We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent break while in the City!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dover, NH
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent break while in the City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel with plenty of amenities. We were visiting for a swim meet at BU, and the close proximity to the venue was an added benefit. The King room was spacious, the pull-out bed comfortable, and I loved the kitchen area! The offerings for breakfast were plentiful, varied, and warm - the perfect blend for feeding hungry swimmers before their events. The patio area on floor 8 is the best viewing area in any hotel I have visited, and beckons for a late spring or summer revisit - just to catch the views again of Fenway!

Room Tip: If you can get an even numbered room, you will have a great view of Fenway Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing such kind remarks regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay - Fenway. We're delighted that you found our hotel's close proximity to Boston University to be such a benefit and thrilled that our daily hot breakfast buffet satisfied your hungry swimmers. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    321
    61
    18
    8
See reviews for
623
249
49
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Hotel ad the perfect location if you want to hangout around the fenway park. The hotel is very clean. The staff was awesome, very welcoming and attentive. The room size for 4 adults was respectable. Very quiet hotel. Subway station near the hotel it's just perfect. I recommanded to everyone wants to have a good time in Boston.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathieu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We truly appreciate your wonderful review and recommendation for the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay - Fenway. It's always nice when a guest review mentions how welcoming and attentive our staff was throughout a stay, thank you. We're glad that our location and its close proximity to Fenway Park worked so well for your visit. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The place is brand new and is not rough around the edges - everything is new, aesthetically pleasing, modern decor looking like it's straight out of HGTV. Our suite was nice, great kitchenette (everything but an oven). Service was good. Laundry facilities were good, pool was nice (small, but no hot tub). Little convenience store downstairs with travel sized anything you could possibly need.

Where it fell short:
-No bathtub in our bathroom, just a shower. When I go to a nice hotel I want to take a bath. No hot tub in the pool area to compensate.
-No room service. I understand there's no hotel restaurant, but can't they make a deal with one of the 5 million restaurants on the block to use for room service, like the Hotel Commonwealth does with Eastern Standard?
-We could not for the life of us figure out the light switches. There were so many light switches in the room, and it turned out that some of them were actually power switches, but there was no way of knowing that before pushing it and turning off the TV and all the lights, throwing us into pitch blackness unable to see anything to continue to attempt to turn on a darn light.
-As we were going to sleep, I thought it felt rather chilly, almost as if there was AC on - it was thirty degrees outside. As we explored the temperature situation, it turned out that a window was left WIDE open. Earlier that evening, I had found an empty pack of CIGARETTES left behind the TV stand. Obviously somebody had been smoking in the room.
-Every once in awhile, you would feel like the room was vibrating, and it would cause a weird noise coming from the bathroom area of things vibrating and shaking. I suspect that the hotel is situated over the underground train and every time a train goes by the room shakes.
-The smoke detector flashes a light that actually illuminates the room at night - very annoying for sleep.
-Something about the bed caused me to have the worst night's sleep in quite awhile - the bed was pretty comfy so I suspect the pillows.

Luckily we paid nothing and were using Marriott points, but full price is 400 dollars a night so if I was paying that I'd be a VERY unhappy camper. The stay was overall fine despite these incidents, but I would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catluvr914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
While we are glad that you found our hotel's decor to be aesthetically pleasing and enjoyed the level of service you received, it was disappointing that not every aspect of your stay was positive. We are truly sorry to learn that during your stay you had so many challenges. Thank you for letting us know about your visit and sharing your thoughts with us. One day we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centerville
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The only complaints would be, the air vent was noisy and the room was very warm. Couldn't get temp down enough to a comfortable level. The roof top patio was spectacular. I wish there was a hot tub there. All in all a pleasant experience. The couples massage by Boston Mobile Massage was a real delight. Thank you Lisa and thank the hotel for recommending them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are very happy that your travels have brought you to the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay - Fenway. Thank you for your review and for telling us about your experience. We do apologize for the air vent noise and the difficulties you encountered obtaining the optimal temperature in your room. Guests are encouraged to let us know about any concerns while they are here so that we may address the issues promptly and create the best possible experience for you. We're thrilled your stay with us was pleasant and that the couples massage was enjoyed so much. The next time you are in the area, we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a awesome hotel for the weekend. great service and nice rooms. small gift shop and poor selection, breakfast was nice and clean, location was awesome and close to the Yard House bar and restaurant. I will recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: stay on the top floors ! great wives !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ricky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation for the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay - Fenway. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our location to be such a plus. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel over a chilly weekend weekend in early March. The hotel felt new - sparkling clean and up-to-date. The rooms are very comfortable -- bed was excellent, kitchenette fully equipped,plenty of charging stations, lighting good. The 8th floor deck looks like a fun hangout spot in the right weather and adjoining (tiny) pool and exercise room were very attractive. The lobby has beautiful modern design as does the breakfast area. The breakfast itself was more than adequate: fresh fruit (apples, melon, oranges and bananas, several types of yogurt, hot items, bagels, oatmeal with toppings, cereals, make your own waffle station etc. Service from the front desk was wonderful: they stored our luggage after check-out, and when we returned to collect it and checked our flight only to find it had been cancelled due to weather, they found re-checked us in at a reduced rate. Very kind! Quibbles: noisy neighbors (wished for better wall insulation), valet who couldn't give directions to a very nearby address, first room did not have a functioning thermostat which would have led to a complaint but the room temp was comfortable (though would have been more comfortable if we could have made it cooler at night.) Location is great: two blocks to Kenmore T Stop and we walked one day from hotel down to Newbury, over to Chinatown and then on to Faneuil Hall, Aquarium and then the North End and took the T back.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up and facing Fenway have more light, better view and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank luv2travel23451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
The Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway’s neighborhood is rich with history and academia. Boston University is just a short distance from our doors and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us while in Boston to visit BU. The time you have taken to share your impressions and valuable feedback is truly appreciated, thank you. We are continuously looking for new ways to improve our services and the experience for future guests. The next time you are visiting the area, we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My brother and I came into Boston for a Celtics game, and really enjoyed our stay at the Marriott. Our room was spacious with a fantastic view of the Green Monster and the city behind it. It was relatively close to the T (Kenmore and Fenway stops), some great restaurants for night time, with good bars nearby for late night, and fast food in case you need something quick and cheap. The lobby is spacious and looks great, and the hotel is located in a safe neighborhood. Most of all, the staff at this hotel is extremely helpful and goes above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Great view from a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Boston and your stay with us. It is always our desire to provide our guests with exceptional service, great accommodations, and a variety of amenities to make their stay the best it can be. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Address: 125 Brookline Ave, Boston, MA 02215-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary yet comfortable, our extended stay hotel offers a convenient location steps away from Fenway Park. The brand new suites include luxury bedding featuring thicker mattresses, full sized pullout sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen and stovetop, refrigerator, microwave oven, and dishwasher. Complimentary high speed & wireless internet access. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary evening social (Mon - Thu), complimentary grocery shopping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing