We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good location!”
Review of The Boxer Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Boxer Boston
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good price, good location!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a night out just to get away to the city. The staff was very friendly, the price was not bad considering its in the city. I haven't been to the north end before so we wanted to try a nice italian place and just a 5 minute walk away you could find a street full of itialian restaurants, just wakling down the street will make you hungry. The decor in the hotel was modern, I didn't eat at the restaurant there but it looked nice. The room we stayed in was a junior suite and it was clean and fairly spacious with good views of the city. I only have two complaints, first one is that we waited 15 minutes for vallet parking to come out before going inside to find out he was on lunch, and second is that we had an included continental breakfast because my fiance is in the military... but the continental breakfast consisted of a fruit/ pre-packaged pastry of their choice, I would have liked to pick a bagel or muffin or something but you don't get a choice they kind of just throw a couple things in a to go box I didn't even bother trying the pastry it looked gross. Overall a pretty nice place.

Room Tip: Corner suites on higher floors are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Agkg7,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip down to the city. Thank you for your glowing comments regarding the room, staff, and location. We are always striving to improve our services and we find our guest comments to be an invaluable tools in this endeavor. Please know that our continental breakfast options have been upgraded to far more delectable items.

Our oversize-windowed junior suites certainly do offer splendid views of Boston. We look forward to hosting your next trip down to The Boxer Boston.

Sincerely,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    307
    80
    20
    13
See reviews for
182
440
47
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the moment I called to inquire about reservations, I was made to feel welcome. Reservations was a series of 'yeses' (allowed our dog, last minute availability, early check-in) with a genuine interest in being of service. We arrived, early, to helpful staff and then our well appointed room. Perfection. On to breakfast downstairs: excellent meal a shirt walk to the T and we were on our way to explore Boston. But also on foot we too were able to get to experience so much. Every step of the way the staff and the hotel itself made us feel comfortable and cared for. I know I'm gushing, but we stayed at some doozies of hotels, for comparable prices, during our New England road trip. The Boxer is a stand out. I'd absolutely return here and confidently recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Anne,

It sounds as if you had a lovely time experiencing all that Boston has to offer. Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at The Boxer. We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect, from your "yes" filled first call, through breakfast, and beyond. We certainly hope to welcome you all (dog, too) back soon to collect more Boston travel stories.

Warmest Regards,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This treasure tucked away close to TD Garden was a delight. The restaurant was excellent. I think this is truly once of the best places to stay in Boston. Everyone is dedicated and very good at their jobs. I felt at home and relaxed as soon as I checked in.
Emily Antonelli, the General Manager, does a super job in managing her staff and making the guests comfortable and relaxed.
I would recommend staying here if you have the opportunity. I know if I come back to Boston, that is where you will find me. Thanks, Emily!!!

Room Tip: We had a tower room with a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamingo_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Flamingo_one,

Thank you so much for your review. Our entire team here at The Boxer pour so much of their heart and soul in to creating an outstanding travel experience for each and every guest who joins us, and we are most grateful for your kind words. Please feel free to reach out to us directly the next time you are traveling to Boston; we would be thrilled to accommodate you and your family. You certainly brightened our dining room each morning during your stay!

Warmest Regards,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed May 28, 2013 for one night in Boston after spending the weekend at a wedding in Newport. Since we as were flying out on Wednesday morning and we wanted to be close to the airport. Found The Boxer on Priceline. Chose it because of the location which was great. We were able to park the car and walk everywhere. We did the Public Gardens, Freedom Trail and the North End for dinner.

The staff was great. We were waiting for friends to go to dinner so stopped in the bar for a drink. The manager was there and she was wonderful! So friendly! Even recommended a drink with a money back guarantee if we didn’t like it. The drink was great! When our friends arrived (they were the bride and groom) the manager brought the drinks.

Our room was small but lovely and very clean. Overall, a great experience. Plus about five minutes to the airport!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveCarWIllGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear HaveCarWillGo,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We certainly enjoyed hosting your Boston visit! It is thrilling to hear that you were able to walk so much of the city; The Boxer location is ideal for walking the Freedom Trail, Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Quincy Market and so many other landmarks.

Please feel free to reach out to us to book directly with the hotel on your next visit. We cannot wait to welcome you back.

Warmly,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosup, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a Saturday night out on the town. We chose it for the location, and the fact that it had been recently renovated and looked awesome. The location is so great, walking distance to so many bars and restaurants, Quincy Market, and within a few miles of the Harpoon and Sam Adams Breweries. The parking is a little expensive ($33 to self park for 24 hours about a block away, and $45 if you want to valet). The rooms were nicely decorated as the photos suggest, and yes they are quite small. Ours only had a view of an old parking lot so that was a bit of a bummer, but again for the price and small amount of time we were in the room, it was no big deal. As other reviewers noted, we did not have a mini fridge in the room or one hidden in the side table... room service was quick to bring one up to us though when we called requesting one. The front desk staff was nice, but they did not know anything about the area (the actual address of the parking garage for directions when we called, restaurant recommendations, directions to Quincy Market...etc). The little bar/restaurant downstairs was empty the whole time from what we saw (possibly because they have $13 mojitos?). $23 for two hotel cocktails is a little pricey, I would skip the bar here. All in all, we would be back now that we know the area for ourselves and the location is really great.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels must have better views. We were able to call ahead and get checked in by 1PM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Katie,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit in Boston and appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to me personally for future visits.

Best Regards,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The only advantage is location (the very center of Boston). That's all.

Personnel is rude and unprofessional.
Beware of valet parking. They need more than an hour to give you your car. But every time front-desk tells "about 10-15 minutes".
Restaurant is poor and almost all staff is unprofessional as well.
Room is OK, but some details need repairing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, Assistant General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Alexander,

Thank you again for your feedback, and please accept our deepest apologies that your experience was disappointing with various areas of the hotel. We absolutely want to make sure that your expectations are exceeded every time you join us at The Boxer!

I look forward to speaking with you further in regards to the situation as we continue to correspond, and feel free to reach out to me directly at the hotel phone number.

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great location, yet just far away enough from the crowds.

Great views from the rooms.

SImi-friendly front desk people. They were helpful if we needed anything.

The rooms are SMALL! 4 of us roomed together for our school trip. We could barely walk around without have to step over each other's luggage. The beds were comfy, and there was a nice tv.

For the price and location, it is a great value. I would consider staying again, but want to explore other hotels in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Emily B,

Thank you for your review of your visit at The Boxer! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our location, guest rooms, and staff. I do understand how some of our rooms may be small for four people. The next time that you visit, may I recommend that you reserve one of our Junior Suites. These rooms are located on the point of the building and have plentiful windows as well as a King size bed and Pull out sofa. They are also part of our recent renovation and beautifully appointed with creative artwork and industrial chic decor.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Emily Antonelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#33 of 83 in Boston
1,386 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boxer Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boxer Boston

Property: The Boxer Boston
Address: 107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#20 Family Hotel in Boston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boxer Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Boxer Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Bulfinch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing