We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel, great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boxer Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Boxer Boston
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We selected The Boxer because of its central location and rates that were lower than comparable hotels in the area, and stayed for 4 nights. Many of the places we wanted to visit were within comfortable walking distance – these included boarding places for Upper Deck Trolley Tours (outside North Station) and Charles Riverboat Company (across the river at CambridgeSide Galleria).
Although the room was smaller than many places we have stayed, it was very comfortable for the two of us, and we had enough space. We were in a room on the 4th floor (Merrimac side) right next to the elevator, and enjoyed peace and quiet throughout our stay. Good in-room facilities, clean, and very good free internet service. The staff at reception, in the bar, and in the restaurant, were excellent – welcoming, friendly, and helpful. Sadly, they/we were let down by a person on the evening shift who failed to book our morning departure taxi.
We had breakfast twice in the Finch restaurant. Food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    296
    74
    18
    11
See reviews for
171
423
46
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good one night stay at the Boxer, a nice 2-mile walkabout to Fenway. But it's literally down the back from the Garden, for Celtic and Bruins fans. Very small hotel, along the lines of European style, very small. But they got a King bed in the nicely appointed room, tiny bath but it had a full tub and good hot shower. Very clean, well kept, and quiet hotel. Very nice people at Reception. Originally told by another "agency" I couldn't get in before 3, we got our key cards and room at 1230 when we showed up. Parking's STUPID in Boston, but that's not entirely the hotel's fault. But. So we'll go back again.

Room Tip: Stick with King beds on the Merrimac Street side.
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard I'd say. Low lights, keep the towels, conservation.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tleff2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Illinois
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked a last-minute trip to Boston during the height of the summer travel season, so many hotels were sold out, and most of what was available was over $350/night. We decided to try The Boxer because of reasonable rates (reasonable for Boston).
The hotel has some good points. Though the building is old, the inside is very modern and pleasant. The modern room décor works in the bathroom, which was bright, roomy, and clean and had a strong water flow in the shower. The location is perfect if you're catching a Celtics or Bruins game, as you're right around the corner from the stadium. It's a short walk to all the great restaurants of the North End, and is convenient if you're doing the Freedom Trail walk, as we did.
We knew the rooms would be small, but wow, our 2 double bed room was small! Here is where the modern décor doesn't work. Instead of a standard hotel closet or storage unit, there were 2 industrial-type metal shelving units. One was configured to allow for some clothes to hang and the other could sort of be used as a desk. The TV was hanging behind one of these units so a person watching from one of the beds had their view partially blocked by one of the unit's metal poles. It was hard for 3 people to move around and find a place for suitcases, but we didn't stay in the room except to sleep, so it wasn't a huge problem.
The staff was friendly but not always attentive. The wake up call we asked for did not happen. Fortunately our room alarm woke us (we weren't sure if we set it right so we asked for the call). We notified them of a spill by the entrance and a couple of hours later it was still there. We asked for them to call us a cab so we could get to the airport. We waited a long time and finally took the cab that someone else called but didn't show up for. I'm not sure if this was a cab or front desk issue, but considering our location I think we waited a long time for a cab.
We wouldn't choose The Boxer first if we come back to Boston, but we wouldn't overlook it if options were limited.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statesville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I found this very last minute and stayed in the smallest room they had because they were sold out - so glad I got in because it is an amazing and friendly place to stay. I prefer the smaller boutique style hotels where you can get ahold of a front desk person and have a conversation. The rooms are very clean, great bathroom and lighting. Bathroom lighting could be a little better, but the windows in my room really made it bright and open feeling. I had the full bed room - very small but the layout makes sense and I found it comforting and fun to stay in! The staff is amazing and so helpful - Warning! They sell out way in advance - so book early.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angieskinner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

a wonderful spot, nice customer service, can walk everywhere, clean, updated, quiet (ask for the 8th or 9th floor). No restaurants in the immediate area but can walk to little Italy or Fenlon square in less than 5 minutes. Lots of taxis and Uber comes right away. On metro line to airport, all in all, a very nice spot.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7-9th floor. I think corner rooms are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eugnie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

For a last minute hotel pick, we didn't go wrong with The Boxer Boston.

The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. We checked in well past midnight and needed to do some quick food shopping so the front desk associate directed us to the 7/11 around the corner which had everything we needed. Upon check-out, a cab was promptly called for us.

The room was clean and comfortable; we slept like new-born babes carried aloft into blissful slumber by the soft and spacious bed.

Location-wise, we found everything to be within a 10-15 minute walk so we didn't even need to figure out the CharlieCard kiosks.

All in all, highly recommended if you're in Boston!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location of this hotel is very good for TD Garden and Quincy Market both walkable. The building itself is old but you can't tell by the rooms. The rooms are clean and comfortable however, very small. We heard no hallway nor elevator noise. I would stay here again especially if I were attending an event at the "Gaarden"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#34 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boxer Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boxer Boston

Property: The Boxer Boston
Address: 107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#20 Family Hotel in Boston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boxer Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Boxer Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Bulfinch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing