We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Boston from the water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Ranked #7 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We rented the top floor room with three views of the harbor. Bed was very good. Very quiet. Can walk to the Quincy Market area. Easy to exit the city when your moving on.
Front office staff was very helpfull. We were going to take the GreenLline to get to the Red Sox game. She told us to get a cab. She was correct.

Best $400 room in town. Has internet sevice and terminal for the guest to use. We npow live in Key West but will stay here the next time we are in town

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 181 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is the place to stay when in Boston. It can't be better located to see the north end, the harbor, and the commercial district. In addition, it's smack on the water. You're surrounded by yachts bobbing in the waves. You're in an architecturally interesting building with lots of windows, large rooms, a great common area and views to die for! Top that off with staff that seem to truly care about you and your experience at the inn and beyond. We were treated like you expect to be treated in a five star hotel. But we also felt like it came naturally to the staff.
The water taxi delivered us to the hotel from the airport dock and the boats to Quincy and Hingham were just across the way.
We'll defnitely return to this unique jewel whenever we visit Boston.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbatrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This Place is Amazing!! Stayed there May 5th and 6th and could not have been happier!! The rooms are gorgeous, The Views are priceless, and the staff here are amazing! When I come back to Boston, This will be the first place I call, and Patti will be the first person I ask for. Patti is Awesome, and absolutely made our trip unforgettable!!

Room Tip: Loved the Balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blakeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I have stayed here on several occasions. This was the first time since it has been under new ownership. The staff, especially Patti, is the best! In this day and age it is refreshing to deal with someone that delivers quality service and communication. The view is spectacular. The rooms are spotless and nicely decorated. We were happy just sitting on our deck or outdoors. Will happily return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Boston Yacht Haven for our 15th Anniversary and were treated like royalty. Our corner room was unbeivable..King size bed, leather couch, fireplace and a balcony over looking the Boston Harbor. Everyone was very helpful and kind. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you for making this anniversary a special one!
Sincerely
Jarabek's

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I stayed in room 207. I can't speak for the other rooms, but my room had the following problems:

* The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've slept on in years. I could feel the springs press into my torso. Super bad.

* The place had one wall-attached light when you walk in. It was compact florescent and buzzed when on, so I turned it off. The other light sources are three or four lamps, but they have super low wattage bulbs so only 1/3 of the place is lit. Very hard to read a book, for example.

* The shower head made a loud noise when on and distributed water unequally.

Otherwise the room was more of less nice. There were some other mediocre things e.g. the window didn't have any curtains, only simple blinds, and the water was a bit too soft, but otherwise the room was not bad. It's pretty big and has nice furniture. A big TV though I didn't turn it on.



Good luck!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank adamsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

We wanted to take my Mom some place special for her 70th birthday...Boston is such a great city with so much to do and we were traveling with 12 people ages 12 to 72. I had found BYH online and it sounded perfect. It was!!! The rooms are huge and very clean...I highly recommend the corner rooms with the king size bed, a cozy fireplace and an amazing deck and view of Boston and the Yachts. The high beamed ceilings made the already large rooms feel so open. We had three rooms booked, 2 rooms had 2 queen size beds with a pull out queen sleeper that slept all 6 in my family ( which are myself, my husband and 4 boys ages 12, 16, 18 and 20) it had a nice view but no deck or balcony...my sisters family had the other room with the queen size beds and my parents had the Great King room with deck. Great room for her birthday! When making the reservations ask for Kevin...Kevin was so helpful with setting up our rooms for this special get-away celebration. (also, when you are there, ask Kevin about the history around the Yacht Haven and Boston...very interesting!) There was a light continental breakfast (just some small muffins and cinnamin rolls, juice and fruit) and nice selection of coffees. But there is so much to eat in Boston that we did not need much...although my 4 hungry boys did wipe out the muffins and rolls quickly! :-) The BYH is in the BEST area with everything within a short walking distance. Boston has so much to do and it is worth it to buy a trolly pass for the day and take a tour and stop at all the historical sights. You can get on and off as you wish all day until 5:00pm...great way to see Boston and learn the history and fun facts about the city. ( visit the Library..surprisingly interesting museum like! and good cafe with sandwiches and salads inside and a nice court yard to sit and eat outside in the center of the library building,) And we had a great lunch right at the corner up the driveway from BYH it was called "Boston Sail Loft" cafe and bar. The clam chowder was the Best we ever had! The owner Jamie was very nice and helped make our final meal in Boston one to remember. This was an exceptional visit and we will return to BYH...except next time my husband and I are coming back...no kids or parents and reserving the King corner room for ourselves!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Momof4boyoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 86 in Boston
1,994 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 86 in Boston
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#2 of 37 in Boston
558 reviews
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina

Address: 87 Commercial Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3800
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $281 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Boston's waterfront in the historic North End and steps from Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market, Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina is at the end of historic Commercial Wharf. Newly renovated, The Inn offers ten guest rooms distinguished by award winning architecture and unique nautical styling. Five rooms have private decks and 9 rooms have soaking tubs or shower/bathtub combination. Enjoy the peaceful environment and beautiful harbor views of Boston Yacht Haven - a place you will call "Your home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Yacht Haven Inn And Marina
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing