Yes, this restaurant is small, crowded and has a very long wait. Don't let that stop you from putting your name on a list. If you love shellfish, you won't be sorry. People were ordering whole fish also. It's not our thing but I noticed very happy customers with whole fish around us. Although the restaurant is crowded, and the 3 of us were seated at the same table as another party, I didn't feel like we needed more room. And I didn't feel like we had to socialize with them. This dinner was perfect.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oyster Bar the way it should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon Neptune this afternoon. The choice and quality of oysters was amazing. As far as the lobster roll goes, i´m still drooling just thinking about it, absolutely fantastic!

Highly recommend it, great food, staff and atmosphere. Will be back in a heart beat!

Helpful?
Thank SimonK43
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a very small but quaint restaurant in the North End. You are very lucky if you get in on the first attempt! It is always packed with an hour long wait, and they don't take reservations. Best time to go is early afternoon, they usually close the wait-list around 8-9 pm. The raw bar is amazing! Great selection and very fresh. The lobster rolls are fantastic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anunia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune Oyster also viewed

 

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing