We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky choice”
Review of The Boxer Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boxer Boston
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We chose this hotel solely on the basis of price through Expedia. It is a European "boutique" style hotel. The building is old, but the interior is nicely decorated-cozy. Our room was small, as expected. Space was used well. The bathroom was especially modern and convenient. Room and bath were very clean.
For us, by far, the most positive aspect of our stay was the staff. From checkin to check out, they were outstanding. The first night, we waited too long for a dinner reservation. The concierge made a call, got us a reservation and a cab. During dinner, we were provided a free appetizer, courtesy of the concierge. His name was Gabriel, and he "saved" our first night in town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

After an exhaustive search, as per usual, we thankfully chose to stay at the Boxer for 5 evenings last summer. Albeit the rooms were a little tight for a family of 4, they were nicely appointed and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and eager to please, which isn't always the case for smaller boutique styled hotels. For those with pets, looking for a convenient location to attend a hockey or basketball game and/or like to stay just outside the epicenter of tourist life in a larger urban center, this will more than satisfy your needs. Walking distance from the local arena, the Boston Market, the downtown core, the historic district and the local Whole Foods, the location allowed us to take in all the sights without relying on local transit and/or taxi services; of course, minus our treks to those areas closer to MIT and Harvard, which required us to utilize the subway system. There is no doubt that if and/or when I return to Boston, I wouldn't hesitate for a second to contact the Boxer and book another room...to all whom assisted us on our family vacation, thanks again and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: if you book a room online make sure you give the front desk a call before your visit so that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We selected The Boxer because of its central location and rates that were lower than comparable hotels in the area, and stayed for 4 nights. Many of the places we wanted to visit were within comfortable walking distance – these included boarding places for Upper Deck Trolley Tours (outside North Station) and Charles Riverboat Company (across the river at CambridgeSide Galleria).
Although the room was smaller than many places we have stayed, it was very comfortable for the two of us, and we had enough space. We were in a room on the 4th floor (Merrimac side) right next to the elevator, and enjoyed peace and quiet throughout our stay. Good in-room facilities, clean, and very good free internet service. The staff at reception, in the bar, and in the restaurant, were excellent – welcoming, friendly, and helpful. Sadly, they/we were let down by a person on the evening shift who failed to book our morning departure taxi.
We had breakfast twice in the Finch restaurant. Food was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good one night stay at the Boxer, a nice 2-mile walkabout to Fenway. But it's literally down the back from the Garden, for Celtic and Bruins fans. Very small hotel, along the lines of European style, very small. But they got a King bed in the nicely appointed room, tiny bath but it had a full tub and good hot shower. Very clean, well kept, and quiet hotel. Very nice people at Reception. Originally told by another "agency" I couldn't get in before 3, we got our key cards and room at 1230 when we showed up. Parking's STUPID in Boston, but that's not entirely the hotel's fault. But. So we'll go back again.

Room Tip: Stick with King beds on the Merrimac Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tleff2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked a last-minute trip to Boston during the height of the summer travel season, so many hotels were sold out, and most of what was available was over $350/night. We decided to try The Boxer because of reasonable rates (reasonable for Boston).
The hotel has some good points. Though the building is old, the inside is very modern and pleasant. The modern room décor works in the bathroom, which was bright, roomy, and clean and had a strong water flow in the shower. The location is perfect if you're catching a Celtics or Bruins game, as you're right around the corner from the stadium. It's a short walk to all the great restaurants of the North End, and is convenient if you're doing the Freedom Trail walk, as we did.
We knew the rooms would be small, but wow, our 2 double bed room was small! Here is where the modern décor doesn't work. Instead of a standard hotel closet or storage unit, there were 2 industrial-type metal shelving units. One was configured to allow for some clothes to hang and the other could sort of be used as a desk. The TV was hanging behind one of these units so a person watching from one of the beds had their view partially blocked by one of the unit's metal poles. It was hard for 3 people to move around and find a place for suitcases, but we didn't stay in the room except to sleep, so it wasn't a huge problem.
The staff was friendly but not always attentive. The wake up call we asked for did not happen. Fortunately our room alarm woke us (we weren't sure if we set it right so we asked for the call). We notified them of a spill by the entrance and a couple of hours later it was still there. We asked for them to call us a cab so we could get to the airport. We waited a long time and finally took the cab that someone else called but didn't show up for. I'm not sure if this was a cab or front desk issue, but considering our location I think we waited a long time for a cab.
We wouldn't choose The Boxer first if we come back to Boston, but we wouldn't overlook it if options were limited.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rainydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I found this very last minute and stayed in the smallest room they had because they were sold out - so glad I got in because it is an amazing and friendly place to stay. I prefer the smaller boutique style hotels where you can get ahold of a front desk person and have a conversation. The rooms are very clean, great bathroom and lighting. Bathroom lighting could be a little better, but the windows in my room really made it bright and open feeling. I had the full bed room - very small but the layout makes sense and I found it comforting and fun to stay in! The staff is amazing and so helpful - Warning! They sell out way in advance - so book early.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angieskinner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

a wonderful spot, nice customer service, can walk everywhere, clean, updated, quiet (ask for the 8th or 9th floor). No restaurants in the immediate area but can walk to little Italy or Fenlon square in less than 5 minutes. Lots of taxis and Uber comes right away. On metro line to airport, all in all, a very nice spot.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7-9th floor. I think corner rooms are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eugnie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#29 of 85 in Boston
1,475 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 85 in Boston
1,766 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boxer Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boxer Boston

Address: 107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $147 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boxer Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Boxer Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Bulfinch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing