We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wicked awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 25, 2013

was in Boston for a Red Sox game and really enjoyed the 1 night stay at this hotel. The parking staff were friendly and helpful, Front desk personnel were too. After the game we went up to the lounge for a beer but it had just closed. The front desk folks got a beer for us all to enjoy in our suite.

Had a great night sleep - as did the person who had the sleeper sofa. Breakfast was a big buffet style selection. very good. Would go back again - pricey but what a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoSoxBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with everyone regarding your stay at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. We are pleased to read that your experience was so positive, and greatly appreciate your wonderful compliments for our hotel and staff. There are still quite a few Red Sox home games left in the season so we hope you’ll return soon for another game and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

The good: the location is excellent, particularly if you are there to catch a game at Fenway. The hotel is new so everything is still in good shape.
The not so good: 1. I booked this room well in advance, so I believe the rate we got might have been a bit lower than the rates that were established later. Perhaps that is why we were related to the back with a view of trash. When we arrived we opened the curtain to be greeted by workers eating lunch on a loading dock. The noise in the morning from the dock did not bother me, but it did bother my sister in law. She went to open the window in the morning only to have to shut it because of the loud noise from the workers and trucks.
2. While I was showering someone put a sign outside of our door. We did not notice the sign had been placed there until after we returned from a long day to find the room had not been touched. We had to make a call for towels, etc. pretty late. So, there we sat waiting for someone to come in and clean up before getting ready to sleep.
3. Breakfast was hit or miss. One day there were well cooked eggs, turkey, and well stocked items. The next day the eggs were nothing short of disgusting. I mean the kind of runny disgusting that ruins your appetite when you open the pot. Perhaps it was because it was a weekend morning and more people were staying there that everything was rushed out.
4. We could not get the bathroom light to work so I went downstairs to ask for help. One person was in front of me who went to the wrong hotel. The clerk had to work with her, of course, but never acknowledged my presence. After about 15 minutes I left a note. When we came back, we still had to make a call because the light was still off. As it turns out, that is just a kink in a new building. You have to know to mess with the light switch by the sinks to get the light in the shower room to work.
In summary, the rooms are new and freshly decorated, but ask for a room toward the front, walk to starbucks down the street for a good cup of coffee, get out of the room really early if you want it cleaned, and expect to pay a lot per night if it is a home weekend for the sox.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the loading dock.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leisure G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate your detailed review and for bringing our attention to those aspects of your stay that were less than perfect. Feedback like yours helps us as pinpoint any areas in which our attention is needed so that we may continuously work to improve upon the experience for our guests. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you encountered during your time here. We hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A great choice for anyone wanting to literally walk across the street to see a game at Fenway. Clean, comfortable and well-thought out layout. Small rooftop lounge with city-size pool. Nice workout center. Decent hotel breakfast. NOTE: Sketchy parking garage attendees damaged my car and gained access to personal information from the incident report. If you park there, remove your registration and any personal information from your car and lock out your navigation from reporting your home address. That aside, I would not hesitate to stay there again if I were to take the train or park elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacoba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent visit with us. We’re delighted to hear about the highlights of your stay, but we regret any issues you encountered with parking. It seems that matters have been addressed since the time of this posting, but please don’t hesitate to reach out to us directly for any concerns. We want to ensure that our guests enjoy their time with us to the fullest and it would a pleasure to welcome you back to the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway the next time you are in the Boston area. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just back from Residence Inn over looking Fenway-excellent hotel when in Boston. Especially great if going to game @ Fenway. Met a great employee Victoria-sales manager who was so
wonderful! All staff there incredible. Best parts were the daily breakfast included-delicious, very comfortable room- spacious suite with useful kitchen, amazing views and such a nice place to relax on the 8th floor sky deck overlooking the city. Very close to the T-easy transportation all over the city Over all wonderful stay-will be back next trip to Boston!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michmlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. Our commitment to our customers is our highest priority and we are happy you were able to experience a high level of service during your stay. The greatest compliment we could receive is when our guests enjoyed their visit and are planning to return to our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here after a game at Fenway. Brand new hotel, and everything is spotless. We had a suite, and it was GREAT! Bed was comfy, suite was roomy. The kitchenette and living room area was spacious enough that we could have brought our child. I would stay here again and I would even stay longer, even a week to see all Boston has to offer!! The only thing that I will check on before going again, is the status on TripAdvisor. Because this hotel is so close to Fenway, I can see this hotel becoming a casualty to drinking, rowdy customers. Even while we were there, a picture in the hallway was removed, either stolen or removed because someone broke it. I hope that the staff and management keep up with repairs and cleaning, because this hotel's locale will definitely attract the rowdier, more boisterous crowds. We had nice quiet room on the end hallway of the 7th floor and had no problem with noise.

Room Tip: The suites were very nice! We asked for a view of Fenway but did not get it. It was up high though...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your visit to the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. Our close proximity to Fenway Park makes us the perfect choice for overnight accommodations after a game or event held at the park. It was wonderful to find out how pleased you were with the spaciousness and comfort of your room. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Brand new hotel as close to Fenway Park as you can get. The roof top lounge was great. I wish the bar would have stayed open past 9pm. There are several restaurants within walking distance. The Yard House is directly across the street. Very safe area. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 550Jefro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation for the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. Our hotel is conveniently located in Boston’s Back Bay neighborhood and just steps away from many of the city’s top attractions including Fenway Park. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is very nice and new and we had a great time, but they really skimped on the beds. I woke up every day with a backache and neckache. The breakfast was great, never a problem getting a table. The patio is a very nice place to hang out - actually heard an entire concert that was held at Fenway. The swimming pool is extremely small, but probably nice for a few kids to enjoy. The staff was excellent and no problems with the room, actually more than we needed - a refrigerator, stove, microwave, couch, desk, dishwasher. The beds may be a deal breaker though because with all the walking we did, it's not easy without sleep! (stayed 4 nights).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. It was really nice to learn how much you enjoyed our accommodations, our staff and the complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet. We were however disappointed to find out that you did not find the bed to be conducive to a great night’s sleep and for this we are sorry. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,169 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#7 of 84 in Boston
4,469 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,323 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,354 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway

Address: 125 Brookline Ave, Boston, MA 02215-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $238 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary yet comfortable, our extended stay hotel offers a convenient location steps away from Fenway Park. The brand new suites include luxury bedding featuring thicker mattresses, full sized pullout sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen and stovetop, refrigerator, microwave oven, and dishwasher. Complimentary high speed & wireless internet access. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary evening social (Mon - Thu), complimentary grocery shopping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing