We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here just for 1 night for the Fenway Spartan race. Very relaxing, close to everything. So convenient. My room was facing the courtyard and away from the elevator. Very quiet. They serve hot breakfast in the morning. Will come back again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hrdabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your experience at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. We are delighted that your overnight stay with us was enjoyed by you and that you found our location so convenient for your needs. All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    267
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
511
203
37
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We were here for over two weeks due to being a patient at Brigham and Womens Hospital. Do not come here! This hotel is very insensitive to people during difficult circumstances! They made numerous mistakes with billing. We stated we were paying cash and gave them a credit card as customary for incidentals. We payed cash as we went, but they took some of our cash payments and placed them as charges. Then they charged our credit card $1000! They refunded our card and We told them not to touch the card for any charges and they said they wouldn't- then the next day they put a hold on our card for $1800! The manager Tamara was insistent they did nothing wrong and would not accommodate us in anyway. Marriot would not as well, saying every franchise can do what they want. Do not stay here- they cannot be trusted.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meleq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
On behalf of our staff, I'd like to, once again, extend our heartfelt apologies for any inaccuracies and inconveniences. We appreciate that you have alerted us to the issue you encountered while staying here. Although we can appreciate your dismay at having charges held on your card, it is an industry standard and hotel policy that potential charges for incidentals are to be secured at the time of check-in. The hold is later released at the end of the stay. I encourage you to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further. Thank you. Philip Bond General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverton,utah
Level Contributor
381 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had a most incredible experience while attending the world series with my 12 year old son.. The hotel was very nice, Breakfast buffet was very well done. It is about a 20 minute walk to the heart of downtown boston but access to Fenway couldn't have been better.. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Meghan at the front desk did an amazing job hooking us up with a great room overlooking the park. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannonater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
It truly pleases us to learn that you and your son’s experience at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway for the World Series was incredible. We are thrilled that you both enjoyed the complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet as well as our hotel’s close proximity to Fenway Park. Thank you for sharing your comments; we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Brand new hotel with a nice location right in the heart of Fenway. Has the best view looking down onto Fenway Park. You can't beat the rooftop bar on a night when the Red Sox are playing. The Residence Inn is so close you can even make out the jumbotron.

The hotel is very clean and modern. The staff are hospitable and keep the facilities looking new. The meals served for breakfast and dinner are a great bonus of staying here. The rooms are suites, with full kitchens and plenty of room. Prices can vary depending on the events in Boston and the season, so plan accordingly if you are are looking for a non-work related stay.

In summary: I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in the heart of Fenway/Boston. It is great for business or for pleasure and has excellent amenities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lefter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback as well as your high recommendations, we are thrilled you had such a positive experience at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. Our hotel is conveniently located just blocks away from Fenway Park and steps from many of the city’s top attractions. We were thrilled to read your review and learn how much you enjoyed your stay. Your review is greatly appreciated, please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It is situated in an ideal location if you are a fan of baseball, just walk up the street to Fenway Park. Many choices of restaurants around the area. We picked the hotel because it is a short walk to Boston University - my daughter is a freshman and we dropped her off at her dorm and stayed at he hotel for 3 days. She joined us for breakfast every morning and we walked to the campus for different activities provided by the university. Kenmore square is next to Fenway Park with many restaurants and a subway station- you can conveniently take the T to downtown, Chinatown, and other attractions. The hotel staff is very friendly and valet parking, $40. Nice small rooftop pool and open air deck for relaxing and enjoying the night view. Tried to book the hotel again for Columbus day weekend but was fully booked. It looks new compared to some surrounding hotels that have better reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chienhuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
The location of the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway makes it easy for guests attending a Red Sox game as well as convenient for those exploring city’s top attractions and universities. Thank you for your many kind comments, we are truly pleased that our hotel provided you with an ideal location and just the right amenities to make your stay great. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited right after games 1 and 2 of the 2013 World Series. This hotel is in viewing distance of Fenway. Rooms are very clean, staff is friendly and breakfast is abundant - waffles, pancakes, eggs yogurts, cereals, fruit and decent coffee...they should upgrade the coffee. There is a rooftop lounge with heat lamps. Faces Fenway Park. You would certainly be able to hear the roar of the crowd from the deck. Fitness gym and laundry facilities looked above average. You can walk to Kenmore Square. Fairly decent array of stores, bars and restaurants nearby. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAL2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. Our hotel is conveniently located steps away from Fenway Park; making us a perfect choice for those attending a Red Sox game and our open air deck makes a great vantage point to relax, unwind and enjoy a memorable stay in Boston. Thank you very much for your review and comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

BEWARE CHECK YOUR BILLING FROM THIS HOTEL (see below). My room was nice but not fancy, overpriced for the room but extremely quiet even after a Red Sox game. The main benefit is probably the location being close to Fenway Park and decent restaurants & bars, although I didn't have the opportunity to go to a game :( and it is a few blocks from the T. My room had a desk chair with a broken arm, but otherwise was in good condition. I booked online for 4 nights, had a confirmation email for 4 nights, checked out after 4 nights with a bill for 4 nights, then a few days later got an email from Mariott with the message title: "Thanks for staying!" When I read the body of the email it showed the Residence Inn added an extra 5th night after I had left and billed my credit card! I called the central Mariott reservations on a Saturday but was told they would not do anything about it other than refer to the hotel for when a manager shows up on Monday (apparently no manager is at the Mariott Residence Inn on weekends???). I gave a Terrible rating for service not due to hotel service staff but due to (i assume) front desk staff or reservation manager trying to overbill me then Mariott's central customer service agent not taking immediate steps to rectify the problem (so general hotel service is good but customer service is terrible). Otherwise overall rating would have been very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 27kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback and please accept our sincerest apology with regard to the billing error you mentioned. It is certainly unfortunate that after an enjoyable stay there was a mistake made that influenced your impressions of our hotel. Please know that our intentions are always to provide accurate billing and if a mistake is made, our management team is eager to rectify the problem. I urge you to contact me directly should the situation further require our attention. Thank you for alerting us to your concerns; we hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.


Philip J. Bond

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#17 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,811 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,916 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#13 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway

Property: Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Address: 125 Brookline Ave, Boston, MA 02215-3904
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary yet comfortable, our extended stay hotel offers a convenient location steps away from Fenway Park. The brand new suites include luxury bedding featuring thicker mattresses, full sized pullout sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen and stovetop, refrigerator, microwave oven, and dishwasher. Complimentary high speed & wireless internet access. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary evening social (Mon - Thu), complimentary grocery shopping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing