We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice family stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and son and I stayed here this weekend. It was nice to stay in a new hotel, the rooms were clean, well appointed, nice tiles in the bathrooms, big shower (though a small space for shower and toilet). The nicest attraction is a rooftop deck that overlooks Fenway Park (you can't see in) with a nice view of the Back Bay. Big outdoor furniture with a bar. Small but nice indoor pool. We did not want to go out to dinner because we were tired from a day of touring, and what is nice is that you can purchase microwave items in the lobby and fix them in your room, at least ours had a small but nice kitchen. I would highly recommend this hotel for families, and you cannot be closer to Fenway. Very nice, I hope they keep it well maintained. Friendly car valet. Very nice lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB1Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It’s wonderful to hear from our guests and learn that our accommodations and amenities all fully met their needs. We are thrilled that your family had a stay at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway and enjoyed our heated indoor rooftop pool and open-air deck overlooking Boston’s Back Bay neighborhood. Thank you for your many kind comments, we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    337
    70
    20
    9
See reviews for
661
259
50
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family of 4 (two under 5) stayed at this new property during its opening week. We only stayed one night as we were going to a game at Fenway, but I was very impressed with their operation. The hotel was immaculate as it should be given it was just opened. The rooms were nicely equipped for a traveller that was planning a longer stay. The complimentary breakfast was good. You can't beat the location if you're planning to catch a game or 2 at Fenway and the cost per night was very reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCG38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are thrilled that while visiting Boston to attend a game at Fenway Park, you chose to stay with us. Thank you so much for your very kind review of the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. It makes us truly happy to learn that your family enjoyed your stay and thought that our hotel is a great value. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here while visiting Boston for Red Sox Game with kids. Greal location - one block from Fenway Park. Brand New Hotel. Large Rooms with full kitchen and sofa bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social. Large outdoor patio on 8th floor with swimming pool. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriendsVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Our hotel in Boston’s Back Bay neighborhood is, as you mentioned, conveniently located steps away from Fenway Park. We are delighted that when you were visiting the area for a Red Sox game, you chose to stay at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway and enjoyed your visit. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights and were very impressed with the hotel and the service. The Kenmore T station is just a 7-10 minute walk from the hotel, which is very convenient to go all over Boston. If you're in town for a Red Sox game this is the perfect place to stay. Fenway is just a couple minutes walk from the hotel. The roof top terrace is a great place to sit and look out at Boston. The room was a nice size for the 3 of us and the kitchen is a nice feature to have. The free breakfast is good, nothing over the top but they have eggs, waffles, cereal, fruit and coffee. My only complaint is that I think 9 am for breakfast to be over is a little early. Our room was always clean by the time we got back and were never bothered on the days we slept in. The manager, Michael, is a true professional and really added to our wonderful experience at the hotel. Before we booked the hotel I was nervous that the hotel would be too out of the way but it's not and the short walk to Kenmore station is nice. We were out at all hours and came home very late on some nights and never encountered any problems. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Llmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your review and recommendation for the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. It is always our desire to provide guests with exceptional service and comfort and it brings us great joy to find out how much you enjoyed our convenient location in Boston’s Back Bay. As you mentioned our hotel is just steps away from Fenway Park and the city’s many attractions are easily navigated to from our front door. Thank you for your lovely review; we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel just opened up and everything was very clean and neat. We had a minor issue with the AC but the maintenance manager came right away to fix it - apparently if you want your AC higher than 74 the heat kicks on. My son fell on the treadmill in the fitness room and cut his leg and the staff quickly got him bandages. The staff and conceirge didn't know much about the restaurants and shops within walking distance so we had to figure things out for ourselves. Hopefully that will get better with time. Breakfast is complimentary and the main dishes change each day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityGirl53156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Our guest’s experience is always important to us and we love to know that you and your family enjoyed such a great stay. We would like to thank you for allowing us to address your concern regarding the air conditioning while you were here so that we could correct it and you could get back to having a good time. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback; we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with all the facilities you expect from a Residence Inn. I have stayed at the Cambridge Residence Inn on business several times but this trip was with family and the location (and price) of the Fenway hotel was better for us. We had a two bedroom suite which was great. Yes there was a flooding incident when we there due, I think, to a faulty sprinkler. Fire brigade came very quick and evacuation was orderly and easy and very well handled by management. Not ideal, but you can't blame the management and it didn't affect our stay.
Thoroughly recommend, especially for ball games at Fenway Park - I think a lot of guests were there for the baseball. I would advise not to bring a car - it is only 5 minutes to Kenmore Square t station.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tenore319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation for the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway. We couldn’t be happier to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and our hotel’s close proximity to Fenway Park and Kenmore Station. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the incident that transpired while you were here; we truly appreciate your patience and understanding in the matter. We hope that the next time you are visiting the Boston Back Bay area you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A quick recap of our stay:
Did not get the room we reserved
Then had to switch rooms, when the toilet did not flush do to some flooding
Reserved a "room with a view" of the ballpark, got a view of a dumpster, complete with noisy evening trash pickups
Huge drying fans greeted us at the elevators
Breakfast was packed and poorly organized for the volume (lines, not enough tables)

Ok, so it was not all that bad, the staff was always friendly dealing with the challenges and did take money off our final bill as well. The location is great when going to Fenway Park and close to a T stop. There is a nice roof deck with comfy chairs and a good view. The bed was comfortable, too.

Compared with other residence inns the 1 bedroom suite was way too small for a family--great for a couple. The kitchen got a nice upgrade, but the table is gone and there are 2 counter stools. The AC was running way too cold, and had to be turned off to raise the temperature, an adjustment did not seem to work.

Hopefully in a few months the problems will be fixed and this will be a much better selection. Request rooms away from the back of the hotel, too.

Room Tip: Choose upper floors, lower floors in the back face the dumpsters and you can hear the night sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utopia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. While we greatly appreciate your praise for our staff and our location, it was disappointing to learn that you encountered several challenges and we were not able to meet your expectations in every way. Hearing from our guests, positive or otherwise, gives us the ability to continuously improve the experience for future guests and for that we are grateful; we will review your comments with our management team. We hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back to the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay – Fenway soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,405 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,968 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,299 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,274 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Address: 125 Brookline Ave, Boston, MA 02215-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary yet comfortable, our extended stay hotel offers a convenient location steps away from Fenway Park. The brand new suites include luxury bedding featuring thicker mattresses, full sized pullout sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen and stovetop, refrigerator, microwave oven, and dishwasher. Complimentary high speed & wireless internet access. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary evening social (Mon - Thu), complimentary grocery shopping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing