We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We just returned from an excellent stay at the Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport. The Seaport area is still building up with new restaurants, cafes so we were able to get some food but then travel downtown. The transportation was doable with a bus (silver line) that connects to the subway system. Seems construction is still happening to make this smoother. The hotel is gorgeous, new. Small, nice fitness room, free breakfast (although we had a recommendation to head to Flour Cafe down the street instead). Our room was nice and the shower was really nice with nice pressure, dual heads. Our room had a king bed and a sofa bed (decently comfortable sofa bed) in two separate rooms. Good for families with kids. Also, within walking distance of the Children's Museum (which we hear is great for families). Tvs in both rooms as well. Clean, comfy, modern...GREAT stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    111
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
142
128
8
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

When I researched this hotel prior to our stay, I saw that one of the ameninites includes shopping. As we were travelling with a young child and an infant, I called ahead and requested a few items be in our room upon arrival (diapers, formula, etc.). Within a few minutes, the manager contalicted me stating that she would be personally shopping for us.
Upon arrival, we were greated by the same manager who promptly gave us our items, welcomed us to her property, and escorted our son to pick out a "treat" at the little shop in the lobby. She even informed me that she went to a few different locations to get our items! We were so taken back by the hospitality! When I offered to tip, she refused.
The hotel is amazing! It's a restored 6 story brownstone, very modern, extremely clean, and just beautiful. When we called down a couple of times to the front desk, we were immediately accommodated. We requested a feather free room and crib, both of which were delivered. Our room was VERY clean and VERY quiet, as we needed such with an infant. Also, there are several museums and restaurants in this area.
The suites are designed with the bathroom entrance inside the bedroom, which was a bit of a challenge while the baby was sleeping. But, we just put our pjs and toiletries in the living room at night and used the sink for bedtime preparations.
I definitely recommend this property. After visiting Stowe, VT for a few days, we returned for one night prior to departing for home. If you are visiting Boston, stay here! Oh, and breakfast was great. Thank you, Residence Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, which was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My friends and I recently went to Boston for St. Paddy's Day and stayed at the Residence Inn Seaport/Downtown. We purchased the hotel through Groupon not knowing what we were getting ourselves into, and were blown away to say the least. It is a newer hotel with an industrial modern feel too it. From the exposed brick walls to unique furnishings, we were impressed merely by the lobby. The staff was fantastic - very friendly and quick to help with all of our needs. Our room was massive and beautiful. We had a bedroom with a king sized bed and flat screen tv, a family room also housing a tv, and a full kitchen complete with full sized fridge, dishwasher, stove, dishes and cutlery, and a table. The bathroom was spotless with a full sized tub. The hotel is very centrally located making everything accessible. The hotel did an excellent continental breakfast offering anything you could possibly imagine. We were thoroughly impressed with our stay, and I would certainly stay here again!! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Every person whom I met and spoke with at this hotel was very curious and well informed. Could not have asked for nicer people.

The location is great for the seaport area. It's right next to a silver line stop and you can still walk over to the aquarium easily.

The building itself is amazing. It's an old candy / shoe factory that was also a gallery at some point. It was empty ~20 years before Marriott bought it. They left all the old tile and beams in place. It looks absolutely amazing. The elevator is glass and you look out into what was once an outdoor courtyard, but is now enclosed by a glass roof.

The breakfast was very good, one of the best for a free offering. Again, everyone was super nice and kept the area very clean.

The room I stayed in was a suite with 1 bedroom. The amenities were perfect. We also could not hear anyone around us.

I am for sure coming back to this hotel. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Any room, my room was 2nd highest floor but they all look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Websterd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oak park, il
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights for a family event and were 3 couples in 3 studios. While my husband and I slept like babies, the others in our group weren't as lucky. One of their rooms was noisy on Friday night and the other on Saturday night- so noisy that on each occasion our family only got a few hours sleep.it wasn't street noise, but rather other guests who sounded as if they were right in the room.
The hotel is new and beautiful and serves an excellent breakfast for free. If you go, insist on a quiet room- hopefully such a room exists. I don't know if we had a good room or if we were just lucky with our neighbors( or lack of them).

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fredette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

An incredible experience with staying at what is a really cool boutique hotel, that happens to be a Marriott.

We selected the Residence Inn, for a small suite (kind of vital for sanity when traveling with an infant) and were amazed when we arrived. A refurbished warehouse building, the hotel has a really cool feel, and our room was really comfortable and well thought out.

High ceilings, exposed beams, it felt like something from a design magazine. Add into that incredibly helpful staff throughout, a delicious free breakfast, and a stone's throw away from The Boston Fire Museum, Children's Museum, and Tea Party Ships.

There's a great wine and beer store / market across the road, perfect if you want to relax in your room, and if you want to eat out, there's about 5 great restaurants within 3 blocks.

The Pros:
Great staff
Very new
Nice rooms - the size of a small apartment
Free Breakfast
Close to lots of attractions that are great for kids

The Cons:
None that we could think of

Room Tip: Away from Congress Street Side would probably be quieter, our room looked over the parking area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newYorkNashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night after a concert at The Garden. Our room (king suite) was larger than my first apartment, and beautiful! The front desk staff were super helpful, and helped us find great restaurants within walking distance. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was more than we expected and the coffee was good. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,561 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Envoy Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport

Property: Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Address: 370 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210-1810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the financial district. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, our brand new extended stay Boston hotel will provide you with all you need. Spacious studio and one bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. The new Residence Inn boasts a large cutting edge fitness center with exterior windows for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport, we will provide you with a great location just minutes from the Boston Convention Center, The Seaport World Trade Center, Boston's financial district, the NE Aquarium and minutes drive to historic Fenway Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing