We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
Ranked #11 of 3,229 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: North End
2 reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Had clam chowder to start. Was flavorful but runny, I personally prefer thicker chowder. Got lobster roll hot with butter. Delicious! Fries were goos, too! Pricy lobster roll at 25 dollars, but worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,038
    322
    104
    33
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Finally some awesome oysters”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

FINALLY!!! We have tried at least a half dozen times to get into Neptune's either for lunch or dinner. Usually the wait has been at least an hour and sometimes Two!! We generally do not care to wait that long when we are hungry. Just happened to be a blustery and wet Thursday when I stopped by for lunch. Surprise! really quiet nowhere near full and got right in. Lunch was GREAT. This is a fantastic oyster bar. Although they are known for the "best lobster roll in Boston" GO FOR THE OYSTERS!!! I started with a half dozen (3 Wellfleet & 3 East Beach Blonde) they were out of this world... some of the best I have ever had. Also a difficult decision was the beer. They had Geary's which is a Maine beer & one of my favorites - but I was in Massachusetts so went with the Whales Tale (Nantucket brewery). I followed up the oysters with a "hot" lobster roll; lobster dipped in butter on a toasted roll. You can't even pick up the roll until you eat away at some of the large chunks of lobster claw & tail. It came with enough fries for three!! Neptune's is a bit pricy The lobster roll was good; but at $25.00 a bit more than it should be... there are many good places where you can get a very lobster good roll for $15.00 or less - might not win Best of Boston, but real good and you save $10,00. I could have easily spent that $25.00 on MORE OYSTERS

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Life-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Neptunes on Piggyback is the best appetizer on the planet”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Get there early - put your name on the wait list and head down the street for shopping and browsing... prepare yourself for Boston's best hot lobster roll and fried oysters on toast appetizer (Neptunes on Piggyback)... get a few of your favorite oysters on the half shell... Enjoy... best place in Boston - worth the wait... don't go with a group of more than 4 though, you'll never get in...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BChaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lobster rolls..My mouth is watering.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you want a lobster roll or fresh oysters, come here! They offer both a warm and a cold version. My wife and I both opted for the warm with lots of butter. We should have, in hindsight ordered one of each and split them.The cold one has mayo mixed with the meat. Lobster falling out of the bun! Pricey but worth it. I also had a platter of a dozen mixed oysters. Very good quality and nice description of the different types. Again, this is not a cheap place. Bring your wallet and splurge! Expect to wait a while but the staff kicks butt here and have the system down..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bcpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New England oysters”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had heard great things about this place an was not disappointed. The oysters were very good and there was a large selection of different types. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the place was packed, its not that large, but they took my cell number and called me when a spot was ready. It was a loud close quarters kind of place, typical oyster bar, not a real sit down dinning experience so if that is what you are looking for I would try someplace else.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank K Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune Oyster also viewed

 

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing