We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of food”

Mr. Dooley's Boston Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr. Dooley's Boston Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 3,185 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Soups, American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Brookly, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Utilized take out service. Just as much food as if you were served as a sit down diner. Good taste. The prices were just a bit high given that it is a pub.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank heidionebraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    127
    37
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This pub is a true to life pub experience. Anyone seeking authentic pub drink, food and atmosphere will not be disappointed. The staff here are fantastic. Everyone from the door staff to the waitresses and bartenders were great. Believe it or not, this place was our first stop this year because of the great food (we had the Irish breakfast) and people that congregate there. The live entertainment was awesome (Tommy and Alan...thanks for a great show). Every time we are in Boston, this place is a "MUST".

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
210 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Friendly and warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here while spending a chilly day in the area. It's an Irish pub with a nice atmosphere and short to the point drink menu which I appreciate. It was a fine place to warm up and visit with the locals. Enjoyed it.

Helpful?
Thank Loomin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had breakfast here before heading down to Southie for the St. Patrick's Day parade. In my opinion, it is the quintessential Irish pub. Most of the staff were Irish and it was great to talk to them. We both ordered the "Half Irish Breakfast," and it was absolutely phenomenal! The white pudding and sausage were particularly flavorful and delicious. The Irish brown bread, baked beans, and fried potatoes were outstanding. I rarely eat scrambled eggs, but even those were solid. The place was relatively quiet at breakfast but I imagine it would be hopping come nightfall. Whenever you come, you're sure to have a great Irish meal and a heaping dose of hospitality!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaTourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
211 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Irish pub with music too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is much closer to what I would consider an Irish Pub. There are no TVs here and there were two guys singing songs, some of which were Irish. They do have a short but interesting selection of beers on tap. After tasting a different stout I opted for a Guinness. Potato skin appetizer was tasty and filling. The burger was good and much better than what I had in Ireland. The Irish sampler had three dishes - beef stew, Shepard's pie and cottage pie - all of which were good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cityglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Dooley's Boston Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Dooley's Boston Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing