We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I go for the black and white bread pudding and Irish coffee”
Review of Black Rose

Black Rose
Ranked #51 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I go for the black and white bread pudding and Irish coffee”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Last year we were here and on our way to the aquarium.We had been walking awhile and the day was pretty chilly. We were looking for a place to go and get warm and coffee. This is the place! This year we have been back on several occasions. Twice I just had the black and white bread pudding and Irish coffee. They also have good food, and breakfast on the weekends, and you get a very large portion of food. I do recommend trying the place out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tabp1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    268
    87
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toano, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were staying right across the street, so we manage to eat dinner here twice. The first time was a little loud with the live music and singing, but the food was great. The second time there was a Bruins game on and no music, my Dad was thrilled. They offer some traditional Irish fare and regular food as well. Everything we ate there, both times, was great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty, but the service was lacking”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had the curry fries, Guinness and lamb with mashed potatoes. The food was delicious, but the service was neglectful. Too bad, it was my first time at a Boston Irish pub, and I didn't get the best impression.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank artbyhjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try the salmon”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

After spending much more at a popular seafood restaurant we found this Irish pub for dinner and the salmon was by far, the best we had. Truly Irish pub with lots of atmosphere, good food and friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank timeline123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good, but not memorable”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Small Irish pub with nice interior décor. Service was good, but not exceptional.....food was good, but again, not exceptional. Menu is consistent with most pubs and has a decent variety of items to choose from. May be a better spot to drop in for a pint rather than dinner. Overall experience was OK, but there are definitely better restaurants downtown.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garry42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing