We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boston sports bar atmosphere....so I hear”
Review of The Fours

The Fours
Ranked #101 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
539 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great Boston sports bar atmosphere....so I hear”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stopped into The Fours over the holidays to watch the Celtics play Golden State and have a few beers in a good, potentially rowdy sports bar environment. After walking down the street past the other bars and seeing them all completely dead with 5 people or less in each place, I was concerned. However, I figured The Fours would be different. And it was different....but it was also completely dead. This is obviously not the fault of the bar, and I am still completely at a loss as to why an entire row of bars in a central city area would be dead at 10:30pm on a Saturday night, though admittedly it was snowing pretty hard that night. However, what I will blame them for is being a Boston sports bar, with signed jerseys and paraphernalia everywhere indicating their dedication to Boston sports, yet not even having the sound on during the Celtics game, despite the fact there was literally nothing else on aside from some low level college bowl games. So why give it 4 stars you ask? Honestly, because I am hoping, really hoping that I just tried it on the wrong night and that my next time will be better. The service was pretty decent, prices ok and the atmosphere of this place was dying to be a quality Boston sports viewing experience. Hopefully next time it will be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    107
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Really enjoyed my burger at The Fours. Nice, friendly atmosphere. It was not a game night, so it was quiet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go early on game night”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

good food, fun atmospher, neat sports bar...but go early if you want to sit down and eat on a game night.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rubymrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food; decent prices.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The sandwiches here are very good; the fries were served hot and fresh. Service was okay; it was really busy when we went and we had to wait about 20 minutes for table; the waitress, while not too attentive, was friendly. Lots of TVs with sporting events on. This is also a bar so expect that it will be noisy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HIguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The King of Sports Bars...”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I really like the Fours and eat there at least once a week. It's a great sports bar so the menu has your typical bar food choices, plenty of TVs to watch whether you are sitting at the bar or at a table, and bartenders that treat you like they enjoy working there and value your business, which is nice. We always sit at the bar and have gotten excellent service from Ian & Jen, and Patrick (the Manager) is always great. We notice and appreciate that they really want us to enjoy it enough so we'll keep coming back. They buffalo wings, NY Strip, steak tips, chicken parm are delicious but everything i've seen looks good. The atmosphere is that of a true sports bar with signed and unsigned memorabilia hanging on every inch of wall-space possible. I rarely sit at a table but when i have the service has been very good as well. This is a sports bar that has high-standards and cares about the experience you have when you go there.
Whether you're passing through to kill time before your train arrives, looking for a place to have some drinks and a bite to eat before the concert or game, or live close by and looking for another dining option, you will love it here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crb617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing