We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warren Tavern

Warren Tavern
Ranked #33 of 3,189 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlestown
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
757 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We found this tavern through picking up a map of the local area at the USS Constitution museum. We arrived towards 2.00 o'clock when the tavern was quite busy but didn't have to wait too long before a table was prepared for us. While our daughters had chicken dishes we both had Clam Chowder as we planning to go our for dinner that night. This was the first time either of us has ever had clam chowder and we found it lovely. Over the following few days while we remained in the Boston area I had clam chowder on another 3 occasions. When we travelled to New York the following week I had clam chowder again but the Manhattan version is completely different, I certainly preferred the Boston method of preparing it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    180
    44
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very cool place to stop in while in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

George Washington and Paul Revere drank here. Founded in 1780. That was what brought us in after doing the Freedom Trail. We are glad we did.

Food was good (not great) and priced fairly for a Big City. Beer selection was good. (10-12 beers)

Service was fast and friendly.

They have updated a lot and lost a little of the "historical" feel, but I guess it had to be done to keep it a working bar/restaurant.

A DEFINITE stop in for tourists for the experience. I am not sure how many times I would go back if I lived in Boston though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSUJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“You can't eat history”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The Warren Tavern is a very interesting place, for sure. It's hard not to stop there after a few hours touring the historical sights in Charlestown. The old pub atmosphere seems authentic enough. The building is lovely. We found the service friendly, if not overly quick or energetic .
But the food is no more than the sum of its individual parts. And they aren't so great, in our experience: a turkey sandwich that was toasted to a crisp, with a few bits of turkey and a plop of stuffing with a little cranberry sauce and mayo; tough, over cooked steak & eggs with tasteless, slightly undercooked potatoes. Overall, the prices were reasonable enough, the portions adequate, but the food, alas tasteless.
Next time, we'll head across the bridge to the North End for a real meal.

Helpful?
Thank revjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
Level Contributor
194 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Awesome part of the Freedom Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

How can you not love a tavern our Founding Fathers used to visit? A park ranger at Bunker Hill recommended the Warren Tavern to us several years ago and it was the perfect way to end our walk on the Freedom Trail. The food is great and it is such an amazing way to experience a little more history while you are in Boston. Great place for families, and the clam chowder is worth the trip all on its own.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank who_we_talkin_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
307 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“George Washington Drank Here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you are in Boston and doing the Freedom Walk or just over in the Charlestown side of Boston, definitely check this tavern out! From the history alone, it's worth stepping in and sitting at the bar for a drink. Pay homage to our history of the U.S.A. and have a toast to the planning of the Revolution!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warren Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Warren Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing