We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Nearby Hotels
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$287
$261
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Boston Marriott Copley Place(Boston)(Great Value!)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Parker House(Boston)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$251
$238
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$296
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Boston Waterfront(Boston)(Great Value!)
$239
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sheraton Boston Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
$229
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lenox Hotel(Boston)
$354
$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,681)
Filter reviews
1,681 results
Traveler rating
1,196
374
76
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,196
374
76
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop baryard housebar louiegreat locationred sox gamefull kitchenvalet parkingchildren's hospitalbedroom suitehouse of blueskenmore squarethe sofa bedstarbucks coffeefree breakfasttop floorwalking distanceminute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,634 - 1,639 of 1,681 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We enjoyed our time at this brand new hotel within spitting distance of Fenway Park. The hotel is modern and designed in an efficient way. Our room was immaculate and roomy, with a king bed, pull out couch, and kitchen. We loved the 8th floor patio and that overlooks Fenway complete with lounges, tables, and a small heated indoor pool. Take advantage of the easy walk to pick up the Old Town Trolley tour at the ballpark and enjoy a comprehensive tour of Boston. Parking is valet only - walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Lots of Boston atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

The Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway is, as you mentioned, located just steps away from Fenway Park, making it an ideal starting point before seeing a Red Sox game. We are thrilled you loved our heated indoor pool and rooftop deck and had such an enjoyable stay with us. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Easy in and out. Good neighborhood, easy access to the T, and walking distance to Fennway, Fine Arts Museum, and BU. Breakfast is generous and included. Family friendly, morning breakfast was reminiscent of a Disney Day--excited families ready to tour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 700DavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We are truly delighted that your stay at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway was so enjoyable. Our hotel is just a short distance from Fenway Park and as you mentioned, it’s a great choice for those catching a baseball game or exploring the area. We hope you have the chance to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for 3 nights in late August while touring Boston. We selected it because it had more favorable rates than the other Marriotts in town and because we like (need) more room than a traditional hotel room. I thought "what could be better than a new hotel in Back Bay with enough space for growing kids!?" Well, a local friend took one look at the address (on the morning of check-in) and said, "calling this Back Bay is false advertising- Fenway is not Back Bay." She couldn't have been more correct. This is a block beyond Fenway Park and about a 10 minute (sometimes sketchy, sometimes colorful) walk from the Kenmore T stop. The location ultimately worked for us because we had Red Sox tickets on our last night, but I can't imagine being this far from traditional tourist sights otherwise. Summary on location- it is NOT Back Bay. It IS Fenway, though, and if you're a baseball fan, touring or catching a game, you will not be disappointed. The walk home past all the lines of cars and throngs making their way to the T is a block and a half. The view of Fenway from the rooftop deck/patio is great.

This hotel is squeaky clean and new. The only room available while we were in town was a Queen Studio (Q, QSS). It was no larger than a traditional hotel room, so that was a little tight for us, especially when the sleeper was pulled out.

We had some technical difficulties- electrical fuses blowing twice without reason (we only had one light on), losing lights, losing TV power for a day, but in each case, maintenance came right away and got to work on it. They were most accommodating and friendly too.

A couple of quirks- the large bathroom door allows almost no room to enter the shower or go to the bathroom privately. It's like it was built to be wheelchair accessible, but in a tiny, inaccessible bathroom. A pocket door would've been a better choice. That door is HUGE and in the way! There is no bathroom fan, so the close quarters in there get steamy and/or stinky pretty fast. Large, spacious shower, but again, ergonomically weird-- the shower head blasts you with cold water as you reach in to turn on the water. There's no way to avoid it.

There is no safe for valuables in the closet.

The breakfast is fantastic and the staff is on their toes. It seemed that some Marriott brass was there for meetings, so they were really going above and beyond.

The rooftop patio area was lovely, and it appears there is a bar up there, though it was never open when we were up there.

The pool is a tiny indoor rectangle that is so chlorinated, you cannot see the bottom (and it's only 4 ft.) It is not heated, so it was a nice, refreshing break after a day of touring for us. Not sure how wonderful it'll be in the chilly Fall/Winter.

I'm not trying to ding this hotel unnecessarily- just giving some more in-depth details besides "great service." We would stay again, but with a better understanding of the location.

Cab rides:
North End $15
Harvard $15
Quincy Market $18 (traffic)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kgoody813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Your detailed review outlining the highlights and less desirable aspects of your stay with us is very much appreciated. We truly value the feedback you have offered and will gladly share it with our team as we are always looking to improve the experience for our guests. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Next to Fenway park. Convenient location. New facility - Not fancy, but clean / New. Hot breakfast is great Deal. Grocery store close, as is Commonwealth Avenue.

What impressed me most was very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Upper floors have view of Fenway. Check out rooftop horduerves.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We couldn’t be more pleased to hear that your recent stay at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway was such a great experience. Our staff is committed to providing every one of our guests with incomparable service and comfort. Thank you very much for your comments; we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

was in Boston for a Red Sox game and really enjoyed the 1 night stay at this hotel. The parking staff were friendly and helpful, Front desk personnel were too. After the game we went up to the lounge for a beer but it had just closed. The front desk folks got a beer for us all to enjoy in our suite.

Had a great night sleep - as did the person who had the sleeper sofa. Breakfast was a big buffet style selection. very good. Would go back again - pricey but what a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoSoxBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with everyone regarding your stay at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. We are pleased to read that your experience was so positive, and greatly appreciate your wonderful compliments for our hotel and staff. There are still quite a few Red Sox home games left in the season so we hope you’ll return soon for another game and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews