We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What can you say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Pastry Shop

Modern Pastry Shop
Ranked #4 of 92 Dessert in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North End
Leawood, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What can you say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Best canoli's in the US. Period. And I grew up in an Italian neighborhood in NYC. Worth the wait in line. The other baked goods are fine as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    339
    88
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never had a bad experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I don't know why there are some bad reviews for this place. This is by far my favorite place to get Cannolis. They fill them to order and never skimp on the chocolate chips. I also love their torrone. The servers may be a bit curt, but it is always busy so I am understanding.

Definitely worth a visit!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not if i can help it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are willing to wait in line for twenty minute and have the staff keep overlooking you and dont bother to even acknowledge you ...yes this is the place to go to .Its no wonder the TIP jar seemed empty .If you are looking for a good experience stay AWAY.Off the main road there a lot of friendlier bakeries .Since the service experience ( or lack of it ) was terrible i have to rate the food and decor bad as overall the experience left a bad taste .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Modern is THE place for a cannoli!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I tried Modern Pastry one day and Mike's the next. In my opinion Modern is excellent and Mike's is "okay". Mike's has more fillings to choose from, but the cannoli's are all pre-filled and waiting for you to purchase in the case. Modern, on the other hand, filled my cannoli after ordering. This allowed me to ask if they would do a 1/2 chocolate and 1/2 whipped cream with almonds added ("no problem" they said). The shell was tasty and had just the right amount of flakiness. The 1/2 and 1/2 mixture was a perfect combo for me also. Mike's shell was thicker/firmer and not flakey at all and I didn't like the filling as much either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BirdieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Horrible at best, not worth the train ride and long walk over!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We tried the canoli's at modern bakery and they were nothing but tasteless cookies with pudding the middle. We tried the strawberry shortcake the Chico mousse and a few other things and everything tasted like it had no sugar and we ended up throwing everything away. Nothing beats American desserts at least they are sweet! Someone please explain what all the hype is about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chkinbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Modern Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing