We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pastry in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Modern Pastry Shop

Modern Pastry Shop
Ranked #3 of 95 Dessert in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North End
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Pastry in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is THE place to go for top quality, reasonably priced Italian Pastry. Casual, friendly and worth waiting in line. It moves fast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    962
    375
    93
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
210 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Pastries at Modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We tried Modern Pastry a couple of times while staying around the corner in the North End. I really like the cannoli. They fill them when you order them. They are so fresh. The first time we got some things to take back to the apartment. When I saw the Carrot Cake I had to buy it. We also tried something covered with chocolate that they said would taste like a Snickers bar. Both were wonderful. Our last morning in Boston I awoke early and was the first customer when they opened at 6 a.m. I ordered Cappuccino and a traditional ricotta filled cannoli and grabbed a table and ate there. It was fun watching the locals come by for breakfast. It was a great way to spend my last morning in the North End ... until the next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Pastry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is the only pastry shop to go to in the North End, it is worth waiting in line for. Skip the tourist trap(Mikes Pastry) across the street and wait in line for a little taste of heaven. The sweets at Modern Pastry are the best......true Italian pastry that you remember you won't be disappointed and forget your diet.......go all out when visiting Modern Pastry.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingForDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Search no farther for the best dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Looking to eat light or A good dessert with some coffee?? This is the right place for you. I am a regular at this place and have been for a while now i love everything but my favorite is the tiramisu. I don't know and probably will never know how they perform this miracle

Helpful?
Thank Johnsoon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Modern Pastry No. End Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

It is no secret that this gem is the preferred spot of North
End locals and diners...after a great meal at any of areas restaurants..walk around and end the night with freshest made cannolis or other delight...sit in and eat with an expresso,,,or walk and eat ..Bring home to relive the experience...don't miss if in area

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Modern Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing