We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Line ups for Cannoli”
Review of Modern Pastry Shop

Modern Pastry Shop
Ranked #3 of 98 Dessert in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: North End
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Line ups for Cannoli”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have never witnessed 100 people lined up for dessert but this happened on Saturday and Sunday night. We saw people walking around with their cannoli boxes all over Boston clutching them like treasure! Must see

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pentepedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,038
    388
    97
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST....”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

There are many Italian pastry shops in the North End of Boston, but IMHO, Modern Pastry is the best! A large, ever changing variety of goodies, that are all outstanding. The cookies are the BEST any where, while the traditional Italian specialties are top notch. I have visited Modern Pastry on several occasions and I have ordered items that were delivered to our home outside the state. The food is always outstanding!
If you are ever in Boston, make it a point to visit Modern Pastry! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing desserts! Worth the wait!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a busy Saturday evening. We waited in line for about 20 minutes. I got a white chocolate truffle and a slice of the carrot cake. My husband got a black and white cookie. Everything was delicious but my husband would have like less frosting on his cookie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abesbabe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Level 6 Contributor
682 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Modern vs. Mike's”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have been in the Mike's camp for many years now and visit them whenever we are in town. Today while having dinner I asked our waiter whether he preferred Mike's or Modern. He said Modern and rattled off a few reasons for feeling the way he did. He was convincing enough that we decided to give it a try. Wife had Chocolate Cheesecake and said it was among the best she had ever had (gave it a 9). Granddaughter had the Red Velvet Cupcake and advised it was excellent (gave it an 8). I had a Key Lime tart. It was OK, gave it a 6. The filling was good but the crust tasted like it might have come from 7-11.
Summary: Modern is very good but Mike's is better on several levels. Mike's product is superior and the experience is far better. There is just something about the ambience at Mike's that makes me feel as though I've accomplished something when I walk out holding that famous blue and white box with the blue and white string
Winner - Mike's. let the debate continue!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tupelo010835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKLAHOMA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't miss cannoli!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We asked some of the locals we met on the common what bakery they thought had the best cannoli in town. They all to a person said Modern Pastry. They all agreed that Mike's is very good but the Modern is the best. I have got to agree.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KICKAPOORX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Modern Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing